Spider-Man: Web of Shadows PC

 

cat1

"Spider-Man, Spider-Man, does whatever a spider can!
Spins a web any size, catches thieves just like flies!
Look out! Here comes the Spider-Man!"

Yeah Symbiotes, you’d better look out cause Spider-man is here to pummel you into oblivion, along with some help from friends in the newest addition to the Spider-man Franchise: Spider-Man:Web of Shadows. Web of Shadows is unlike any of the other Spider-Man games out there to date, and quite possibly the best of them so far. Web of Shadows is a very addictive and fun game to play, the freedom while playing is just excellent, you can web swing all across the city, pretty much anywhere you want and the map is huge that you play on. I love this game I really do, it’s a lot of fun to play, it’s action packed with excellent graphics and engrossing gameplay, the controls are a bit awkward at first but eventually you get accustomed to them. Activision, Shaba and Treyarch have truly captured the essence of Spider-Man and all that being him entails, from exciting combat to the web slinging fun, it’s all there.

Yes it’s Spider-Man, but I wouldn’t call it a kids game, it’s more like the franchise has grown up a bit to include quite a bit of violence and sexuality, this isn’t a bad thing though, it’s nice to see Spider-Man kicking ass, taking names and even getting a little on the side from someone besides Mary Jane…

So read on to learn more, I’ve got many screen shots for you, along with a few movies including my Spider-Man vs Wolverine battle…



We’ll start of with some boxshots for you:
 DSCF0435 DSCF0436 DSCF0439

When you first launch the game you’re greeted with the options panel, unlike most games where the options are in the game, you set these before the game begins. There really isn’t much to the options though, at least graphical wise, but you’ve got options for Controls, Combat and Graphics:

1 2 3

Once you take care of that the game loads up for you and you’re greeted to the opening cinematics and credits and a brief menu at the title screen.

Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2008-12-08 14-09-19-21 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2008-12-08 14-09-39-12

Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-27-19-55 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-27-24-51

Before we get into the game I wanted to touch on the menus in the game, I’m not sure why they choose to use odd keys for menu control. Q,E,Z, and C are used with the menus and you can use the Up, Down cursors. You can use an Xbox 360 Controller with the game as well, but I found it to be a daunting task overall, the control just doesn’t work very well with the Xbox controller, at least for me anyway… In the menus you can upgrade your Red or Black suits to gain new moves, personally I prefer the black suit myself, and for each move you see what buttons to press and even a demo video of the actual move in action, a nice touch really. Then of course there’s other basic options in there and objectives listed as well.

Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-37-09-55 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-08 11-27-23-04 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-08 11-27-29-95 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-08 11-27-35-53 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-08 11-27-38-40 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-08 11-27-40-03 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-08 11-27-43-48 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-08 11-27-45-42 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-08 11-28-09-80 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-08 11-28-23-28<.p>

Specifications:

Spider-Man: Web of Shadows

“Spider-Man: Web of Shadows delivers the deepest combat system ever in the Spider-Man universe, whether it’s going vertical up the side of neck-breaking skyscrapers or web-slinging into action over them for high-altitude, high-octane aerial battles,” said Rob Kostich, vice president, global brand management, Activision Publishing, Inc.  “The team has captured a truly captivating Spider-Man experience that combines mesmerizing combat and riveting visual effects with a compelling and unfolding storyline that places gamers in control of the action.”

With a story penned by acclaimed Marvel comic book writer, Brian Reed, the title features a New York City devastated by a deadly symbiote invasion, in which players are faced with the choice to play the heroic web-slinger in his classic, agile red suit or the dark, formidable black suit. Battling with or against a huge cast of fan-favorite Marvel Super Heroes and Super Villains, gamers can switch allegiances instantly as they decide which missions will ultimately save mankind.

An all-new combat system, built from the ground up, combining web-slinging and customizable superpowers provides gamers the unrivaled opportunity to fight and explore in an open free-roaming and destructible environment.  In battle, Spider-Man’s speed and agility are tested within the diverse cityscape, challenging players to master fast-moving acrobatic combat, powerful new web-slinging moves and destructive combo attacks, as  combat seamlessly migrates  from the streets, up the sides of buildings and onto rooftops.

Developed by Shaba Games and Treyarch, with additional development by Amaze and Aspyr, Spider-Man: Web of Shadows is available now for $59.99 (Xbox 360, PS3), $49.99(Wii), $39.99 (PS2, PSP) and $29.99 (PC, NDS).

Fans can learn more about Spider-Man: Web of Shadows by visiting www.seizecontrol.com


I touched on the controls a bit above, but let me elaborate, it seems like they tried to port the Xbox controls over to the PC and sort of left them the way they were on the Xbox, understand? Probably not, but I do have the wireless Xbox Windows adapter so I can use my Xbox 360 controllers with Windows if I wish to, I think it helps to have it as it gives me a better feel and understanding for the game, but using the Xbox controller actually made it harder to play, so I ended up switching back tot he keyboard/mouse combination. Using the keyboard mouse works once you remap a few buttons, it’s very hard to play with the default settings that they give you for mouse/keyboard. It seems to me that they tried to recreate the Xbox controller with the keyboard, and pretty much failed miserably at it, keyboard have cursor keys not shoulder buttons, we who use the PC are accustomed to certain things especially for navigating things like menus, don’t try and tech us something new just because you think it’s cute… ok enough of that, let’s just say the controls take quite a bit to get accustomed to and leave it at that, oh and don’t try to use the Xbox controller, it’ll only make things worse.

Once you’ve played for a bit you’ll figure out what needs to be remapped for your own preferences than you’ll be playing along fine. One thing to note is that the game is fairly easy in that Spider-Man can take quite a bit of damage before he dies, and I also like the fact that you can restart quickly from where you dies, yes you restart the section you’re playing but not the entire level, so it does help lower frustration levels in certain sections of the game where it can get very frustrating. One example is near the beginning where you’ve got to jump along from sniper to sniper knocking them out with Spider-Mans web attack move, he shots his web at the person then follows it back to them, you have to time it just right when you hit the button or you miss. When doing this if you hit it right you’ll smack one guy, knock him out and then be in position for the next guy, you could go on endlessly bouncing from bad guy to bad guy this way if your time is right. The level with the snipers I’m referring to is a timed level, so basically if you miss you’ll run out of time and start over, essentially if you miss your web gets broke and they hit you.

Here’s a video of gameplay, at 58 seconds is where the actual fighting starts, you’ll see me getting knocked down, and performing the move I mentioned in different ways. Also all of the videos were reduced as they were captured with FRAPS and were over 4gigs in size that wasn’t going to work for uploading them at all.

One thing you’ll be doing is a lot of web swinging around the city to get from place to place and some destinations are very far away, it does get tedious after a while, but it’s still cool to do it, so it’s not that bad. Here’s a video of me meeting with the busty and shapely Black Cat, doing a whole bunch of web swinging and then finally catching up with the Vulture:

Speaking of the Vulture, one of the best fight sequences is with him, it’s pretty much all done in mid air which makes it all the more exciting. One of the things that keeps the game exciting is that you can fight on every surface, the sides of buildings and even in the air. Here’s the video of part of my fight with Vulture and his minions:

Most boss enemies you encounter can and will become your friends or allies to help you out later in the game if need be, some of them you can call at any time to help you during your fight as long as your hero power meter is full and others will be helping you complete an objective in a cutscene, like Vulture, he helps you fly over to the island to your next mission. You’ll run across many popular bad guys and good guys while you’re playing, some will actually teach you new moves as well. My favorite has to be the very well drawn Black Cat, the graphics in the game are really shown off here, especially with her shiny black leather suit… One complaint about the graphics is the real lack of high level AntiAliasing to help smooth things out, but it still looks decent overall…

Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2008-12-08 15-09-40-35Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2008-12-08 14-09-50-94 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2008-12-08 15-09-14-62 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2008-12-08 15-09-20-47  Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2008-12-08 15-09-45-46 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2008-12-08 15-09-50-96 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2008-12-08 15-10-27-35 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-27-29-54 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-27-39-50 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-27-44-50 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-29-24-52

Here’s my battle with Wolverine

The story behind the game is that New York has been invaded by symbiotes, and you playing the friendly neighborhood Spider-man must come and save the day.  One of the more interesting things is that the game is really two in one, or at least two storyline, you can choose to play with the red suit, meaning good guy, or the black suit meaning bad guy, the ending you get is determined by the most points gotten using either suit. Example is that if you rescue people you get points towards the red suit, if you let them die or be captured you get points towards the black suit. Personally I think the black suit is the better choice as you’ve got symbiote powers as well, but the red suit isn’t bad either really, it’s all your own preference, of if you’re feeling good or bad.

Combat is great, I touched on upgrades earlier, but as you progress in the game you gain experience points to be spent on upgrading either suit, but to do this you need to collect spiders you find floating all around the city, once you collect enough spiders you’ll advance to a new level where more options will open up. The whole combat system is the center piece of the game, there are many, many types of attacks you can do and you can chain them together to form combos as well. It’s fun to just watch Spider-Man doing these attacks on the bad guys, you’ll figure out which are good for what kind of situation. This is also where the re-mapping the buttons comes in, I’m using the NZXT Avatar mouse so I can remap all of the buttons for the game which makes things bit easier instead of using the keyboard as you’ve got enough to do there.

Here’s several combat screenshots:<

Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-27-59-49 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-28-04-49 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-29-09-53 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-28-39-49 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-29-49-50 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-29-54-49 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-33-54-49 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-33-59-49 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-34-04-49 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-34-09-50 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-34-14-53 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-36-39-50 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-35-39-50 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-36-49-49 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-36-44-51 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-36-34-50 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-32-44-49 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2009-01-03 15-28-19-50

Spider-Man:Web of Shadows can turn into a very long game as there are many mini-objectives that you can take on, you can easily stay on one section for many hours to complete all of the side tasks, or you can just run though only completing the objectives you need to get to the next level.  It does offer a bit of replayability in that you can go back in and play the other storyline once you finish one of them, and of course you can go and complete side quests as well .

Graphical wise it looks decent but could be much better really, I ran into problems when I first installed the game, but the patch fixed everything and it’s very smooth running on my system with the Diamond Radeon 4870 video card.

There are flaws in the game though, it can get very, very tedious with having to save ‘X’ number of people or kill ‘X’ number of symbiotes before you can continue, and it seems there’s a few of these types of missions all though the game on each level, it can get boring at times, that’s when I turn I off and come back later ready to play some more though. The storyline could have been brought together much better, it seems the actual story is more background noise than the rest of it, you could have had the same exact game without the background story, which really doesn’t go many places, or you don’t get to actually feel like you’re part of the story. The whole black suit, red suit thing could have been more elaborated on as well, I mean it would have been nice to be more ‘evil’ while wearing the suit, maybe actually be able to take the side of the symbiotes and play the story from that angle, that would have been cool.

Despite the flaws Web of Shadows is one of my favorite games now, it offers lots of excitement and fun and is just very addictive to play. Once you get past the control aspects of the game you’ll come to like it very much.


DSCF0435 DSCF0436 DSCF0439 Spider-Man Web of Shadows 2008-12-08 14-09-19-21

Conclusion:

Web of Shadows does have it’s flaws, and yes it isn’t perfect but it is fun top play and I think it recreates the whole Spider-Man world very well in terms of actions that can be performed by him.

The storyline needs to be more in depth, it doesn’t seem to really bring the player into it as it should, it’s a good story but just isn’t woven into the game well.

Controls can be difficult at first to get accustomed to, not sure what they were trying for here with the control system.

Spider-Man:Web of Shadows is a lot of fun once you get past the flaws and tediousness of it all, I personally like it quite a bit. I finished it on Black Suit, and I intend to go back and finish it on the Red suit as well to see how the story plays out for myself

Pros:
Lots of fun, addictive gameplay
Great graphics
Decent storyline

Cons:
Controls can be difficult

Grades:  
Overall score-7-10
Design score-7-10
Performance score-9-10
  • Pingback: » Spider-Man: Web of Shadows PC Review()

  • Gavin

    Yeah this game is absolutely the best game I have played in a long time.
    I have heard that the controls on the PC are a bit awkward but they are just fine on the XBOX 360 controller.

    great article by the way. Im glad someone has actually bothered to play the game before writing a review on it ;-)

  • manuel

    i hav the game ya but i dont have all the things to play it it said it on the back of the cover but i dont now how to get them can you help me?

  • obi san

    nice to be played,
    best graphic environment,
    more action & combo’s

  • kal

    how do you finsih the game on black suit or red suit?.Also can you tell me you dvd rom speed and comeputer specs.

  • John

    I have to say this is one of the best reviews for this game that I have ever read.
    It’s extremly accurate, and isn’t overly harsh on a great, but not amazing game.

    SM WoS= 8.5/10

  • somil

    when i launch launcher exe. the dont sen message comes…….and when i open exe. file msg come game configuration out of date………….i have dotnet 3.5………………………i will play this games like 1 week but when i format my pc and i install this games then this msg comes…..please please anyone help meeeeee please

  • Soumendu

    when i open launcher.exe my comp stops respondin and when i open exe. file msg come game configuration out of date………….i have dotnet 3.5………………………i will play this games like 1 week but when i format my pc and i install this games then this msg comes…..please please anyone help meeeeee please

  • wissmerhill

    I don’t know if it’s because you play with the wireless version of the 360 controller, I played it for some time know ( till the Wolverine encounter ) and the wired 360 controller works great for me ^_^

  • wissmerhill

    one more thing, I know the official specs are usually below what you really need to play the game nicely but my specs being higher I wonder why it gets so slow sometimes…

    Here are my specs:

    MS XP SP3
    asus p5b
    intel E6600@2,4Ghz
    2x1Gb pc6400
    asus 8800GT 512mb
    creative xifi
    LG faltron 22″ 1680×1024

    (might be the resolution…I wonder)

  • rickster

    wissmerhill- I feel your pain. I just scooped up a new laptop and my specs are way above the minimum requirements of the game and it still runs horrible. Its basically unplayable. I will try updating all drivers, and hope that fixes this.
    64 bit vista
    amd turion 2.1 X2
    4 gig ram
    8x dvd
    ati radeon card
    gluck.

  • Pissed off >

    I installed the game and when the menu came up i clicked play and the black screen loaded and went to my desktop can anyone please help i returned the game for a new one and i still have the problem my computer is more than capable of handling this game but it wont load it??????

  • hein

    spiderman web of shadow is great of game,is working geforce 6600TD,Amd 3000GHz on windows xp not vista is makes slower the pc

  • ABC

    Can anybody tell me how to play the game with a playstation 2 controller, i have the controller installed, but the game doesn’t regocnize it !

    Can you help me out ?

  • Venom

    I got the game installed and everything but it crashes when i opened it any idea how to help me if u can give me an email on moe.chrono@gmail.com

  • http://www.gamersinn.co.uk Shivam manav

    I have spider man web of shadows game and its louncher is not running some error is popping up named microsoft shutdown may be its saying that windows xp sp’s are not in market any more cause windows 7 has come its very important news i had said you…..????? so send me what i should do you know that fuck can be made to book just close the f to B and uc to oo and k to k only thanks a lot for the helpers who are gonna help me i can offer you some pc tweaks and trickzz instd..

  • Blaze Vortex

    How to disable the lower generators in the WFI tower??? i am strucked in that…
    Please someone tell me how the hell to do that…

  • http://www.24-7discounts.com Martin Eshleman

    I got a brand new notebook and just updated it to the newest Direct X version. I have Windows 7. All I get at startup is a black screen and then a popup that says the program has shut down. Running as administrator does not help. I do not know what to do!

  • Senthil Kumar

    hi there…….i too have the same problem…..i ve windows 7…..and a windows xp os….i am having directx11 and .net 4.1 in windows 7 and directx10 and .net 4.1 in windows xp…..yaa…yaa….i tried tat copying those 2 files given by a guy….i did as he told…still doesnt work…..any one can upload the game.ini file??….dont say me this is not a problem with game.ini…just upload it please….

  • Colin Clinch

    I was having problems with this game when I first tried it.
    I am running windows 7, and my system handles it just fine now.
    I disable the desktop compostion. Since I reinstalled Windows I haven’t had to do this again, but that worked at the time I was having the problem.

  • Anis from BD

    I hv a HP pavilion dv6 with 4 GIGS OF RAM ,ATI RADEON 5650 I GB, CORE i3, 64 bit genuine win7 Home premiUM,,,,,BUT THE GAME runs slow though all the other games runs pretty well…
    I am UTTERLY DISAPPONITED….HELL….
    aNY suggestion ?????

  • http://none mdmh yaseen

    my spiderman web of shadows is not working. it shows dot sond,error reporting

  • thewayiam

    hy there,i have a problem to,i play the game but the sound it’s like aaa,buuu,that kinda thing and the game is going fine but just 1 minute and them it’s bloking a sec and again going fine,i saw that there is no suggestion fixing these problems,so if someone knows what the problem is,pls contact me,peace,sorry for bad english but it’s not my motherlongue

  • Moni

    I’m geting this game and I’m soooooooooooo happy because 1. It looks so cool 2.I like Spider-man

  • Moni

    On youtube i watched the whole game its really good because if you get the game you can just know what to do if your stuck on something so its better to watch it on youtube

  • Moni

    i have not played it yet but im happy that im getting it

  • Moni

    im getting the game for pc because the one on ps2 sucks so bad

  • Moni

    what the heck is wrong with the ps2 spiderman web of shadows

  • sams

     When I try to open the Spiderman Launcher it won’t open.I even tried to
    open it by clicking run as administrator, but it won’t open at all.
    Without it the game doesn’t start and it says “game setting are missing
    or out of date.” I’ve windows 7 and dotnet framework v 4. Can anyone
    help me with the launcher file ?

Black Friday: E FUN Nextbook 8" Windows Tablet is Available for $99 at Walmart

Black Friday: E FUN Nextbook 8" Windows Table…

Kristofer Brozio
I think I posted this deal before but I think it’s worth it to post again as $99 for an 8” tablet r…
Read More
15 hours agoBlack Friday: E FUN Nextbook 8" Windows Table…
Black Friday: Buy One Get One Free Izon Cameras

Black Friday: Buy One Get One Free Izon Cameras

Kristofer Brozio
Here’s a  good deal, free stuff  is very  good, and I love BOGO or buy one get one o…
Read More
14 hours agoBlack Friday: Buy One Get One Free Izon Cameras
Black Friday: 50% Off X-Doria Accessories and Cases

Black Friday: 50% Off X-Doria Accessories and Cas…

Kristofer Brozio
X-Doria is doing a 50% off sale from today through Monday on their cases and accessories. Most of&n…
Read More
14 hours agoBlack Friday: 50% Off X-Doria Accessories and Cas…
Black Friday: Cricket Wireless Black Friday and Cyber Monday Promotions

Black Friday: Cricket Wireless Black Friday and Cy…

Kristofer Brozio
This is a combo post I guess you could say as it’s both for Black Friday and for Cyber Monday. Cric…
Read More
15 hours agoBlack Friday: Cricket Wireless Black Friday and Cy…
Black Friday: Tokyoflash $20 Off Every Watch

Black Friday: Tokyoflash $20 Off Every Watch

Kristofer Brozio
Yeah  no posts  yesterday, it  was Thanksgiving and I cook so I was doing  that…
Read More
15 hours agoBlack Friday: Tokyoflash $20 Off Every Watch