Samsung Rugby SGH-a837 Reviewed


TestFreaks Data











Manufacturer: Samsung

Product Name: Samsung Rugby SGH-a837

Review Date: 09/25/08

Author: Kristofer Brozio

Samsung Rugby Review

Samsung Rugby Review

I think everyone reading this has a cellphone, and everyone is careful with them as they are a piece of technology that is expensive and yet fragile. Most of us are in contracts with our carriers, and if something happens to our phone before our contract is up, hopefully we’ve got insurance, but if not we’ve got to pay full price for a replacement phone, which is not something most of use want to do. There are few and far between phones that are rugged and made to withstand any amount of abuse, and really you have to wonder why as we as a people are not that careful with our things really, I’ve read countless stories of people destroying their cellphones just by dropping them, let alone water, dust or anything like that getting in them.

Samsung has come along and come out with a phone that is designed and made truly for not only the weekend warrior, but even a real warrior could appreciate. The Samsung SHG-A837 Rugby was announced last week, and it’s a military spec certified phone that truly is rugged and tough, it should be able to withstand most anything thrown at it, literally! So I’ve replaced my trusty AT&T Tilt with the Rugby for a week and I’ve found that it’s great basic phone, but lacks in some areas like pictures and videos, then again picture taking and videos are not the main feature of this phone, the military certification is….

So, for many of our reviews now we’re going to be featuring a video of the product unboxing and more about the product, so check out the video below and then continue on with the rest of the review:

Here’s the basic specs, you can read the extended specs and learn more about the Rugby at the Samsung web site HERE :

Specifications:

Samsung Rugby SGH-a837

Retail Price      $279.99
2-yr Contract Price     $179.99

tech gets tough
With the new SAMSUNG Rugby, technology finally gets tough. This heavy-duty work phone makes it easy to get the job done right –
with Push-to-Talk technology, a large external speaker, 3G high-speed data access, Multiple Messaging and more. It’s all protected by a rugged design that’s highly durable and damage resistant. When the going gets tough, the Samsung Rugby keeps you connected and protected.

Available in black, deep burgundy and construction yellow color options, this rugged clamshell phone is certified to military standard MIL-STD-810F to withstand dust, shock, vibration, rain, humidity, solar radiation, altitude and temperature extremes, and it features a rubberized and metal casing that is easy to grip.
(Certified to meet military standard MIL-STD-810F to withstand dust,shock, vibration, rain, humidity, solar radiation, altitude and
temperature extremes.)

“Samsung has developed a sturdy phone that can stand up to the roughest of environments,” said Bill Ogle, Chief Marketing Officer, Samsung Telecommunications America. “It is a no-nonsense device with easy-to-use features and a simple, one-touch button to keep you in touch with your contacts.”

push-to-talk
You don’t have time for dialing, ringing and waiting. With just a push of a button you can connect instantly with other contacts in
your network. In other words, it helps you get the job done.

at&t navigator
The SAMSUNG Rugby makes it easy to get where you’re going. With AT&T Navigator at the helm, you’ll have GPS-enabled turn-by-turn
directions, maps, traffic updates and more. You’ll never be lost again.

Carrier: AT&T
Band: Quad Band (GSM 850+900+1800+1900 MHz)
Size:
Weight     4.66 ounces
Dimension (HXWXD)     3.95 x 2.05 x .90 in

Display:
Internal
Technology 262K TFT
Size 2.0″

External
Technology 65K Color Internal Display

Battery
Talk time 5.0 hours
Standby 250 hours
Camera Camera Resolution

External Memory:
SIM Card Memory
microSD

Camera Resolution 1.3 Megapixel
Digital / Optical Zoom 4x Digital Zoom
Auto Focus
Brightness Adjustment
Selfshot / Multishot / Timershot

Video Streaming
MP3 Music Player
Poly Ringtones 64 Polyphonic Ringtones
MP3 Ringtone
JAVA Download
Embedded Wallpaper
Voice memo & Voice mail
Predictive Text Input T9
Email
Push to talk
Instant Messaging
Bluetooth
AGPS/Assisted GPS
Phone book entries 1000 phone book entries
Calendar
Worldtime
Alarm
Currency converter
Calculator
Stop watch
Count down timer
Speakerphone

Using the phone is actually very easy, the buttons are nice and large, and easy to see. Navigating is fairly easy, once you figure out how to avoid the AT&T Junk that’s installed on there. Going from a Windows Mobile device with touch screen did take a bit to get accustomed to but after a few days I figured it out. It would be nice if the AT&T stuff was put on another menu somewhere deeper in the options as it’s fairly easy to accidentally connect to one of their services by accident.

Call clarity is very good, but it has a slight muffled sound to it, and BlueTooth works great as well, I had no problems with my Jabra BT530 headset and the Rugby. The speakerphone doesn’t sound the greatest but it works, you’re not going to be listening to music or anything though it so for voice conversations it’s fine.

As for service, I’ve never had a problem with AT&T service, in fact that’s why I’ve been with them for several years now, they’re my third cellphone provider and the first where I can get calls in my home, so I’m sticking with them.

I didn’t play with the ATT Navigator features as it’s not something I’m going to pay for, I’ve got a GPS enabled cellphone as is, and I was adding it to my contract just to test it out. If you need it though, it’s nice to have it, even though it’s not real GPS, it’s an assisted GPS that uses cell towers to triangulate your position and guide you on your way. From what I’ve heard about it’s not bad, but of course it doesn’t beat a real GPS system, but in a pinch it’ll do I’m sure.

It would be nice to be able to re-map buttons if need be, I didn’t find anything in there to do that, like the GPS or Push to Talk buttons, if I don’t want to use them I should be able to re-assign them to something else.

It’s a very well made phone really, I’m truly impressed by the build quality of the Rugby.

Here’s some sample pictures I took with the Rugby, you can see they’re not that great, and close up shots really don’t work:

Photo018 Photo019 Photo005 Photo006 Photo007 Photo009 Photo010 Photo012 Photo014

and here’s a video I took with the Rugby, bad…very bad:

Image Gallery:

DSCF6567 DSCF6614 DSCF6615 DSCF6618 DSCF6621 DSCF6624 DSCF6625 DSCF6626 DSCF6627 DSCF6630 DSCF6634 DSCF6636 DSCF6638 DSCF6641 DSCF6643

Conclusion:

So the Rugby isn’t the greatest phone for taking pictures or videos, but that’s not really the point of this phone is it? It’s made to be a tough phone for those with an active lifestyle and/or a job that requires you to get down and dirty. This it seems it will handle very well, though since this was a loaner phone I really couldn’t put it to the test, had I been given this phone to review and keep I would have been bouncing it off the walls, letting my kids have at it, and really giving it a good testing.

All in all though just handling the phone, it feels rugged and tough, it is certified to military specs, so that should mean something and make people a bit more comfortable when taking their phone with them everywhere, no matter where their travels take them.

Personally I have two phones, an ATT Tilt and an LG C3100 Flip Phone, when I know I’m going to be getting dirty, wet, and possibly in a place that could damage my phone I’ll swap the sim card out to use the ‘cheapie’ phone. Now if the Rugby was my main phone then I wouldn’t have to worry about anything happening to it as it is made to take rugged conditions.

The interface works after you get accustomed to it, my current phone (ATT Tilt) is Windows Mobile touch screen based, so switching over to the Rugby really took a lot of getting used to for me, not only for the lack of touch screen but of course the entire interface. If I take one of my spare phones, an LG C3100 Flip Phone I find the interface is very similar, so if you’re going from a non-WinMo phone to the Rugby you should be fine.

After a week with the Rugby I did get accustomed to using it’s interface, even though some aspects of it are a bit questionable, of course we’ve got the standard AT&T bloatware and advertisements built in to get you to buy their other services that seem to be right in your face at times, this I could have did without, if I want those services I would sign up for them, and I think every other person agrees on that point.

Check out more Samsung Rugby SGH-a837 Reviews and other Cell Phone Reviews on the main site

Pros:

-Tough and Rugged, well made

-Large easy to use keypad

-Calls are clear

Cons:

-Bad picture and video quality

-AT&T Bloatware junk installed

-Navigation could be better

Grades:

Overall:

Design: score-9-10

Performance: score-8-10

  • http://www.tiltmobility.com Doug Smith

    Great Review Kristofer!

  • Lisa

    Thanks so much for this review! I am thinking of buying this phone & you made it so much easier to come to a decision on which phone I wanted to buy. Great job, thanks!

  • Ken

    Thanks for the review. I’m considering the Rugby. I’m a land surveyor working every day in the forest lands of Texas. Sure wish someone would review this phone who has actually tested it while they were working or playing in rugged conditions. Reviews while looking at it on the kitchen table may be helpful to some extent, but I would like to read a review after use in a real rugged world.

  • http://technogog.com Kristofer

    Hi Ken,
    That’s one of the problems with reviewing cellphones, 99% of them must be returned to the company and if I had damaged the phone in any way I would have been financially responsible for it… so I do what I can with what I’m given..

  • Michelle

    Here’s some rugged testing…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cv9fgLnYXuc

  • redman

    good..

  • Pat K

    Nice video, I am probably going to wait till march and see if ATT picks up the Sonim xp3. If you want a truly tough phone check it out. It has been over in Europe in the xp1 now they are brining it here as the xp3. It can take a 3 story fal, drop in the deep end of a pool and still work after it gets run over by a car.

    But that is some time away, maybe I will get both.

  • SparkyCanadian

    Thank you everyone for the reviews. Clearly like most of you I was on the fence a bit when doing my research on this phone. I work in some terrible environments and was worried that AT&T’s idea of rugged and mine were way off.
    The demo from Brozio and especially the video from the fair sealed the deal. Anyone still unsure about the quality of this phone for extreme use…. check the you tube video listed by Michelle. Case closed.

    Thank you for making my choice so easy!

  • ryan

    i break a lot of phone from carelessness. i bought the yellow/black samsung rugby and less than 5 minutes after powering it on, i slammed it on the concrete much harder than if i dropped it from 20 ft. the phone does not even have a scratch anywhere on the casing and there has been absolutely no functional problems since.

  • mike

    I just bought this phone on this past saturday 10-25-08 and have had it for four days so far, and i must say i can’t be happier with it. ive had motorola’s, sony ericson’s, and one older model nokia brick. this being my first samsung really gave me a great first impression in the store with its features and abilities from what seemed to be a tough yet simple phone. i work in a construction based environment, and actually dropped it into a wheel barrow full of quikrete (cement) and wiped it off and never had a problem. the speaker is loud enough i can hear it with all the ruckus around me goes on, and the 3G service is great! i would definitely suggest the Rugby to anyone who gets down and dirty at work, for fun w/e, you won’t be disappointed!

  • Anthony

    Are there any other “rugged phones” for AT&T? I’ve had several phones (the first nokia that you could change the faceplates, nokia 3210, 3220, sony ericcson z310?, and currently, an LG.) and none of them have lasted over 6 months. I don’t really have an active lifestyle or anything like that, its mostly just dropping the phone, or the occational smashing the phone on my steering wheel because I lost signal in the middle of a very important call. But no concerns with dust, dirt, or water. I would really like a full keyboard, because I’m text-heavy, and hardly ever actually use the phone part of it. And I don’t know anybody that uses the PPT, so I don’t have a use for that.

  • Brennan

    I just bought my phone today and loved it!! It was kinda hard to get use to considering I went from a Blackjack so texting was a pain for me but I work in a metal fab shop and I am around alot of grinding dust so all my other phones would collect metal shavings in the speaker not the Rugby! Should last me along time.

  • Higbee

    I’m not the kind of person who writes a review on everything I buy, in fact this is my first. I do however read a lot of what everyone else has to say. I will have to give the rugby FIVE STARS. I have 3 of them on a family plan with AT&T. The cost of plans are basically the same for all the carries, but AT&T does have rollover minutes which may give a little better advantage. I’m a little hard hearing and just want to have a phone which can provide the following: LOUD RINGTONES; CLEAR EASY TO READ NUMBERS; GOOD SIGNAL ANYWHERE IN THE COUNTRY. This phone does that for me. The Rugby has all I need plus a lot more things that my wife and daughter wanted. My daughter is away at school and wanted a phone with text messaging, camera, blue tooth and other features my wife and I dont care much about. My wife especially wanted a RUGGED phone, because it lives in the bottom of her purse or on the floor or table or just about anywhere, usually wherever she last used it. Her last phone had the antenna chewed off by the dog and had been droped many times and sent back for repair twice. This one looks like it will hold up a lot better and has no external antenna. We got the three phones from Amazon.com for only a PENNEY each plus about $7.00 for shipping. We have had them for three weeks now and very happy with them. Daughter uses all features and had only one complaint (wishes it had a flash on camera).

  • Junior

    I needed a dependable phone. IT’S MY ONLY PHONE. hate cheap ass crap, so when I saw this I LOVED it. Been in the Military 20 years, so yes the MIL-Spec does mean a little to me… IT’S A PHONE… I COULD CARE LESS ABOUT VIDEO QUALITY. I HAVE AN AWESOME CAMERA. VIDEO… WHATEVER IT’S A PHONE. Email, web…. blah blah blah IT’S A PHONE… AND IT WORKS GREAT!!!! I am frustrated trying to buy a phone. I want to make calls. Not surf the web or snap pics. In fact where I work, cameras are prohibited. I’m nearly 40 years old, male and have a career. They need to make phones for us… Not the 15 year old girl phones with text and crap. This is the closest thing I have found to a Blue tooth capable no frills phone… THANK YOU
    No just make one with a battery twice the size and I’ll be happy.

  • Rick

    Have a problem receiving a multimedia messages from my wife’s iphone. The message comes through but there is not a picture. Service not to bad in the area that I live. I am a welder and this phone is not to bad.

  • chris dee

    Thank you SO much for this review – i put a lot of faith in real world experience and this is a good, gritty inspection of the product. I really liked the phone when i saw it at the ATT store, figured i’d get it – I’m not looking for much in a phone: to me, at the end of the day, it’s a phone. But i really valued reviews so i was glad for this one. Thanks – you’re bookmarked, Man.

  • Chad

    Does anybody know how well this syncs with Outlook as far as calendar or contacts are concerned?
    What type of cable do I need? I am seriously considering this phone, but hate to buy phones that require proprietary cables and software.

    Thanks,
    Chad

  • mark

    Had this phone for about two weeks and it BROKE. I had it in my front pocket, bumped into a table and it completely SHATTERED the front display! AT&T wouldn’t take it back and Samsung wants to charge me $70.00 to fix it! Completely ridicules. This phone is no where as “rugged” as claimed.
    Wait for a ruggedized phone from a different manufacturer.

  • erin

    To Mark:
    I have to call you a liar…first of all I am an AT&T wireless employee of 3 1/2 years, not to mention a customer for close to 10 years. If you break a phone AT&T will not fix it. Your only options are (1)make an insurance claims in which the deductibles are either $50 or $125(most data devices and higher end phones) depending on the device,(2)upgrade with a 2 year agreement if eligible,(3)purchase a device at the no commitment cost (does not require you to renew your contract. If the phone has no physical or liquid damage (determined by the liquid indicator in the battery area) and was purchased within one year,you may have your device exchanged for a new or refurbished device. AGAIN I AM AN AT&T EMPLOYEE, A MANAGER TO BE EXACT, and there is no option to have your phone fixed for $70.00. Aside from that, I purchased the phone for my father who is a construction worker. I is very hard on phones and can go through 3 to 4 per year even with phones I thought were “rugged.” He has had the phone since September and it has only small scratches on it from dropping it. SO PLEASE COME WITH A BETTER STORY OR DO A LITTLE MORE RESEARCH BEFORE YOU COMMENT. EVERYDAY PEOPLE USE THESE REVIEWS AND I THINK ITS UNFAIR TO THEM TO POST UNTRUE AND INACCURATE INFORMATION.

  • erin

    Very reliable device according to my personal experience with it and my customers giving me feedback. Only negative is the camera if it is important to you. I have had Samsung devices in the past and have found them to be the most reliable.

  • Jon

    I bought a Samsung Rugby Phone a few months ago, and I love it. It has been the best phone I have ever owned. I however am starting to have a problem with it. I most use it during the day and charge it up over night. For some reason, The battery does not seem to charge fully anymore and if leave it on the charger over night, when I disconnect and use the phone, it will show only 1 bar and soon go dead. What is the problem? Am I over charging the phone, and if so how can the phone me charged so its ready for daily calls and useage???
    Any people having the same problem please let me know.. Thanks
    Jon

  • Dave

    Erin, Get a clue or at least READ and COMPREHEND what you are reading. Mark never claimed AT&T was going to fix his phone. He wrote that it was SAMSUNG that was going to charge him the $70.

  • Rachell

    Dave I agree with you, Erin needs to get a clue. My service is with AT&T and I have always been pleased with their service. However, it’s a little scarey that he claims to be a manager but he really did not pay attention to what Mark was saying. In the past,when I had a phone less than 30 days from the date of purchase and something happen to it, AT&T did replace it. Anyway, I think Mark just got a hold of a bad one because this really is a good phone. But…. after Erin’s response it makes you not only want the phone but not want to be with AT&T. But just like there are bad phones……..

  • jason

    This phone kicks butt in my opinion. My iphone lasted 6 weeks before shattering to pieces. If i could store more music and open email attachments it would be the most perfect phone i could ever hope for.

  • Loneranger

    I have been looking at this phone and it was a great review of the phone, but I am also looking at the Motorola Tundra. Do you, or does anyone know where there is a comparison of the two for both Clarity and Ruggedness.

  • Connie

    Loneranger, I purchased my Rugby last night. Before I made the purchase the manager showed me a Motorola phone, which she said was not officially out yet. I am thinking it was the Tundra. It looked really nice, but I knew I would have to wait for it, and then it would be pretty expensive – to me anyway.

  • Rick

    Thank you for taking the time out to do this review.

    Rick
    Austin, Texas

  • jack

    I have a rugby, got it about 2 months ago, NOT STOKED. I have had to swap the phone out because of dropped calls and general usability problems. I think I would have a better opinion of the phone itself if ATT would decide if the problem is the phone or service in the area. Special thanks to Brian @ Wireless World in Oak Harbor WA. for the blow off.

  • Travis

    After replacing a BlackjackII 3 times in 6 months(track wheel kept quitting) I went with the bumble-bee Rugby. While it is definitely rugged, it is one of the least user friendly phones I’ve had to date. Menus are hard to get to, I haven’t figured out how to move them, and hope I can. Mine has horrible call clarity, the speakers seem to crackle and vibrate when talking, making it annoying at best, impossible to hear at worst. I absolutely hate the “ringtones”, why not give us simple people a simple ringer. I prefer a phone with a beep and vibrate for calls, and some simple chime or ding for text and voice mail alerts. “hip hop” and other msical tones are wasted on me and many others who use cell phones as, well, phones! I’ll keep it until the Motorola Tundra comes down a little in price, then I’ll buy one outright. Aside from being waterproof, shockproof, etc. I’m not impressed. Please somebody, give hard use cell phone users a phone WE want, not something everyone else wants with a rubber coating.

  • Rebecca

    I’m having trouble with it holding the backlight on the faceplate. It powers down in about 3 seconds. My old Nokia phone displayed the time continuously (I washed that one in the washing machine). I’ve changed the light settings for the main screen, but it doesn’t seem to affect the front display screen. This is a fairly small irritation, but one nonetheless. Also, sound seems to wave up and down when I’m talking and also listening to the ringing when I’m calling another phone.

  • Sebastian

    First of all, I work with horses and need something that is tough. I do not need a delicate phone. I mainly want to say “hello” and “good by” so this phone is perfect for me. However, I am having a slight problem that I don’t see addressed here. When I charge the phone overnight, I go to unplug the charger and the phone is turned off. I need for my phone to be on 24/7. Anybody else have this problem?

  • pup

    I also work with horses. My phone gets incredible dirty, smashed, dropped, and run over by humans, horses, and occasionally my tractor! I carried a Nokia brick (6555) for years and loved it until it was no longer available. I bought my Rugby more than 6 months ago and like it but I have found a few problems.
    I cannot send photos except to people who have phones that are capable of handling the file size. But the worst thing is that I leave my phone on 24/7 and if there is a voice mail the SOB makes a tone every minute until I check it at least once and sometimes twice. Can someone tell me how to change my settings so I don’t hear that annoying tone all night? Sebastian sometimes I wish mine would turn off on its own!

  • kevin

    The author says that the agps is not “real” gps. That is incorrect isn’t it? Every thing that I have read says that agps (assisted gps) is “better” than “native” (regular) gps. Isn’t the author confusing apgs with “tower triangulation”?

  • Debbie

    After doing the research, I decided to purchase this phone for my husband. He is disabled to some extent and it came highly recommended. I waited till his Birthday to surprise him with it. Within 2 weeks, the front display was deeply cracked. We immediately took it to the Kiosk at the mall where it was purchased. They would not do anything or instruct us on what to do. They said it wasn’t even under warranty because the salesman failed to put the correct 3G sim card in it. After complete ignorance on the part of AT&T, they finally achnowledged that it was indeed covered by a warranty and that I was paying $4.99 a month for it. The Manager I spoke to was the one who said there was no warranty on this. I believe the Manager needs bettter training and that AT&T should back up the merchandise that they recommend, especially if the item has been used the way that it was intended. My husbands phone has been on a cord, around his neck and in his front pocket every since his birthday. They are sending me a new one, we’ll see how it works.

  • Bill

    My first rugby was purchased 1st of Dec. and I will say that the sound is the only thing that I can say I like about the phone. Had media and other fancy crap turned off by ATT as every time went to use it and touched the wrong button another charge was added to my bill. All I wanted was a good phone that will hold up and work. This one dropped people out of my address list.Would have to push speed dial number many times to get the call started. They sent me a new one last week and this one won’t speed dial 1 out of 5-10 trys. Will try a new sim card before I drop kick this thing and see how it stands up to this. Sure wish I had my Razor back. Easy to operate but this thing will drive you nuts trying to get it set up and find things on it. Also voice mail ringtone only needs to ring once or twice not every few minutes until the battery runs down. I will check the message when I get ready but now check it to get the phone to SHUT UP. Have had cell phones and been with ATT or Southwest Bell in the early days since the begining of cell service and many phones but this is the worse phone to operate out of all of them. For the young that likes all the button pushing they can have it. Does anyone know of a tough phone with good sound that just works for incoming and outgoing calls and takes pix’s?

  • Edward Vellhi

    The Rugby isn’t a bad phone, but it has a couple of aspects I continue to find annoying months after purchase. One is that like most (all?) Samsung phones, it does not accept standard wired headsets and instead uses a proprietary Samsung connector — and unlike other Samsung models, the adapter they sell to correct this does not work with this model. The second is the moronic placement and design of the side mounted buttons. One is flush mounted (not countersunk) and triggers the speaker phone mode (and is very jarring when pressed accidentally) and the other sticks out and triggers AT&T’s gougetastic PTT “feature” which requires you to answer “no” each time it gets pressed and it asks if you want to sign up for it. Nothing can be done about the stupid speakerphone button, but I used a simple if brute force method to disable the PTT button (you can’t do it though the software): I (very carefully) super-glued the button edges to the case. No more PTT button. I don’t ever intend to sign up for it, so it’s no loss. And even if I were to change my mind, other keys can be mapped to this function. Sad to say, despite this phones other positives, like a superior bluetooth stack, these issues will keep me from buying any more Samsung phones.

  • drew

    thanks for the reviews people. i have a 4 year old nokia that i’ve been looking to replace, and i think i’ll keep looking.

  • TWillz

    when i first got this phone i thought it sucked since i only take it to school and camping. im not crazy about all of the features but i have actually grew to love this phone. it satnds up to the beating it takes and my and my friends have alot of fun throwing it at stuff. but over all a truly amzingly great phone

  • Jorge

    I´ve just broken my nokia in pieces and I want that phone but I live in Mexico, can they sell it unblocked for using it with a mexican net?

  • Tim

    I have a rugby and the phone over all is geat but it dosen’t pick up a good signal. We have att and my wife and daughters phone picks up when and where the rugby won’t.

  • Mike

    If you like txting do not get this phone it sucks. I personally think the phone in general sucks. It frustrates the hell out of me. I’ve had it for a month now and I absolutley hate it. The ONLY good thing about this phone is that it’s basicaly indestructable.. but it’s not like it’s the only one. The rest is garbage. It’s not user friendly, not intuitive, the texing is terrible. Everything takes way too many button pushs. I hate it.

  • LegendsOfBatman

    @erin

    You are PRECISELY why I loathe AS&S.
    You are a manager to be exact, i believe you said. Yet, you don’t pay attention to what people state.
    So typical of this co.

  • Tom

    Take 30 seconds before you film this to set up a tripod and figure out what the hell you’re going to do and say.

  • dlam

    don’t like it ..will go back on Ebay…

  • peperonni

    I saw and compare in youtube the samsung rugby and the casio G’Zone boulder, it seems to be much tougher the Casio and looks so more cool, look for them in youtube and compare, the casio was freezed in a bolck of water that become ice and worked even freezed, also can even take pictures under water “unbelievable” and has a real GPS. I ´m sad because I wanted that but I´ll have to buy the Samsung beacuse I´m gonna use it in Mexico and the company I will contract dont use a net compatible with verizon

  • Douglas

    It’s a good thing that this phone is rugged… otherwise it would have been in several dozen pieces by now due to my frustration with the bloody PTT button located on the side. I spoke to my carrier about disabling it and they referred me to Samsung. I spoke to Samsung and they referred me to tier 2 technical support. I spoke to tier 2 technical support and they said that the unit would have to be sent in for repair… at a cost!! How stupid… Somewhere, deep down in the phones firmware, is a way to disable this disgusting PTT key… but Samsung apparently would like to keep it a secret. Blowhards. Other than that, I love my Rugby! :-) Perhaps I’ll try the brute-force method mentioned above, but I don’t want super glue to discolor the case… problems, problems…

  • sylamore

    I have owned the Rugby for a few months now. Personally, I love it. The only thing I find annoying about it is the location of the PTT button, which I see frustrates many other owners. I haven’t had any probs with mine so far. I get excellent reception and I like that you can actually hear this phone ring, unlike alot of the other ones on the market. The large display is nice too and I can read most of what is displayed without my glasses, another plus. I have not subjected mine to any harsh punishment but my thinking would be that it can handle it mighty fine. I’m impressed!

  • Dave Farber

    I bought this phone for its rugged specifications. I’m an active person (firefighter) and I thought I’d like some additional protection. The specs are nothing more than window dressing. The phone got wet, admittedly immersed, and failed.

    When warranty work was sought, Samsung simply voided the warranty for the reason of “moisture.”

    Worthless company, worthless product.Samsung Rugby A837 Phone, Black (AT&T)Samsung Rugby A837 Phone, Yellow (AT&T)

  • Burk

    I bought a Rugby and broke the front LCD by bumping into a corner with it in my pocket. I called to find out about repair and they told me $93.10 at the minimum. Not very helpful. I saw a video where they ran it over with a loaded down pick up truck.

    I found it’s Kryptonyte… a corner

  • Default

    I bought the rugby phone based on the good reviews I read on the internet and I don’t see what the hype is all about. My rugby sucks. I’ve had it for 4 months now and the phone is crap. Initially, when I first bought it, it worked fine for the first 2 months, sound quality was above par. Now, people can’t hear me well on the other end and on my end, I hear them muffled. The video camera and camera sucks. Blurry and the video camera has a habit to freeze while you are recording. Games freeze. Messaging is very basic- if you want to add an emoticon- you can only add text emoticon. Battery life is dismissal. Also, the paint peeled off in the front which I later found out is an issue with other people. The speakerphone is crap. I can’t list any pros. For this price, samsung could have built a quality phone that lasts. Should never have bought this phone. Will never buy samsung again.

  • DissatisfiedMF

    I have had the Rugby phone for 9 months. In that time, I have rarely been happy with the audio quality. It seems very muffled, at seemingly the very worst times. When it drops a call, I don’t get a low-level beep to let me know that the connection has failed. It has no sidetone, so I can’t tell the connection dropped, and then often as not, the phone RINGS directly into my ear. That’s some really broken software.

    Ok, that’s bad enough, right? No.

    It recently started corrupting the contacts data on the SIM. I have entries of “No Name / No Number” that I can’t delete. The “Options” button is inoperative. You hear it beep, but the menu is not popped. Great work Samsung. [NOT]

    This phone has a lot of software flaws — I test flight-critical software for a living, for like 747’s and shit. I know a bug when I see it.

    I called AT&T for a replacement today. It took over 1.5 hours on the phone to get AN IDENTICALLY FLAWED SAMSUNG RUGBY!! FWIW, the options I had available were, 1) “Downgrade” to Nokia 2600 for which I had to dig in pocket for at least $40, 2) “Early Upgrade” for which I had to dig in pocket for $200, and 3) Get another POS Samsung Rugby.

    I’m going to be sniffing the deals at Verizon and Metro PCS shortly. They can shove their ETF.

    DissatisfiedMF!!!

  • Mike C.

    After AT&T ‘s Insurance company cancelled me (2 claims within a year, I have 5 lines-duh), it was suggested that I try the Rugby. In the beginning it was fine, looked like I might have found the right phone. After a month, the battery started losing charge. I have to keep it plugged in most of the time. The front glass cracked and the “rubber casing” is merely a rubber paint, of which is flaking off. I am NOT satisfied with this phone. While I cannot claim that I would never buy Samsung again, I am dissappointed with this particular model. I only wish that it had started to mess up before my trial period was over as they would have had this P.O.S. back. I am now stuck with it or will have to pay a couple of hundred for a different phone. I used an upgrade on this piece of crap. Don’t waste yours.

  • Austin

    The phone is great. Very indestructable, but it cannot reciever or send pictures and multimedia messages, it always says connection failed even if i have full bars. Anyone know why?

  • Dave

    Mine is a piece of junk. It keeps turning itself off. I am on my 3rd one under warranty from ATT. It drops calls every day. My wife’s Nokia has no problems

  • Joe

    god I have this phone and it is a piece of crap. I absolutley hate it. The only pro is that I accidently dropped it in the toilet and only thing that happened was that the screen cracked a little. Indestructible my ass.

  • Jim

    My issue is with ATT. I have had a rugby for 6 months and it was in my pocket when I walked around a desk. The corner of the desk caught it just right and cracked the front display screen. It is a work phone and ATT said that cracking the front voids the MIl Spec warranty….Huh???. It is mil spec tough as long as you don’t use it. Would never reccomend it.

  • Jaslyn

    My dad used to have this phone then he traded me for my samsung eternity. You may be asking why I would do something like that, but I was just always afraid the eternity was going to break. This phone has been dropped litterally hundreds of times and still works just the same as when it came out of the box. You cant take videos very long, but it is an overall good phone. The only bad things about the phone are the lack of time for recording video and its really ugly…………lol:)

  • Chris

    Had read early reviews of this phone, and I farm, so it has always been a problem getting a phone to last very long. Thought I’d solved the problem, but the longer I have the Rugby, the more disgusted I get. Reception sucks, unless your right on top of a tower. Ringtones, there has got to be somewhere to change it, I hope, but I sure can’t find it. I can’t hear this one ring, where my old LG was not a problem. Have it set for outdoor, and if it wasn’t that it vibrated, over half the time, I wouldn’t know it was ringing. It has been dropped several times, and has survived that. The external speaker is worthless, as it’s to garbled to understand it.

  • Homer Simpson

    I have had a Rugby since November 2008. My employer made me switch from Nextel and they pay the bill so I did it. I wanted a sturdy phone becaue I tend to destroy them and the Rugby has been excellent so far. Bluetooth and USB tethering to notebook for mobile data works great. AT&T’s 3G network is overloaded in big cities but its not the phones fault. Voice is load and clear and the battery life is great. I never use the PTT at all but the button gets pushed accidentally all the time. This may sound weird since I came from Nextel but I had them because free incoming calls suited my usage pattern.

    My biggest complaint is the belt clip. At first there was no belt clip. Then I went through around 5 3rd part clips which all cracked within a month each. Then I got a real Samsung belt clip. It has lasted 3 months so far but the swivel is too low on the clip for keeping the phone vertical on my belt and it swivels too easily so it always winds up horizontal . I miss my Nextel i836 belt clip.

  • Russell

    I have owned the Rugby for 1 year now. No complaints and the phone works as good now as ever. The battery will still last for 4 days on one charge and that includes hundreds of texts and hours of talking. I am not easy on the phone either. I carry it in the front pocket of blue jeans and in south Texas I sweat through clothes every day. I’ve dropped the phone from the tractor several times onto concrete and into grass where I had to call it for over half hour to locate it in the pasture. I would highly recommend to others, and others have bought and are just as happy around town. I havent heard any complaints from anyone around.

  • Kirk

    I like mine. I had to pull off the PTT button with my fingernail and cut off the plastic tab with a razor blade. That dixed the PTT problem. Easy fix.

  • Debbie

    My husband had a Samsung Rudgby phone for five weeks, when a crack formed on the front LCD cover. He had not dropped it, banged it or otherwise abused it. I checked it out carefully, not a scuff anywhere. He went to the AT&T store, and was told he would have to deal with Samsung. Samsung said go to AT&T, and so it went. Samsung would not even consider that the phone was defective. They asked us to send it in to be reviewed by the techs. The techs could not determine the cause of the crack, but we were told that they would not repair or replace the phone. Plus the warranty was now void because it had cracked. My husband has had cell phones since the 80’s with never a problem. If this is a rugged phone (military grade)it was either a)defective or b)a piece of junk being advertised as a rugged phone. We bought another phone, a Mortorola Tundra. Shame on Samsung for not standing behind their products.

  • ricky

    Why on earth can it not receive email attachments? Bloody #&!! man!

  • Jayson

    How do I delete words from the built-in T9 predictive text dictionary that i accidentally entered. every time i type “love” the first word that comes up is “Lmud”.

  • Rachel

    We have a Rugby it was being carried in a pocket and the front screen cracked have been back and forth with at&t and samsung they do not carry physical damage but will take a look at it at samsung and charge us to fix it it will take 3 weeks wow!!!! what a great phone LOL
    To be totally honest Samsung could give a crap less I would never tell anyone to get a Rugby and would never consider getting a Samsung phone again due to how rude they are … I believe their website is misleading and they do not stand behind their phones and went as far as to tell me that this has never happened to anyone else before after reading this website it seems that it has happened to more than just us.

  • tracy

    The instruction manual is very vague. Not what you want in an instruction manual at all ! There are icons on the phone that don’t appear anywhere in the manual. The camera instructions do not cover half of the icon functions>>>”Zoom Not Available When Picture Is Set atMaximum” is what the screen has on it when you press the up or down soft keys. No where can I find The instructions to take it off Maximum. Also, I can’t wait to see browser charges for pressing the wrong buttons by accident! Nice phone just very frustrating!

  • Whit

    I was caught in a rainstorm with the Rugby in my outer pocket (there may have been water in there as well). After getting it home, I opened up the battery to swap out my SD card and saw a couple of droplets on the battery and underneath it.
    Even after drying everything out, the battery seemed to get drained within an hour after reassembling everything. When plugged back in, the battery recharged once, then drained again. Now I can’t get the battery to hold any charge whatsoever!

    This phone might be MIL-STD 810 “Certified”, but Samsung won’t stand behind that statement. If it gets wet at all – you’re SOL just like with any other phone.

    I would call it “Water Resistant” at best. We’ll see if a new battery helps me out instead of buying a whole new phone and/or insurance deductible. Make sure to check your battery and charging cable gasket. When you’re done – check it again. That way you won’t have to experience Samsung’s lack of integrity with respect to their workmanship.

  • Derrick

    I am in the military, work very hard and play even harder. I dropped this phone out of the jeep goin 75 on the interstate and it still worked with one scratch. I ran this phone over with a power stroke diesel (another accident) and no scratch or nothing. I went camping got a little tipsy and forgot my phone in the canoe and it rained!!! My phone spent the night 6 inches under water, When i picked it up she still worked!!!! Then with my total confidence i threw it into the deep end of a pool. I have witnesses for every event. Trust me if you are rough on a phone give this one a shot, it will be worth it!!!!

  • Jack

    I have had this phone for a few months. I do not work in an environment where I really require a phone that would stand up to rough use but I wanted a phone that would last as long as my contract. I have never dropped this phone or ran over it with a vehicle as they show that it can withstand in the demo. I only answered it one day and to my surprise the hing broke and I now have a phone in two pieces that AT&T said was not covered by any manufacture warranty. I phoned SAMSUNG and they said they can repair it at my expense starting at 70.00 and depending on what they have to do could cost as much as a new phone. I wasn’t crazy enough about this phone to spend that kind of money. For one you can’t hear on it even in an office I can’t image trying to hear on it at a construction site. I will not be purchasing any SAMSUNG products in the future. I had a Motorola that lasted for years and when it broke Motorola replaced it after I had had it for 9 months. I believe this phone has a defect in the plastic because the plastic appears to be lighter where it broke. I have had cheap phones last longer.

  • J. Phillips

    I got this phone and a spare battery 1 month ago. No matter which battery I have used, charge lasts an inconsistent amount of time, even when no talking is done. As for 5 hours talk time and 250 hours idle time – good grief – I’m lucky to get 1 hour talk time and the thing decharges in 12 – 24 hours when not even in use.

    Am I doing something wrong???

  • Don

    (DISCLAIMER: I don’t care which carrier is providing the service) I’ve had a rugby for over a year now, living in the Pacific Northwest, and abused the heck out of it while hunting, fishing, wood-cutting, off-road motorcycle riding. Dropped, stepped on, kicked, landed face down while open (serious hinge drop test) washed in washing machine once, rained on costantly, and taken dirt bike riding (falling) many many times. Aside from little dents in the poly on both outer sides of the hinge ‘bumps’, scuffs on the outer hard plastic, couple of pushed in/dent sponts on the outside speaker grille, and two of the little plastic screw hole covers popping off outside of the main screen…no problem. Works great, has taken all this abuse and still functions as it did out of the box. If held VERY steady (that’s the trick, video or still) the pictures are clear and video is plenty good. Steady is the key. The little things listed above: no sweat. Broke a phone about every 3 months prior to this, never ever got close to a year out of one. I can’t see how this one can be so solid and yet see posts about flipping it open and the hinge breaking. I know 3 others with the same phone, different colors, same experience as mine. I’d buy another without a second thought, though I’ll have to figure out how to actually kill this one first. No luck in 15 months.

  • Pingback: WTS: samsung rugby a837 - VRForums - IT Show 2010 | The Most Happening IT & Singapore Lifestyle Community()

  • shelbot

    i have had mine for little under a year now and this phone is truly unbreakable. im a high shcool boy so my phone goes through a lot of abuse. from falling in pitchers of beer to falling out of a car going 40mph, nothing seems to be able to break this. but after all this i am now having trouble with the battery taking almost 24 hours to charge and it has absolutely no water damage on it at all. i called at&t and they are sending me a free one but it does not look like the battery is damaged at all so i don’t know if that will solve the problem. does any one else have this problem?

  • Glenn

    This is not a rugged phone. From day one, the cover over the battery charger port kept falling of by itself. Anyone who has one knows this. I will never get a Samsung again in my life, this flaw is so glaringly obvious, I wonder how they could have approved the design. Sound quality and ring quality are also bad. My old razor is much better in every way, including much more durable. This phone is just too look rugged; it in no way is & I’m sure the military spec claim is completely made up. Anyone here who claims it is rugged must work for Samsung; I am mad at them as their false claims led me to purchase mine. Check one out before you buy — check out the cover for the charger port and you will see what I’m talking about. This phone sucks.

  • http://unknown? rick shaw

    Went phone shopping thurs nite. Showed sales associate my old Nokia I’ve carried caseless in my front pocket since AT&T was called Cingular here in S. Florida. I’d dropped this phone 3,000 times, but starting with the 3001st drop it began to self disassemble till packing tape would no longer hold all the pieces together. I spoke- “This is what I do to phones, do you have anything that will take this kind of beating, something RUGGED?” “There is only one phone for you,” he replied, “Follow me.” He led me straight across the store to the lair of a sinister creature, an excersize in flat black and rubber that quietly hissed “That’s close enough, I bite.” I’m sure the pitch was well rehearsed and professionally delivered but it was just white noise in the background while the “Rugby” and I sized each other up, looking for the slightest opening or weakness to exploit. Not our first meeting, this was the phone that had startled and frightened me in another showroom when I was foolish enough to think that Internet access, touch screen trickery, and one letter per key keypads were my future in the wireless world. Though I had quickly walked past, from that instant a seed grew in my subconcious, one that chanted “Phones are strong, phones are tough, phones are for work, not play.”

    That chant was silenced by a word that came from far away. So far away I wasn’t sure what I’d really heard until my wife questioned it. I snapped my head around just in time to hear the associate repeat “Yes, waterproof!”

    “I’ll take it!” someone yelled, and everyone was looking at me. “Ive never seen you make a decision so fast,” says wife. The Atlantic Ocean, Lake Osbourne, and the toilet in the master bath have each taken a phone from me, children with their promising futures instantly terminated. The hurt never really goes away.

    I will never understand how these earned upgrades work, only that the wife used my last two or three, and now I was using her latest. With my sim card data transferred and my wallet $191.69 lighter, out the door we went with my “free” phone. Once home, I got the wake up alarm set, and picked ringtones for alarm and incoming calls, (Phones should ring, not sing. Or fart while we’re on the subject.) In the morning my new phone woke me up, good start, and I reset it for 15 min later. I’ll find snooze when I have time to read the manual.

    Dressed for work (cargo shorts and T- shirt,) I put the Rugby in the right front pocket of my shorts with my keys, the same place my Nokia lived for years. In the car, off I go, and my pocket rings. My first real phone call on my new Rugby. I fish it out of the pocket and look to see who’s calling. It’s my wife. I know it’s my wife because I can read her name on the other side of the BIG FREAKING CRACK across the front display screen of an otherwise pristeen 12 hour old phone. In the time that passed between putting the phone and keys in my pocket and taking the keys out to start the car, I must have stooped to pick something up and the keys and phone interracted. An interraction, I must point out, that occurred at least 20- 30 times a day with the Nokia.

    The front (or outer) screen of the Nokia was so scratched up it was hard to see through, but it never cracked. I would bet serious money that if the lenses of these displays were compared side by side, the Nokia’s would be either much thicker or of a different composition altogether or both. After ten minutes in a dark pocket, my tough, rugged, intimidating phone got its butt kicked by an ordinary set of house & car keys. If this represents “military” standards or requirements for strength and durability, we all need to learn how to say “Yes, Master, as you wish” in Chinese, for this truly is the beginning of the end.

    Places like the AT&T store hire recent grads not for what they’ve learned, but that they’ve shown they are capable of being trained to sell and talk their way out of any responsibility for the quality of what they are paid to push, and foremost become expert at “handling” people. I am so sick of being “handled” I could scream. If you can’t deliver what I ask for, be honest enough to admit it. I asked for a tiger and got a pussy cat instead. I am on my way to speak to a manager, none were on duty yesterday. I apologize in advance to anyone within earshot if said manager states “This is the first time I’ve heard of anything like this happening,” as several of your reviewers have been told. There are more than enough stories just like mine in the reviews of this product to show this is a design flaw or a poor choice of material for the screen.

    If I may honor the memory of my Nokia one last time. After the last seperation into pieces I tried to put the quarter inch square of circuitry attatched to the wire coming off the flip portion of the phone into a place on the main body whre it could conceivably fit. It did fit and the flip lit up for a moment. Two days later, just before the data transfer to the Samsung it chirped the message waiting chirp. I laid the poor thing on the counter and hit the right keys and it called voicemail one last time. There were four unheard messages and I bent low over the speaker and heard them all. That’s dying with your boots on. Rick Shaw- Lake Worth, Florida

  • Tim

    My wife and I both have Rugby telephones. Both CRACKED at the hinge. Mine is less than one years old. It is still under warranty but they do not warranty it from cracking. So, it can be run over by a car, but if it cracks from ordinary use, too bad. DO NOT BUY A RUGBY. THE ADVERTISEMENTS REGARDING ITS RUGGEDNESS ARE FALSE.

  • gb

    after 45 days my rugby phone broke and samsung will not back up their product

  • Satisfied user

    Sounds like the two people that posted above me had a pretty bad experience with their Rugby phones. I can certainly understand their frustration with products that do not perform. The thing is, a single person’s bad experience with a product does not mean that the product or the manufacturer is bad. Just as with my very good experience with my Rugby phone does not mean the other folks did not have problems and are just throwing dirt. Maybe they got defective products or physically did something to their phones that they were not aware of.

    I am a “hand on” general contractor specializing in remodels. My Rugby sees a lot of abuse. Like another fellow above, my metal speaker cover is all dented up and the paint is wearing off. There are some nicks and gouges in the rubber and some on the plastic. This phone is in extreme dust often and has gotten drenched a couple of times (not submerged though). The phone works as it did new with no problems.

    These phones ARE built to Military Standard 810G. This is not a phony claim. 810G is a standard with a list of specs a device must meet or exceed in order to claim compliance. Just as with ADA standards, OSHA standards, the UL listing, etc., you don’t lay claim to that standard if 3rd party testing and certifying has not been done, or you are looking at serious judicial and civil actions against you. Being built to military specs does not mean it is indestructible. It means that it tested to be compliant to the spec, which is something very few cell phones can claim.

    All that being said, other info on this phone is, the camera is sub par, the sound quality is OK but not great and the speaker phone is not loud enough. My little rubber cover for the charger fits perfectly to this day, even with a gouge in it. If you are looking for a rugged phone, I highly recommend the Samsung Rugby.

  • Matt

    I was just wondering which phone would be better the Samsung Rugby or Motorola Tundra. I was mostly curious as to which one has the most water resistance.

  • David

    My rugby of which I have had for 2 months has a nice crack in the front screen, has not been dropped, i keep it in my pocket, but dont remember running into anything- they are not any tougher thank any other phone-my pos razor didnt work good,but i never cracked it from pocket use.

  • Carl Alexander

    The Samsung Rugby is junk , the same hinge broke ( in the same place) on two phones now.

  • http://www.imagraphicx.com Cleave Fritts

    2010 – Excellent review, still relevant in-depth information. THANKS! Just got the latest model, and so far, can see I’m pleased unless they add all the hype that reduces durability, to wit:

    For those of use who need this kind of phone, videos and even texting & mobile web, ARE NOT the reasons we need this kind of phone. Get an LG (nice phone) or many others for that stuff.

    There ARE some of us in the population that NEED an EXTREME PHONE. Phone only. Very good to have the camera (3mgpx in the Samsung Ruby II, 2010 model, btw). But other than that – mil specs, tough, and personally I use ATT for the coverage aspect (always sure of my coverage with ATT for the last 10 years traveling around the country in construction oil pipe-lines as I have to do), THOSE are the vital aspects of this type of phone for “us” in that particular population.

    For those wanting rugged, but full of web, texting, video, e-book, you might want to re-think your use – you are driving manufacturers to add things to THIS type of phone that we don’t need, and then if available, will only reduce the durability that we DO need. Get an LG, or other, and ….

    Re-think exactly how rugged YOUR lifestyle is. Get a case, get a cover. Leave the mil-spec design to focus (as Amazon states about their Kindle), on a particular need.

  • keith baldwin

    i have had my rugby for two years and you all have tested the phone but i did more my rugby was submerged for 3 hours in a river and was fine i have throne it used it for a base ball and even ran over it with a ford F250 supper duty i have done the youtube test an froze it in a glass of water and it still rang it the best phone iv ever seen the hing is some what week but over all vary good quality

  • Shy-shy

    is there a way to change the text messaging ring tone? i have this phone figured out all except for that and some help would be nice :) please

  • 280zee

    Yes it’s a good durable phone, with one major flaw. If you just tap the hinge in just the right way your phone is dead. The plastic that holds the hinge in place brakes very easy. It happened to me. Now I’m back to using my old Motorola that has been dropped countless times. Never will I buy a Samsung phone again. It was a $150 learning experiance.

  • Doug

    I’ve had my Samsung Rugby for about two months or so. I haven’t really tried to test its durability threshold but being the previous owner of an LG VUE, I must say there is a steep learning curve at least it has been for me with this phone. It has been a nightmare to text with thus far, half don’t send the first time, you have to go through the process and resend at least 50% of the time which is annoying at best but if texting between multiple people at same time it makes you feel like testing out this units durability threshold. Several times I felt like throwing into the wall, thats been my only complaint so far though.

  • Darthvagrant

    I have a Samsung Rugby 1 (Yellow)(AT&T) and I can’y get it to continue playing music (from the microSD card) when it is closed (folded). This is silly since it’s A2DP capable for bluetooth stereo, when one would obviously want to put in in a pocket or holster (folded) .Has ANYONE figured out a setting to continue music after closing the phone? My Samsung U900 Flip Shot (Verizon) didn’t have this problem.

  • Thekykodiak

    What a bunch of crybabies!!! I hike, mountain bike, literally beat the crap out of this phone! I’ve had it for over a year and never had a problem. Texting is a pain, yes, but I didn’t buy it to text, I bought it because it’s rugged!! I just this afternoon fished my phone out of a canal close by my house where I had been kayaking and accidentally forgot it was on the outside of my pocket. It was there over night and I went back this morning and snorkeled and found it. I was just wanting my sim card as I figured no way in the world it could be any good anymore. Well it was dead and had gotten a small amount of fresh water in it so I figured open it up, dry it out, see what happens. The phone works great!!!!! I have nothing to say bad about it. It does what I bought it for. If you want a smart phone, BUY A SMART PHONE!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • SoulDaddy

    I just got a RII and I’m less impressed with it from a call usage and call quality standpoint. But it might be made up for if I can take it out surfing with me.

    Is there a reason why I wouldn’t be able to do this? Other than other people in the water wanting (understandably) to drown me?

  • Amiga1Rulez

    There is a little button on the right hand side of the main central button, with 2 rectangles on it as the symbol, shoing one superimposed over the other.
    Click it till you are ove r the bit saying music.
    Hit play. It will now playon once you close the phone.
    If you hav enot already done so, go to settings/application settings/music/play mode and change the preferences to Shuffle on and then have fun.

  • Noyb

    piece of shit. put it on vibrate and when someone calls the speaker turns on, and they can hear everything! You can’t even hear them listening on the other end and the phone says the speaker is off. when you turn on the speaker it is a two way communication device only then do you know they have been listening. Don’t believe me? try this: disable all forwarding. disable call waiting. turn the volume all the way up. put he phone in silent mode. have your friend call you. see what happens!

  • Noyb

    piece of shit. put it on vibrate and when someone calls the speaker turns on, and they can hear everything! You can’t even hear them listening on the other end and the phone says the speaker is off. when you turn on the speaker it is a two way communication device only then do you know they have been listening. Don’t believe me? try this: disable all forwarding. disable call waiting. turn the volume all the way up. put he phone in silent mode. have your friend call you. see what happens!

  • Panamadrmz

    I have had now my second rugby and happy with both of them. I want to be sure all my numbers are saved to my sims card how can I be sure of this so I do not loose my numbers when I remove this card and install one from another network??? It is unlocked and would like to use in central america also????

  • Kurt

    I too was wondering which of thectwo were better. Tundra seems to have major issues with the hing. Breaks a lot.
    So many people say…..

  • Midwest Monkey

    “Anyone who has one knows this.” I never had that problem and I’ve had my Rugby II for several months now. Yours was probably a factory defect or possibly some floor model that was messed with and abused before you got it.

  • Nev

    Pick the cap off, cut off the peg, replace the cap.

Atari Fit Let’s You Unlock Classic Atari Games for Exercising

Atari Fit Let’s You Unlock Classic Atari Gam…

Kristofer Brozio
So it seems Atari is coming out with their own fitness app called Atari Fit in early 2015. The cool…
Read More
4 days agoAtari Fit Let’s You Unlock Classic Atari Gam…
Sideshow Collectibles Taking Pre-Orders for Amazing Looking 1/4 Scale Boba Fett Figure

Sideshow Collectibles Taking Pre-Orders for Amazin…

Kristofer Brozio
I have to admit this collectible figure looks just amazing and if I had the extra cash I’d love to g…
Read More
5 days agoSideshow Collectibles Taking Pre-Orders for Amazin…
Archie Comics Relaunches with New ARCHIE #1 Next Year

Archie Comics Relaunches with New ARCHIE #1 Next Y…

Kristofer Brozio
I never got into Archie comics, I was more into sci-fi and fantasy and super heroes and such but I d…
Read More
5 days agoArchie Comics Relaunches with New ARCHIE #1 Next Y…
Dish Network Integrates Netflix Into Set-Top Boxes

Dish Network Integrates Netflix Into Set-Top Boxes

Kristofer Brozio
Now this is cool, Dish has become the first pay TV or cable company as it were to integrate Netflix…
Read More
5 days agoDish Network Integrates Netflix Into Set-Top Boxes
Shazam for Windows Phone Gets an Update with Cortana Support and More

Shazam for Windows Phone Gets an Update with Corta…

Kristofer Brozio
I do miss my Windows Phones, I had two of them, but I went back to Android because there’s just more…
Read More
5 days agoShazam for Windows Phone Gets an Update with Corta…