Samsung Propel SGH-a767


TestFreaks Data











DSCF9122

Ah cellphones, I love them, they come in all shapes and sizes, most with too many features to count. I personally think it’s great for the consumer with all of these companies trying to one up their competition as we get the most features for our cash, and it seems they just keep adding more and more of them.

So, it’s time for yet another cellphone review, this time I’ve got another from our friends over at Samsung called the Propel. It’s a slider phone of a different sort as when you slide it you reveal a full QWERTY keyboard to make sending text messages and overall text input much easier. The Propel is a fairly lightweight phone even though it is rather large, it’s got excellent call quality, great battery life and it even takes good pictures. It’s an all around great little phone that anyone who types a lot will appreciate and even if you don’t I think you’ll like having a full keyboard only a slide away.

So continue on for a few videos and a bunch of pictures as well…

First up we’ve got the video unboxing for you:

Specifications:

Samsung Propel SGH-a767

get the word out
The SAMSUNG Propel is the slider that makes communication easy. Just slide open up this stylish phone and slide open the possibilities, from texting to email to Instant Messaging – all simplified thanks to a full QWERTY keyboard. The Propel is also packed with fun features like high-speed multimedia access, full Web browsing, AT&T Mobile Music, AT&T Navigator and much more. So slide open the SAMSUNG Propel™ and get the word out like never before.
<

Band Quad-Band: GSM 850/900/1800/1900MHz
Weight     3.79 ounces
Dimension (HXWXD) 3.85” x 2.33” x .58”

Display 65k Color TFT Screen
Size     220 x 176

Talk time Up to 5 hours
Standby Up to 250 hours

That’s the basic specs, you can go over HERE and read the full specs on the Sasmung website if you wish.


Here’s a video of the Samsung Propel interface:

Of course as with any ATT cellphone you’ll find the garbage on there with ATT trying to sell you something, someday, I can only hope, that they’ll actually listen to consumers and reviewers that we don’t like that junk in our faces, but until then I’ll just keep complaining I guess…

Despite the bloat the interface works well and the shortcut keys and directional pad on the top half of the phone allow for quick and easy navigation once you get accustomed to them and their use.

So I’m on the AT&T Network, the main reason of course is that reception in my area is excellent compared to the other carriers, so I did not have any problems with signal strength or quality of the signal.

Call quality was perfect for me when making calls and everyone I spoke to said I sounded very clear. I used the Propel with my Jawabone2 and it worked flawlessly after it was paired once, the Propel recognized as soon as I turned it on every time. People I spoke to while using the Jawbone could not tell the difference from when I was not using it. The Bluetooth range seems very good as I can easily walk into the other room and talk with no dropouts.

Using the keyboard is fine, the letters seem to be spaced a bit farther apart than on other keyboards I’ve used, which is a good thing. The main reason for the farther apart spacing is of course that Samsung didn’t cram all kinds of functions onto the keyboard and numerous other keys, it’s simple and it works great for texting and general text input.

Another small complaint I could have is that the doors for the charging jack and microSD slot on the sides seem a bit fragile, they seem like they’ll break fairly easily if you’re not careful with them, they’re very tiny and are a bit hard to access without fingernails.

The battery life with the Propel seems fine, a little better than the rated actually, I got the rated talk time out of it even with Bluetooth on most of the time.

The Propel doesn’t have GPS, but you can use ATT Navigator with it if you wish to pay for it.

Overall it’s a very usable phone and even if you don’t text a lot you’ll appreciate the full keyboard to make any kinds of test input that much easier. The Propel is a plastic phone making it lightweight, it’s fairly thin actually, but still quite large compared to others. Personally I don’t mind the size, I much prefer larger styles of phones as it’s nice to feel the heft of it in your hands. My main phone, as I’ve mentioned before, is the ATT Tilt, it’s a large heavy phone and the Propel is smaller and lighter by comparison.
Here’s a quick demo of the video camera in action:

Video camera does have zoom but that doesn’t make up for the badly pixellated images..

Here’s a bunch of sample pics I took with the Propel, including one of myself and my workspace:

Photo003  Photo030 Photo032 Photo034 Photo036 Photo037 Photo038 Photo040 Photo041 Photo042 Photo043 Photo044 Photo045 Photo047 Photo015

The still pics are actually pretty good, unless of course you get very close, even in low light they’re not too bad.

Image Gallery:


DSCF9065 DSCF9069 DSCF9070 DSCF9071 DSCF9075 DSCF9078 DSCF9079 DSCF9082 DSCF9095 DSCF9100 DSCF9112 DSCF9122 DSCF9056 DSCF9059 DSCF9060

You can find more Samsung Propel and other cellphone reviews over at our main site HERE

Conclusion:
I wasn’t expecting much from this phone really, I just thought it was just another wanna be PDA style phone, but I was pleasantly surprised by it.

It looks great, it’s easy to use, call quality is excellent, the battery life is very good and it even takes good pictures.

So if you’re looking for a basic phone that’s got some great qualities and features I can easily recommend you take a look at the Propel from Samsung.

Pros:
Excellent call quality
Easy to type on keyboard
Good battery life
Overall a very good and useful phone
Decent still pictures

Cons:
Video camera is low quality
Fairly large phone

Grades:  
Overall score-9-10
Design score-10-10
Performance score-9-10
  • Pingback: Samsung Propel SGH-a767 @b technogog.com | dsmTechNews()

  • amanda

    the propel is the best fone in the world i lov it

  • Roger

    I agree with the expert review for the most part, very nice phone overall and it looks sleek. Just one con for me: If you doing any browsing or use the bluetooth, you will drain the battery in a day easily. Make sure you keep the charger handy and I would highly recommend a car charger.

  • kera

    what companies is it under so far? and can you buy it unlocked from somewhere?

  • jenn

    this is a great phone. I have many many cell phones to compare it to. I didn’t think i would love it as much as i do. i was a bit worried about it only having a 1.3 camera compared to most of my other phones that have a 2 mega pixel camers. But i was pleasantly suprised and it takes great pics. And i just gave birth to my daughter two weeks ago so i have taken a ton of pics and all of them…fabulous!!.
    i recommend this phone…highly!!! I love to switch my cellphones but will be sticking with this one for a long time! There is one thing i might be doing wrong … but under the message setting (to change the message tone) it says you can pick other tone well normally that means u can take one of your ringtones u downloaded from att to use as the message alert/tone. i can’t seem to do that. it’s only letting me pick the already ones in the phone. anyone figure out how to bypass and use a ringtone or is it the phone ones only??

  • Flori

    the phone is compatible with Centennial in Puerto Rico.

  • Katie

    Will this be available with US Cellular anytime soon? I REALLY REALLY want it but its exclusively at AT&T.

  • John

    I don’t have this phone yet, but planning on getting it and it sounds cool. I have a Blackberry Pearl right now they are good phones, but they seem to die down very fast. I have went though two of them in the past year. I hope this is a good phone and is most likely the most thin full keyboard phone out on AT&T. All the good full keyboards go to verizon which I think is sorta unfair to the rest of the companies such as AT&T and T-mobile.

  • Robert

    I LOVE the phone, but the battery life on mine is horrid.

  • caitlin

    I’m addicted to this phone, but the battery life is terrible!

  • taylor

    excuse me, if you are talking to someone on this phone..like on the phone with them, how do you read incoming text messages?

    please respond to my e-mail, its cheesy because my cousin made it but please respond:
    i_love_basketball12@yahoo.com

    Please and Thank You,
    -Taylor.

  • fthomas

    TAYLOR!!

    last night i just got this phone and yeah while i was on the phone i was like how in the world do i check my messages and stuff? you click the side button right above where you put your charger..and you scroll over to messages!

  • allison

    Ok, so i can answer your question about message tones. go to settings, sound profile, then u can choose your setting, mine is set to “normal” so just check normal if it isnt already, then hit edit. at the top u will see call, message, phone. scroll over to “message”. scroll down to “message alert tone” and hit “change”. scroll all the way down to “other tones” and select that. it should pull up all your tones on your phone. choose the one u want and the hit select. then hit “save”. then if it says anything else like save to “normal” or whatever, just hit ok or save. that should work. if not, google “change text tone on a samsun propel” and u will get instructions that way. that is how i found these instructions. it worked for me.

  • allison

    a possible solution to the battery life of this phone. if u do not use your bluetooth, make sure that it is turned OFF and also turn off the “discoverable”. if it is on, it tends to run your battery down a lot faster.

  • allison

    This has been the absolute BEST phone EVER!!

  • Jordan

    The only complaint i have, is you CANNOT text while your on the phone. You can send a message to someone, but you can’t recieve them, or look at your text message inbox.

  • ABlindManSees

    So, here’s the problem I’ve run into with the Propel, and hopefully someone can help me…
    I took mp3 files and spliced them so that I got a 20sec sound byte. The files are still 4m or so on average even though it’s only 20s of song. Because of that, when I try to use the bytes as a ringtone it says that the file is too big… suggestions?

  • Meghan

    I am getting mine on tuesday, I was glad to hear that it is a good phone I didn’t really know a whole lot about it when I ordered it, it was free with a 2 year contract at AT&T. I’m glad to hear that the only real complaints about it is that you can’t text when you are on the phone and that it is big, because I actually wanted something larger, i don’t like the little bitty phones and I origanlly wanted a blackberry but when I found out it was required to have internet access I was bummed because I didn’t want to pay an extra $45 a month for something I never use… so i decided to get this one, thanks for the help guys :)

  • ivy

    to answer Taylor and Jordan’s comment –
    you CAN view received messages while on a phone call with someone!! i just figured it out cuz it was bothering me too..
    while on a phone call just press the Shortcut Key which is located on the right side of the propel above the slot where you insert the charger plug into your phone. When you press that shortcut key during a phone call, you choose messaging (the second icon) and you can view the text message you just received!! and you can compose texts too while on a call using the same process.
    i was worried that there was a flaw with my samsung propel, but now that i discovered how to read texts while on a phone call, my propel is PERFECT again. best phone ever!

  • kassidi

    how do u send picture messages?? it just tells me that the connetion refused every time?? HELP??!!

  • LysaMydNyt

    I got the Matrix and I think I’m switching over to the Propel today.

    The Propel – has a Flash on the camera and Zoom, while the Matrix does not have (very needed) either. While I was laying down texting, I noticed that the Matrix is not balanced well for your hands so I dropped it a few times. The “select” button is on the sliding up screen so when you push it, you also push against the track that holds the screen out. Where you would normally put your hands to hold the phone while texting puts your fingers onto the camera glass — finger prints and scratching. Since the Propel has the camera hidden while closed, the glass should be safe from scratches while in your pocket. The Matrix camera glass is not protected at all.

    Although it has a speaker, the speaker is on the back of the Matrix unit, so if you are on speaker phone you have to hold the phone upside down. I know it might be a picky point, but holding a phone upside down (fingers holding the glass screen or over buttons that you can no longer see) just to point the speaker at yourself doesn’t work for me.

    I have read on many sites that the Matrix is missing the alert in case you miss a call. I had picked the Matrix over the Propel — while in the store they do not have a live model so there is no real way to see the font size on the screen — because the keys are so small on the Propel but even with much larger keys on the Matrix, they are hard to see on the Matrix. I think I could give up the hard to see keypad in exchange for the Propel having a “missed call alert.”

    I have also run into the problem that if I am filling out a form on the internet, I have to change over to the number pad and scroll through the 2 through 9 keys — WHAT THE HELL — I spent money to have a qwerty keyboard and it’s useless when I need it the most — on the internet signing into websites, etc.

    As for screen protection, the covers that are made for PDA’s can be cut to size. My local 99 Cent Store had them and now my phone screen is covered.

    With so many complaints on the internet of Matrix breakage record, now I’m just scared to have it longer than today. I just wonder why the guy pushed this one on me with as much enthusiasm as he did.

    So far, the biggest disappointment with all newer AT&T phones is that they are missing the “voice command” or “voice dial” that was on my old D307 model. I could even “voice to text” and email out to people without having to type much. The phone listed that have these features are either running on the super expensive PDA plans or are phones without full or even partial qwerty keyboards.

    I hated that on my D307, I could only internet with the phone in the regular flipped out direction which had me hostage to the 2 through 9 keypad. Now I have the Matrix and I have the same damn problem.

  • Ray

    Ivy good looking out I was thinking that was a flaw…….

  • Tony

    On one hand I’m surprised at the low price of the phone for the features, Samsung layout, etc. but when you talk to anyone in the UK/overseas, etc. the US phone market LAGS the rest of the world’s phones. For example, why only 1.3 Megapixels on this phone? My motorola from 5 years ago had comperable features and 2.1 Megapixel camera! I know, cost, cost, cost you say. Why not at least a 1GIG memory card, too? Its ok – AT&T have 2 years to come up with better, since that’s the length of time it takes to get an equipment credit for an upgrade.

  • Joe

    If your ringtone is too large to be used for the phone, you need to download a program to reduce the bitrate (and thus quality) of the audio file. The speaker on this isn’t really good enough to make a noticeable difference. I changed by down to 90 (from about 160) and it still sounds fine and cut down on the size of the file. Also, there’s no way you have a 20 second sound clip that is 4 Mb… switch it to mp3 (also another easily downloadable program) if it is not already in mp3 format.

  • Reenie

    How do you make the picture ID larger for incoming calls? I cannot figure it out.

  • Pingback: Samsung Propel Unboxing - AT&T()

  • Pingback: Samsung Propel Unboxing - AT&T | dsmTechNews()

  • Joe

    Okay this might be a weird question, and I can’t find any answers to it anywhere so far on the web, and Samsung hasn’t responded to my request. My text messages started, out of nowhere, storing themselves onto my SIM card instead of the phone, as default. I’m not saving them or anything, it’s just where they are stored as soon as they are received by my phone. This brings my limit down from about 200 to 30. Has this happened to anyone else? Any suggestions?

  • 890

    Does it cost extra to instant message?

  • Cary

    Has anyone had people complaining of a buzzing noise while tallking on their Propel? I can’t hear it, but often when I talk to my husband on either my or my daughter’s propel, he hears a loud “electronic bumblebee.” Also, when I talk to other people, they often ask if I can hear them. I’m thinking they hear the same interference. Everything else about the phone is great, though.

  • Dawn

    i just got the propel today after a few wk disaster with the pantech matrix and pantech slate. i like it so far however i’m disappointed that i cant log on to both aim and yahoo at the same time. :( any suggestions??

  • Keisha

    O.k so I have had my propel for about 3 months and love it. only thing I am having trouble with is finding a way to get my pictures off the phone and onto my pc. I bought a data cable hoping that would work. it didnt. i also tried to send it through my messages to snapfish but where it went I have no clue…any ideas? email me at klazzara02@yahoo.com

  • Sarah

    I am having the same issue with the text messages storing to the sim card instead of the phone. It happened randomly and I cannot figure out how to change the setting. I have also had no response from Samsung about this issue. The only setting I can find is to manually move the message from the sim card to the phone once it has been received but this is a huge hassle.

  • Cindy

    Hi, please help. I love this phone. However, having issues w/the calendar. If I try to set myself a reminder, it seems I need to do in Calendar in order to have an alarm. In order to have an alarm sound it seems I need to do in “appointment.” Now when I try to save the appointment, it says the end date has to be past the start date. WHY? Does anyone have a meeting that’s one day long? Sometimes, I can set an appointment and don’t need to set the end date but only if I don’t scroll past end date to set that alarm. Any help please. This is one of the features I use alot. Please reply via email cindersclp@yahoo.com. Thank you!!

  • Monica

    Hi…please help….how do you read a text message while talking on this phone?

  • Cindy

    Monica, button on the side of the phone, on the right as you are looking at the phone.

  • Monica

    Thank you Cindy :)

  • Tyler

    Jenn, if you are still trying to figure it out, make sure that under your sound profile you have the Message Alert Type as Melody. Below that, the Message Alert Tone will have several tones then “Other.” Make sure to select Other, and that will SHOULD allow you to access your downloaded ringtones.
    I really like this phone, but I’ve had it since it came out, and it is getting a little annoying. I don’t know how common the problem is, but my center button to select things doesn’t always work, and I haven’t dropped it much either. I can’t figure out how to fix it, and it just seems to work when my phone’s in “a good mood”

  • Cat

    I’ve had the same problem with the text messaging. I jsut got my phone 4 days ago, but two days ago i started not getting my messages. My friend fixed that the next day, but ever since then, it’s been saving to my SIM card, not the phone. We didn’t change anything, and I can’t figure out how to change it back. There’s nothing about this in the instruction manual. I took it to AT&T today, and they said “that’s just what your phone does”. Any answers?

  • DT

    I’ve had the phone for two months and have been pleasantly surprised. I really like it. I do echo the battery woes. I actually bought a spare to carry. Making the “caller picture ID” larger would also be good.
    I’ve had good success with creating ringtones using “Ring Factory”. I found it at Target for $4.99. Has anyone used the audio adapter? I’m not a fan of blue tooth but the audio adapter locks the keyboard and automatically calls the last number dialed when plugged into the phone. (just wondering if its just me and my phone). Also here’s a good website for mobile users. (sites fit on the small screen: http://pda.ceoexpress.com )
    very handy for those who travel or want a quick news/sports/business update.
    Thanks in advance for your feedback.

    DT

  • Sandeep

    I got the proper yesterday. The first thing I tried is to use the speaker phone, and it is horrible.
    There is chirping noise in the background all the time. Especially when I am talking to my wife and we are both on our propel speakerphones…Will probably return it soon.

  • dawna

    HELPPPPPP!!!!! Where is the flash options for this phone. I’v looked everywhere and can’t seem to find it

  • Lori

    i like my propell, but, cant figure out how to send pictures to a email address, and where is the flash for the camera?

  • Liz

    Dawna, I don’t think there is a flash option. I’m sure someone will correct me if I am wrong. :)

  • Kelly.

    I’ve had my propel for Four months now, and I love it For the most part.
    However, there’s a few flaws.
    I am a heavy textmessager, about 500 daily, And the 1 and 3 buttons
    have worn off! Also, It has a mind of its own with my outbox.
    It says i’ve forwarded a text message to about ten people,
    even though only ONE person got it.
    This happens at random times and with random
    text messages.

  • Sara

    Help…I just got my propel and I can’t figure out how to turn off the key board tone beep without turning off the ring tone. I can only seem to silence the entire phone off in order to not have the key pad beep. Does anyone know how to do this?

  • karen

    When charging the battery, mine never says ‘battery full’. Is there an alert that would indicate that? I came to samsung from the nokia world where, when a battery was fully charged, it would indicate so..
    Please advise.
    Thanks

  • caroline

    ok ive had the propel for a little and when im on the phone i cant read thee text messages i get.how do you do it?

  • K

    “I’ve had the same problem with the text messaging. I jsut got my phone 4 days ago, but two days ago i started not getting my messages. My friend fixed that the next day, but ever since then, it’s been saving to my SIM card, not the phone. We didn’t change anything, and I can’t figure out how to change it back. There’s nothing about this in the instruction manual. I took it to AT&T today, and they said “that’s just what your phone does”. Any answers?”

    I have this prob too. I have talked endlessly to At&T AND Samsung, and both of them are bewildered..they tried to give me the same excuse..nice try, but my husband has a propel and all
    of his texts go directly to his phone, not his Sim..mine used to and just randomly started going to my sim..If anyone has an answer to this, please post. Thanks!

  • mitchell

    How do I shut the key clicks off without silencing the whole phone??

  • Peggy

    For those of you wanting to silence the keyboard this is how I did mine without muting or shutting off all sounds on the phone. First you go to your Menu, then Settings, Sound Profile, then a list comes up that should say Normal, Silent, Driving or Outdoor, pick one of those. I have mine set on Normal. Once you click on one of those there should be 3 tabs that say Call, Message and Phone. Use the right button on the middle wheel to move over to the Phone tab. The first option under this is the Keypad Tone button, here you push the middle button on the phone to change. You then have the option to set it to beep, xylophone or mute. I have mine on mute and my keyboard makes no sound when I’m using it. Then be sure to save changes and you should be all set.

  • levi and some people call me jeans

    i have had yet to get this phone, but i think that the people having the bad issues with the battery power is because they use bluetooths. i want to get this phone in green and black. and the talking receiver is also the one that projects your voice too. that might be why the noise is sometimes. i love the idea of the keyboard that slides up. the screen doesn’t seem too bad, like most reviews on other sites said it did. i’ll be exited when my birthday comes…:)

  • andy

    I just got the propel and the i’ve followed peggy’s directions except under the phone tab in normal mode, fo rthe keypad tone options it only lists beep and glossy… no mute or silent, anyone have a solution? I’d like to have the keypad silent when pressing keys but not totally silence the whole phone.

  • tiffany

    I love this phone. Ive had it for 4 months and i have NO complaints. Does anyone know how to make the caller id picture larger?

  • Casey

    How do I assign pics to saved contacts? I have numerous people saved in my address book. But when I open a picture through My Stuff > Graphics, then go Options > Set As > Caller ID > Contact List, none of the people in my address book show up.

  • Josh

    So I assume no one has found a way to make the caller id picture bigger… The pictures on this phone are great. There is no flash, but there’s no need since you can adjust the lighting when taking the picture. If you put the phone on vibrate with the bottom right button, it wont beep when you text and it will vibrate when you get a call or text…Pretty sure that’s your only option. You set the caller ID the way you said, Casey, and all your contacts should show up in the last move.

  • eric

    So!
    Any solution to silence the keypad?
    I need this urgently
    Tkz

  • christy

    I have a samsung propel SGH-a767. when I download games from a free site the game screen is to large and you can only see half of the game. I know that you can change the size of the screen while you are connected to the internet but not in the game section. Any suggestions would help. I can download the same games on my nokia 6555 and see the whole game but on this propel only see half of it….PLEASE HELP!!!

  • anonomous

    I found a way to silence the keypad. Go into Settings / Sound Profile / Normal / go to the Phone tab and once there scroll down till you find the Phone Sound Volume option and turn it all the way off.

  • Sader gator

    Okay, listen up everybody. if you’ve been complaining the phone saving your messages to your sim. This could get annoying, but it’s worth it. Go to your message and click options. Go all the way down in the options panel, and it says more. Click it, and it says move to phone. You have to do it one by one, as far as I know. Hope that helps! Ps. If you figure out how to do it like, not one by one, please tell me!

  • Katy

    Hi guys! Just a quick question. When i recieve multi-page texts from someone, I can’t figure out how to view all the pages of the text; I can only view the first one. It only comes as a single text and there’s only so far i can scroll down. Thank you!

  • hannah

    i own a blue and black samsung propel that i got 4 months ago and i am soooooo satisfied i would recommend to anyone NO complaints. havent had any trouble w/my txts being saved to my sim i would recomend reseting the phone

  • Samsung

    Hi,
    Well after purchasing the Samsubg mobile now i have lot of knowledge about good products of Samsung.

  • dyno63

    i can not get the downloads to work it prompts file unsupported help

  • Brad

    My propel does not have any problems with texts being saved to the sim or keypad beeps. It DOES start out saving to my sim, but when it is full, they automatically save to the phone. I find that kind of odd, but not an issue. If you explore the options a little bit, it’s not hard to find the option to silence the keypad in your sound profiles. The battery lasts for 3-5 days, but I don’t use bluetooth. My speakerphone works excellent, never had any complaints of buzzing or any of the other noises mentioned. The things I don’t like are the fact that there is no “abc” on the number keys so calling 800 numbers that are advertised as names is difficult and the fact that I can’t lock the phone from accessing the internet. Not having a data plan, accidentally going to the internet costs money! The doors on the micro SD port and the charging port ARE very flimsy, so excersice extreme caution with them open.

    I would reccomend this phone to anyone that texts a lot, as the keyboard excells in that department, or anyone that DOESN’T want a full qwerty, as I believe this phone will change your mind!

    Very inexpensive phone with tons of features and flexibility!

  • sheena6073

    Does anyone know how to change the background color on this phone? is there a skin option? i’ve been looking and looking and cant seem to figure it out

  • Piacares

    I took some pictures with this camera without the memory stick, I purchased the USB for the commputer, but I am still not able to download the pictures to the computer. HELP! I went to the Samsung site and downloaded some software but nothing.

  • Alondra!

    i need help trying to figure out why my phone wont send picture messages? when i try it just says ” Sending failed..Network settings unavailable” it used to let me but i don’t know whats wrong with it now. BTW i send my pictures to my email. that is how i get them on the computer;; i have tried with the usb cord but it does not work. i just cant find another solution. HELP Please!

  • GRRREAT FONE!!!

    I think the size of this phone is very good. Not too big nor small. Looks great and durable. Has a great slider to protect the keys. Very easy to use, even without reading the instructions. I just got this Samsung Propel 3 days ago. Has more than what I expected. The only problem is that the ring tone is a bit low. And just have to get use to that little key board. I am glad I got this phone. And I still highly recommend it.

  • eric

    Hello,

    Anyone find a way to run java midlets on this phone?
    I tried and tried but couldn’t run anything ,games or else!
    Please help

  • manda

    Kassidi & Great phone, your problem is simply you dont have a data plan, and pictures are data.
    ive got a problem of my own thoughh.
    i recently dropped my phone in water & now it dials randomly & the key lights do not turn off when the phone is shut & the screen goes black (only when i turn off my phone will it turn off)
    does anyone know how to turn off the keylights manually?

  • HAWKWIND

    MP3 files must be under 300 KB to be used as a ringtone. Quality is not a priority since the ringtones are coming out of the little speaker on the phone. Converting your MP3 clips to MONO will immediately cut their size in half. Using a 48 Kbps 44100 Hz Mono setting seems to work and sound just fine for ringtones on this phone.

  • ghunter8

    how do you change the ‘skin’ color on the phone HHHHHHHHHHHEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLLLPPPPPPPPP! other than that the phone is amazing

  • Anonymous

    Go to display settings and change the color

  • Jillbert

    So for the complaints I have seen about not being able to text while on the internet or talking on the phone, I found a simple solution. While on the internet or talking if you look at the right side of your phone there should be a little button with some funky picture on it. Anyways, just push it and some options will pop up and your inbox will be one of these and you can send and receive text.
    yup yup. :D

  • Sol

    excelent phone!!! i won’t change it!. NO COMPLAINS.

  • cheche

    this phone rox and you can do as many calls as you want at once and 1.3 mega pixels is alot this phone rox!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!wooooooooohooooooo

  • ads

    Hi
    I’ve had the Samsung Propel for about a month. Haven’t read the instructions yet, but it’s been working out pretty well.
    I’m a stickler about appointments, and want my phone to alarm me when I have an appointment, and haven’t figured this out yet. I hit calendar, and then I have to pick certain options: event, appointment, etc, but it won’t alarm me – HELP!

  • zoe

    hey guys okay so im majorly ocd and there is a little L pretty much EVERYWHERE on my phone its like very annoying to me and i was wondering what it means/ what its forrr. can someone tell mee??? thanks guy

    OHHHH and another question… how come my texts keep on like having some orange thing on itt. haha THANKSS

  • gerald flores

    Why is it that when i send mp3 ring tones to my phone it sends them to my music instead of my ring tones. How do i get them to to to my ring tones?

  • dylan

    why cant i send or receive picture messages? It always says retrieving failed or no connection

  • jen

    If this is the free phone i got with my AT & T plan do I have to send in (mail) some sort of warranty info for it to be covered? If not…anyone have any idea how long this phone is covered by AT & T if something goes wrong with it?

  • jen

    do these phones scratch pretty easily? Mine is powder blue….if so, where is the best place online to get a protective case for the best price?

  • Jerry

    I purchased one in May 09 and it locked up and wouldn’t turn on so I received my replacement Aug 12, 2009. Next, Aug 31, 2009 my phone start randonly redial the last number i called so I’m upset with the phone. I just want a phone that works!

  • jen

    Jerry, did they require that you have sent in warranty info to get replacement phone or did you just have to send receipt of where you got phone or what ….to get replacement. TOTAL downer that all that stuff happened to your phone!!!

  • jen

    did u pay full price for it or did u get discount…or free phone from renewing your contract?

  • Martin

    Very Cool phone. I’ve been trying to find how to make incoming calls (caller ID) pics larger.

  • KC

    Hey guys.
    Four things:

    1) On my old phone, I used to switch between three “sound profiles” all the time: silent, vibrate, and ring. However, I can’t figure out a way to do this on the propel without changing the settings of the “silent” profile every single time. (The silent profile is the only one that has a “vibrate only” and a “mute” or true silent option, so apparently I can’t set one profile to be vibrate, (no noise), and another one to be completely silent.) So annoying? Am I the only one who likes to switch between these three simple profiles? What if I only like to have my phone on vibrate while driving for example? Help!

    2) The text messaging interface seems really silly to me. Does anyone know the best way to set it up? I can’t even scroll through messages someone has just sent me without pressing the “back” button first.

    3) Is it possible to change the soft keys from “vison” and “music” (on rogers). This is so useless.

    4) To me it seems like 99% of other phones have this option: I want my phone to make a little ringy noise when I get a text message, then a different, short “beep” periodically to let me know I have a message. There is a “periodic” function, but it keeps ringing the same ring, so if I was sitting across the room from my phone I would think that I got a second text message instead of my phone is just reminding me that I have one. This is so silly!

    All answers are appreciated thanks for your help!

  • marissa

    Hello,

    I’m curious about two things. When you send someone a text message, can you tell when it’s been read? Also, if you have the internet blocked on the phone, can you still send picture messages through the text messaging function? Or do they have to go through the web?

  • Ken

    You can download your photos to your PC with a data cable and the Samsung PC Studio software. By default, my phone was set to Connectivity>Select USB Mode>Media Player. That needs to be changed to PC Studio or Ask on Connection. Then you can use the Phone Explorer to download or upload photos, sounds, etc. This is how I update my calendar too.

    I got the white and red version. Love the retro look.

  • Ken

    KC, there is a mute button on the keyboard. I also set the sound profiles to a shortcut key to easily switch between them. My old Samsung had a key on the side that made that easier, I do miss that.

  • Mary

    Help? Why does an orange icon sometimes appear in the open envelope of incoming messages. I can’t seem to figure out why this happens when say one person sends me 5 texts in a day and it only appears on one? Any help?

  • Zubin Ali

    I’m having problems using mp3’s i’ve sent to myself from ring tone creating websites :S It’s only letting me use them as an alarm, and they’re all under 300kb, one of which is only 118. I have the A766, help! I need a better ringtone

  • suckerfree

    i love my samsung propel
    only proplem is i cant seeem to figure out how to change my data profile from WAP to WEB
    if anyone knws please help
    thxx :)

  • Crystal

    Ok couple of questions… changing text message tones to a ringtone you already downloaded yes/no or do you have to download “text tones”?

    Anybody have any idea how to make to caller id photos bigger? It is driving me crazy.

    Thanks.

  • lynn

    okay i have had this phone for about a month and it just started saving my textes to my sim card i fix it no you dont need to reset your setting because i tried that if you have aim, yahoo, or hotmail get on the messanger sent yourself a bunch of stupid point less messages to fill up ur inbox once you hit about 90 on your phone it resets to saving them on the phone thats what the phone does once it gets full for one place it moves to the next memory spot it has so go fill up your inboxes

  • c

    geez im not even gonna keep reading after the first vid where the dude said the phone doesn’t allow you to use sim contacts, and These people are going to tell me things i don’t know?!

    so correction for this… (note you can’t select addy book from options menu, have to select addy book from the main menu…. then towards the bottom you will see address book settings. option 3 from there (on mine) is view contacts from…. change this from phone to all (for both sim and phone) or to sim (as i have mine). your phone book is now viewable regardless how you got it setup …

    now if you do this dont forget to ensure the setting for where new contacts are saved is correct… back in the addy book settings choose option 2, save new contacts to … and select where you want them to go or if you want it to prompt you each time.

    to casey on may 5. the contacts must be in the phone memory, not the sim memory. ensure all the contacts you want are on your sim, and continue to add new ones to your sim if thats how you want it. set the addy book option to view contacts only from sim. now create a duplicate addy entry for anyone you want a pic for (stored on the phone, of course). you will never see this duplicate entry and when they call it will pull the caller id photo for you.

    for the text sounds and seemingly numerous questions about sound profiles… you may switch your phone to the silent, normal profiles, but there are other profiles… and each one can have special tones, volumes, can turn the keypad tone off.

    i’d suggest to put this in your options menu from main screen. for now, from main screen go to settings, then sound profile… this is where you can see the different profiles, and change it. but highlight one and hit the middle button and it will go to edit it for you. use left and right for tabs at top, up and down for options.

    look at the bottom of the screen, the phone will tell you what the top left, middle and top right buttons will do. geez.

    to suckerfree, this phone doesn’t do wifi. if you have another wap network you wanna put settings in go to the settings menu, connectivity, then network profiles (or settings, application settings, browser settings, browser profiles). another providers wap network may not work w/ this phone.

    mary, the orange envelope is just on top of the bottom right corner of the regular envelope? that means that message is on your sim card. if you put your sim into another phone that message would be viewable on the other phone. its ok.

    for sideloading or transferring files… pics/vids whatever. i just plug the usb into the computer and select mass storage on the phone. it opens like a thumbdrive (for the memory card at least)… keep the original file structure (the folders…music, tones/etc) and have at it. if you try to open something you put in there on your phone and it says its not compatible, there might be a reason for it. check the specifications on the phone for what you are trying to open.

    no, you can’t tell when texts you send are read. the recipients phone sends a got it message when they receive the text… lets the network know to stop trying to send it. You won’t be able to tell if a message fails, unless you get an error like if you sent it to a bad number. but any tech support would be able to see the message failed. otherwise, even if it sent success and was received, theres no read reply for regular texts.

    and for picture messaging, while i don’t know of any carriers who bill for the message and the data transfer (usually just a different message rate)… you do have to have internet capability. it can’t be restricted, although you aren’t billed for this specific internet use, the pic has to get off of your phone somehow.

    good luck. and don’t listen to these douchebags on this site. they dunno what they are doin.

  • Anonymous

    I Never Get ANY SIGNAL!!!!! EVER!!! THIS PHONE IS THE WORST!! I NEED HELP!!! If anyone knows how to help solve this signal solution problem let me know.

  • Marilyn

    I just got my propel a week ago. my only complaint is that I can’t seem to connect to my pc. The PC Suite does not recognize the phone. Any thoughts on this? I’ve tried everything I know.

  • ME

    How do you change the text message tone?

  • andrea

    This phone is extremely sensitive. Got less than a teaspoon of water on it 6 days after purchasing and it completely quit working (despite doing the bag of rice thing). I have a friend whose much cheaper phone fell to the bottom of her pool and it worked! I would not recommend getting this phone any where near moisture! Even sweat! I will never buy anything Samsung again!

  • BECCA

    OK SO MY PROBLEM BASICALLY IS I DOWNLOADED A RINGTONE FROM THE INTERNET ON MY PHONE ON IT APPEARS UNDER TONES WHEN I GO TO SETTINGS. HOWEVER, I WANTED TO CHANGE THAT TONE TO MY MESSAGE ALERT, BUT WHEN I GO UNDER SOUND PROFILE TO CHANGE IT, THE RINGTONE DOES NOT APPEAR UNDER THE OTHERS TONES OPTION FOR THE MESSAGE ALERT TONE. DOES ANYONE KNOW WHAT IM TALKING ABOUT?? IF SO, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE HELP ME!!!!!

  • Charity

    hi I just got the Propel a couple days ago and It was working fine then when I got a call later on I could hear the person talking but they couldn’t hear me at all. Now sometimes they can hear me and sometimes they can’t! it is so frustrating! And ideas on what it might be?

  • Pingback: Samsung Propel SGH-a767 Cell Phone – White Battery Performance: iGadget Life()

  • Pingback: Samsung Propel SGH-a767 Cell Phone – White: iGadget Life()

  • Twanda

    Hi ads

    1) Setting the ALARM with your CALENDAR EVENT. i have the samsung propel SGH-A767,
    i’m not sure which you have, but i keep scrolling down and the alarm tone is an option. just click the [check], while it’s highlited, Make sure you don’t have your phone on MUTE/VIBRATE.
    2) another tip. if you custom your navagation keys this helps a great deal.
    Menu>Settings>Phone>Shortcuts>
    i have TASKS to the left, My Stuff on the top, Calculator to the right, and Address Book on the bottom
    3) the little orange block on the messages, i think this is the 3G affect kicking in., it comes and goes, depending on the MMS (text) you have received. don’t be alarmed., make the sound. BOW-CHICKA-WOW-WOW, everytime you see it., and know your phone IS smarter than a 5th grader.
    4) theres is also a small key on the right side of your phone, (yes, it’s there, just look) this is your friend., name it., and put him/her to work , while you multi-task.
    5) last but not least….. unless you utilize your phone as a flashlight., there is NO need for all that brightness., tone it down., and save the battery.
    i hope i have been of some help to you. Be Blessed, Love and Peace, Twanda

  • Patti

    Is there any way to turn off the keyboard sounds when texting and not put your phone on silent? If anyone has a clue, please let me know. I love the Propel, except for the annoying texting tones.

  • Grondak

    My previous cellphone had an “auto-complete” feature when texting that I liked. It “learned” the words I commonly used and would suggest them as I typed. Is there a way to enable this on the Samsung Propel? The only auto-complete feature I can see is when it adds a period when I type 2 spaces, which I find annoying — is there a way to turn that off?

  • Grondak

    Patti, I can help…
    Click “Menu” (white dash on right)
    Go to “Settings” (gear shape in lower right)
    Select “Sound profile”
    Select “Normal” and press “Edit” (button in center of ring)
    Move to the “Phone” tab by pressing the right side of the ring twice
    Move down 4 items to “Keypad tone”
    Press “Change” (button in center of ring)
    Select “Mute”
    Press “Select” button (white dash on left)
    Press “Save” button (white dash on left)
    Press “Exit” (red phone handset icon at lower right)

  • Doominic

    I like it but I accidently locked my sim card and don’t know the passcode so I’m screwed:(((((

  • Ashley Jade

    I’ve had this phone for a while, but..I’ve been wondering- where it is a slider phone, could it be easy to break? Like, would the slider get weak and then eventually break off or something? I know, that’s probably a ridiculous question…but for some reason it always seems loose or something? So, I was just curious. Other than that concern, I love this phone. (:

  • Tina

    I use the alarms everyday for school pickups. I want to use my downloaded ring tones for these alarms but it only gives me the option for the horrible preloaded tones (or music my niece “bluetoothed” over). Has anyone discovered a way to use your downloads for alarms? Thank you!

  • Kara

    How do I access my Sim card?
    It says that it’s full, but I would like to know what’s on it besides my contacts. I have looked everywhere, but can’t seem to find that option.

    Thank you!

  • Kara

    How do I access my Sim card to see what’s on it?
    thanks!

  • Shannie

    I recently bought this phone from a friend that switched service providers. I am liking it so far with a few things that i wish were different. Texting: wish this phone had conversation mode to store messages.
    – i put my sd memory card in the slot, and it brings up the memory card icon on the top of the screen, but it won’t let me use my memory card. any help?!!
    i think that is the only problems i can think of right now.
    Thanks in advance for anyones help.

  • Natalie

    So my Propel is like, killing me. I got it exactly a year ago on valentines day, and about six months after I bought it the arrow keys, menu key, and option key completely stopped working. I didn’t have insurance on it, so I couldn’t take it back. I’m trying to take it apart now, six months after it stops working, and see if maybe its the wiring that’s messed up. The little water square thing that tells you if it got wet or not is only wet on the edges, because I was cleaning the dust off the inside with a wet q-tip. I really love my phone, and all my stuff is still on it. I would really love it if you could tell me how to fix it. Thankss(:

  • Dorthy

    I can’t make my propel ring very loud. I have tried both the default ring tones and have edited my own to put in. The default ring tones sound very loud when I sample them but when I save them and test them, they aren’t very loud. I have saved the settings for full volume (7 is the top of the scale) and have tried vibe and ring, just ring etc.. Nothing plays back nearly as loud as when it is sampled. Has anyone else experienced this?

  • karah

    this phone is amazing i never want to get a new one lol. the only problem i have is when it vibrates twice when u get a text or when it’s dying and it’s super loud. i got in trouble once in class because the battery was dying so it kept vibrating. it’s so worth it though.

  • Alex

    I LOVE this phone but i recently had to cancel internet because it was constantly randomly connecting to the internet. so now i have this problem i cant send or recieve pic msgs, is their still a way to recieve or send them, and also my battery life lasts less than a day and my phone is only 2 months old. I ALSO HAVE A MAJOR PROBLEM!!! when i cancelled internet i lost service i used to have full service sitting on my couch i live in the city. my mom has the same phone and she still does have internet and amazing service do i have to have internet to have good service? plz help!!!!!!!!

  • Sam

    For those of you still in school like I am, then perhaps the battery like is horrid because you use it in school. I have noticed that when my phone is on, not even texting, but just on in school, the battery is depleted much faster.

  • Erin…

    ok so iv had my phone for almst a year now and its ok. im not crazy about it. i think its kind of bulky and i seem to lose service and drop calls all the time. but what im wondering is, is there anyway i can change the color theme? im rly tired of the boring black and blue. a pro thats amazing is that this phone is the most durable phone iv ever had. i have thrown, kicked, stepped on, dropped and punted this phone and its not broken, sure its scratched but its not broken at all. i like it. but if some1 could answer my question id rly appreciate it. thanks!

  • Destinii

    How do I delete previously set alarms on my phone? I went to “clear all” and it asked for a password and idk my password. Help! drsturtz@hotmail.com

  • Joe

    I am unable to receive video messages buy I am able to send them…how do I fix this?

  • Brianna

    Alright, so I’ve had this phone for quite a bit, and i text message frequently on it. My problem is when i’m texting i sometimes need those extra symbols and whatnot. i.e “<" and whatnot, and sometimes it comes up accidently and i use the symbols then. Though i would really like to know how to make it come up when i need it. I figured it's Fn and something else but i just can't seem to figure it out. Also when i try to store messages sometimes, like the ones i'd like to keep. Some say move to phone, and i do, But i never know where they go! If you could message me back it would really help me out. Thanks.

  • Lanae

    I have this phone and Ihave only had a month or two and have already had to go out a buy a new charger. I took care of it but then all of a sudden it stopped working. I have had to call at&t a billion times because the internet stopped working and they told me it was the phone and they would send me another. I talked to a different person and they said my warranty was up and i couldn’t get one; Iwould have to BUY a new one. SO I decided to getthe internet turned off. When I did it messed up the texting. Before, I had unlimited text and talk and I could send pictures. After, I could text but they wouldn’t go to the people. It wouldn’t let me send the pictures also. I called and they had turned everything off. I got it turned back on but I still can’t send pictures. Basically, this phone is a piece of CRAP!!!

  • Savannah

    Heyy ; i love my new phone & i just got it ! I have a question how do you set one of your ringtone as an alert for a text message . Thanks

  • christine

    you know how you get a text and some one has a little thing that says something extra… like a template
    (example)
    i’m going to be late.

    hugs!! — and that goes on every text

    how do you do that? hope i made sense

  • Abby

    i’ve had this phone for about a year and been happy with it… i cant wait to get a new one because u get kinda bored with it but other than that i LOVEE this phonee!!!(:

  • DA GRINGO

    how can I install games on my samsung sgh- A767.I really like this phone and I don’t want to change it

  • Datta Nagar

    did you get the phone working?

  • Cjryan1225

    How can I get my pictures off my propel? I had my propel for 2 years and liked it for everything except web browsing. I got a new phone and I was able to import my contacts but not my pictures. I don’t have a USB for the Propel-don’t think it came with mine…Help!

  • fast eddie

    My sgh-A767 is telling me that my sim card is full. I can’t get to the sim card to delete sms messages. Under “my stuff” the “on card” category is grayed out. Any suggestions?

  • Ehsanmarques

    i had the exact same prob only thing to do is conect it to the pc and use the pc suite to get stuff off the cell , it didnt work for me tho cause i had a pssword on my samsung and u cant connect it to a pc withought being on the main page after u put in ur password lol

  • abby

    hey, this is for anyone who has trouble sending pictures. for the longest time i couldnt send pics but i KNOW i had it on my plan today i finally figured out what was wrong.:) if uve tried everything else and its still not working try this:

    1.go to your menu—> settings
    2. Scroll down to Connectivity and click it
    3. Go to Network Profiles
    4. scroll down to AT&T IMS and click options. there should be an option that says “restore” click it and type in a code. (usually it will take any random combination– make sure you remember it tho cuz it will ask you to do it again)
    5. after restoring it go back and go to IMS settings.
    6. click profile and select AT&T IMS

    this should get your picture messaging working again. it did for me, but then i couldnt send regular text messages so i had to
    1.go back to network profiles and then restore AT&T MMS
    2. Go back to IMS SETTINGS, click profile and change the settings back to AT&T MMS.

    then pictures still worked AND i could send and receive regular texts.

    hope this helps.

  • Eric

    Type your comment here
    I know this has nothing to do with your comment.. But does anybody know how to save your contacts to the sim card if the screen is broken? Like the button sequence to do it? Thanks!!

  • Blessg32

    please can you help to connect my

  • Frank10137

    i have the a767 for just over a year and all of a sudden ever once in a while i lose the speaker. If
    I go t o the speaker it is ok try to go back to ear piece nothing. I have noticed that if I place on charger to get full charge it will be ok. I have taken to AT&T and they check it and say it is OK I feel like a goof and it works for a few days and it goes out again. I don’t have the insurance so was wondering if anybody else had this problem and rectified it. I do like phone except for this.

  • http://www.ecigarettes365.com/ecigs ecigs

    Great review! I agree with the conclusion: I was pleasantly surprised by it as well!

  • daniel

    how do u turn off auto reply message i forgot and its getting annoying.

  • Paparoachfan2102

    yo man ive had this phone for 4 years and the only thing tht pisses me off is tht i cant change the voice mail message how du i change it 2 my recorded audio

Dish Network Integrates Netflix Into Set-Top Boxes

Dish Network Integrates Netflix Into Set-Top Boxes

Kristofer Brozio
Now this is cool, Dish has become the first pay TV or cable company as it were to integrate Netflix…
Read More
4 days agoDish Network Integrates Netflix Into Set-Top Boxes
Shazam for Windows Phone Gets an Update with Cortana Support and More

Shazam for Windows Phone Gets an Update with Corta…

Kristofer Brozio
I do miss my Windows Phones, I had two of them, but I went back to Android because there’s just more…
Read More
4 days agoShazam for Windows Phone Gets an Update with Corta…
Sideshow Collectibles Taking Pre-Orders for Amazing Looking 1/4 Scale Boba Fett Figure

Sideshow Collectibles Taking Pre-Orders for Amazin…

Kristofer Brozio
I have to admit this collectible figure looks just amazing and if I had the extra cash I’d love to g…
Read More
4 days agoSideshow Collectibles Taking Pre-Orders for Amazin…
Archie Comics Relaunches with New ARCHIE #1 Next Year

Archie Comics Relaunches with New ARCHIE #1 Next Y…

Kristofer Brozio
I never got into Archie comics, I was more into sci-fi and fantasy and super heroes and such but I d…
Read More
4 days agoArchie Comics Relaunches with New ARCHIE #1 Next Y…
Atari Fit Let’s You Unlock Classic Atari Games for Exercising

Atari Fit Let’s You Unlock Classic Atari Gam…

Kristofer Brozio
So it seems Atari is coming out with their own fitness app called Atari Fit in early 2015. The cool…
Read More
4 days agoAtari Fit Let’s You Unlock Classic Atari Gam…