Review of Pantech Pursuit


TestFreaks Data











pursuit8

Today for review I’ve got the new Pantech Pursuit for AT&T, this is a rather special phone in that it’s the first touch screen phone from Pantech and I have to say that I’m impressed with it overall. My first impression was that it actually reminded me of the Kin One, it’s shaped just like it, about the same size and it’s a slider, bit it’s totally different and unique. The interface actually reminds me of Android, but it’s not, but it works very similar to it in some respects like that it slides back and forth and you can add shortcuts and icons to the separate screens. Anyway, let’s continue on…


So we’ll start with the unboxing video and then move on to the pictures:

So it’s for AT&T and it comes in a small little box, in the box you’ll find a cd, documentation and a charger.

pursuit1 pursuit2

The Pursuit is small measuring 3.67 x 2.51 x 0.58 inches and weighing only 4.58 ounces. The display is 2.8 inches with a resolution of 320×240. On the front of th4e phone are three touch sensitive buttons for call, back and end call.

pursuit3 pursuit6 pursuit7

On the back of the phone is the 2Mp camera with 7x zoom that has a resolution up to 1600×1200 and can do Mpeg4 video.

pursuit4 pursuit5

The battery cover comes off to reveal the battery and the sim card slot:

pursuit12

It’s a slider phone that opens to reveal a nice sized QWERTY keyboard, unfortunately without a dedicated number line.

pursuit8 pursuit9 pursuit10 pursuit11

On the sides you’ll find microSD slot, USB port, power button, camera button and volume.

pursuit13 pursuit14 pursuit15 pursuit16

Specifications:

Pursuit

Pantech Pursuit is the device you’ve been waiting for.

The Pantech Pursuit has skills like you won’t believe. A fully touch-sensitive 2.8″ screen for access to messaging, Web, music, and plenty of cool tools and apps. Easy swipe to scroll between three home screens. Personalize one with your favorite apps, another with your favorite shortcuts. Make it your own! Drawing Commander lets you program simple shapes as shortcuts ? trace the shape on the screen and you’re there. Put a face with the name using Face Tag. Snap a pic, then enter info straight to your contact list. It’s that easy! It’s got a slide-out, QWERTY keypad, camera with video capability, AT&T Navigator for directions, and AT&T Social NetSM so you can stay connected and share what’s going on with all your crew. And it’s 3G enabled so everything happens fast. Be the envy of all your friends. Your world in touch.

MULTIMEDIA
* – Music Player for MP3, MIDI, iMelody, WAV, MMF, WMA, 3GPA
* – eMusic for syncing music from PC to phone
* – Create & Manage Playlists
* – AT&T Music music services, communities & apps.
* – MusicID music recognition service
* – Mobile Video fast, on-demand access to video clips
* – microSD Memory Port up to 32GB*
* – USB Mass Storage transfer files between phone & PC

*Upon memory card availability

CAMERA/VIDEO
* – Integrated 2MP Camera with 7x Zoom
* – Resolution up to 1600 x 1200
* – Self-Timer Function (5 or 10 seconds)
* – Mpeg4 Video Recording/Playing up to 15f/s (Qvga size)
* – Video Share: share a live or recorded video during a call
* – Customizable Resolution, Brightness, White Balance, Color Effects, Quality, Self-Timer

Display:
-Display size: 2.8 inches
-Resolution (pixels): 320 x 240
-Colors: 262K TFT LCD

Weight: 4.58 ounces
Talk Time: Up to 5 hours
Size (inches): 3.67 x 2.51 x 0.58 inches


The home screen is three panels, it uses panels similar to Android does, they can be moved right or left or back and forth and you can add or remove icons or shortcuts to apps etc.

pursuit17 pursuit38 pursuit39 pursuit40

The same goes for when you open the menu, you can move left and right to access what you need to:

pursuit19 pursuit20 pursuit21 pursuit30

There’s several games and application on the Pursuit, but as expected from AT&T, a lot of it is trial ware.

pursuit26 pursuit27 pursuit28 pursuit29

You can access your stuff though the My Stuff icon, or folder actually.

pursuit22

Under Settings of course you can change the phone settings and do things like calibrate the touch screen and get updates for the Pursuit.

pursuit23 pursuit24 pursuit25

The built-in media player works well, it’s rather cool actually, I like it..

pursuit37

Under Tools you’ll find many things like Media Player, Alarm Clock, Calendar, Notepad, Sketch Pad and Voice Memo.

pursuit32 pursuit33

One of the things under tools is Drawing Commander and I thought it was a drawing program, but it’s actually a way to make gesture based shortcuts.

pursuit34 pursuit35 pursuit36

Web browsing is nice and fast and the browser is basic but it works.

pursuit31

The screen might be small, but it’s clear and the colors are nice. There is a small issue with the screen, it doesn’t work well at all in direct sunlight, you can see it but you really have to strain to.

Call quality is very good, I had no issues at all. Well, I had one issue the phone is small and I much prefer a larger phone, other than that it works fine. The dialer is actually large and easy to use even though the screen is small.

pursuit42

Battery life is fine, I got the rated battery life while using the phone for calls, browsing and even Bluetooth being on a few times.

The camera as I mentioned earlier is 2mp. The on-screen display for the camera has several icons on it that are only visible for a short time, then they disappear to give you an unimpeded view.

pursuit43 pursuit44 pursuit45 pursuit46

Clicking options takes you to several pages with basic settings, and then some advanced ones as well.

pursuit47 pursuit48 pursuit49 pursuit50 pursuit51 pursuit52 pursuit53 pursuit54

On the main screen you can also select some special effect if you want to spice up your photos.

pursuit55

Here’s a few pictures I took outside. They’re taken from the County Courthouse Courtyard in downtown Pittsburgh PA. My son was in a marble competition and we did a lot of waiting so I played with phones, anyway here’s a few pictures I took. It’s wasn’t exactly sunny, more overcast, but it was fairly bright.

pursuit56 pursuit57 pursuit58 pursuit59

Here’s a few I took indoors as well, they’re not as good as the ones taken outside, you really have to hold the phone very still to get a clear picture.

pursuit60 pursuit61 pursuit62 pursuit63 pursuit64 pursuit65 pursuit66 pursuit67

The first three pictures were taken with just the light in the room, then the rest were taken with the window blinds open and the sun coming in making it fairly bright. The Pursuit doesn’t do well at close-ups, or indoors sadly. The pictures taken outside aren’t bad, but they are bit blurry if you look closely.


pursuit1 pursuit2 pursuit8 pursuit3

Conclusion:
I like the Pantech Pursuit a lot, I’ve got to give Pantech credit for their first attempt at a touch screen phone, they did very well with it. The phone itself is well made, and the interface is polished and easy to navigate, they did a very good job on the Pursuit.

Pantech is known for their basic phones and they’ve stepped things up a bit here and given us a very nice and usable phone. At it’s heart the Pursuit is a basic phone yes, but it’s really much more than that, it truly is a great phone overall.

The camera isn’t the greatest, but then most cameras in basic phones aren’t so it’s not unexpected. So Pantech clearly knows how to make a good phone, now they just need to work on a decent camera.

The phone is available in other colors, and it only costs $50 on contract so it’s well worth the cost.

9

Pros:
+Well made
+Good battery life
+Easy to use and navigate
+Responsive touch screen
+Great call quality

Cons:
-Camera is not that good
-Screen doesn’t work well in direct sun

Grades:
Overall score-9-10
Design score-9-10
Performance score-10-10

To learn more about our review policy please visit this page HERE.

  • http://www.meredithcurry.blogspot.com meredith curry

    Saw it on At&t’s website today, did a google search and came across your review. Thanks for such a great review, because of it I’m considering purchasing the phone in a couple months when my contract comes up for renewal.

    • Dream

      Don’t make a mistake by renewing a contract with ATT for this phone. You will regret like I am right now. Seriously, giving you a genuine suggestion. This phone goes dead just even by a sweat. You will call att, they will tell you its  a liquid damage, and warranty won’t cover it and you will left with no options. I made a huge mistake by upgrading my contract with att for this phone. I couldn’t even use it for 2 months. The phone looks pretty and all but don’t fall for it. I never usually go and give reviews on products, but for the first time in my life, I got so upset with thing I purchased I feel like warning people not to fall on this. Good Luck!!!

  • Audrey

    hi, my only question is this…is mobile video the same as the “cv” (cellular video). I love that feature on my LG. This looks like the phone i am going to go with its cute and versatile wish there were other colors that lime green and blue, but i guess that’s what covers are for. thanks for your review it was very informative.
    Audrey

  • Daniel

    is the apps on the phone free to be used or do you have to pay 35 cents to use them?

  • Christina

    hi, i was wondering if the pursuit has a conversation-like text display. on my current phone it doesn’t display past text messages on the same screen, and it is a major item for me. thanks for the review i am seriously considering this phone.
    Christina

    • Sarah

      Yes, it does show past text messages on the same screen, Christina.

  • Lindy

    I just bought this phone yesterday. It has a lot more features than my previous phone, so I’m still getting familiar with all of it. So far I think it’s great and learning how to navigate through everything seems to be pretty easy. I am looking forward to utilizing the navigation feature…something I did not have on my old phone. For the price, this phone has a lot to offer and I expect I will be very happy with my purchase.

  • casey

    Yep, it does have “conversation-like” text display, which is really nice. I’ve found a few shortcomings already, though…ie. the calendar function totally sucks. You can’t set recurring events, or set a reminder for more than an hour in advance.

  • Rachel

    My contract with AT&T is up and I am greatly considering this phone. I just have a couple questions though. Is there a way to disable features that you do not want to pay extra for each time you use? I have unlimited texts, but I don’t use anything from the data plan because it does cost me each time I use it, which I don’t want to do. I also don’t want to pay extra for any apps on there that aren’t already included in the plan.
    Also, is it a durable phone? My current phone breaks into at least 3 pieces each time I drop it and I don’t want to get a phone like that again. Will the touchscreen last a long time? Thanks to anyone who can help!! :)

    • Sarah

      Just so you know, this phone ROCKS!!!!! As for disabling the internet and other things, im not sure how to do that, but my dad did it to my phone bcuz i dont use the internet or data plan thingys, so you can ask the people at at&t if they will disable the data plan stuff for you…

  • Sandra Smith

    I just got this phone and i love it. the only problem is my battery dies in like a day which isnt too bad if i just charge it every night but i think it has something to do with what i did when i got it. where did i go wrong?

  • Courtney

    I have the Panatect Pursuit it is awesome in many ways because its eazy to text yet it can pass as a smart phone it comes with games, screen savers,ringtones,and many cool features.It is very eazy to use and is a genious right in the palm of your hands.So, if you were planing on getting a new phone and you want to make the right choice for you.

  • ME

    The button on the right side of the phone that you didn’t know is the “multitasking” button. You can make a call and text people or search the web at the same time.

  • Hannah

    Do you know if it’s possible to text while talking on the phone? I’ve tried, but I can’t see how it’s possible. Serious drawback for me.

  • Mandy

    Your review was very informational, thank you. I am considering getting this phone so this was very helpful and now I know what i wanted to know(: Thank you!

  • http://nazwick.blogspot.com Nazwick

    I just got this phone today and I can say that I love it. It can be really annoying when you’re online because the Internet sucks, so if your a big WiFi person I wouldn’t suggest this phone, but everything else works well and simple. I keep getting surprised by new features that come up. It’s a cool little phone.

  • http://nazwick.blogspot.com Nazwick

    im typing this from my little green pursuit i got it on july 5 2010 so far its almost my dream device… its a perfect phone for tweens who love to text. i use my mac for web searching and my ipod for music and games, or my ds, and i also have a good camera. so i really dont have to rely on this for anything too big. i love it and am glad i got it. i suggest u get it if ur a tween who wants video and good texing… blah blah blah. i was surprised that it had a sketch pad. good phone overall. d stars :)

  • Al

    CV is something completely different. On the LG Vue, there is a popup attenna that you use for the CV service, which is subscription-based. It’s a way of getting selected channels, like Comedy Channel, ESPN, etc. that have signed up to participate. Verizon was offering something similar as well.

  • Lee W

    Just picked up four of these for the whole family yesterday. First time having text for the whole family as well. Kids were naturally excited to be able to finally text but found my wife actually enjoys texting as well. Lots of features to figure out. Great size for a phone. Along with everything else I really like the calendar. Wish it came with the car adapter and USB Data Cable but that’s small stuff. Nice phone. Everything we wanted and then some.

  • Tom

    Hmmm, i’m considering getting this phone or the pantech link.
    which one do you think is better?

    • Sarah

      Tom,
      I just got my Pantech Pursuit about a month and a half ago, and I LOVE IT!!!! It is an awesome phone. My mom also got a Pantech Link at the same time I did. I must say that if you text a lot (like me!) then you should go with the Pantech pursuit. The Pantech Link is much more basic than the pursuit. My mom is the kind of person that doesnt need a phone for anything besides “emergency situations”. She doesn’t text or anything, and I personally think she’s very boring. anyways, if you want a simple phone that meets all the basic needs, then go with the link! also, the link is VERY light, it feels like it doesnt weigh anything in your hands! the at&t store in the place where i live actually gave us the pantech link for FREE!
      Sincerely, Sarah

  • Layla

    this is a great review bought the phone great reccomend for evereyone!! :)

  • Anna

    How do you get to the place where you can change the settings?

  • http://marybow47@yahoo.com Mary Bowman

    This site is driving me nuts! What do you mean valid email address? I entered one!!!
    Like my phone but not the fact that there is no printed manual and just a CD.
    Also the phone is easily prone to water/moisture damage…too many unprotected openings.
    Plastic see thru case for Pursuit…difficult to pu on or take off…even for store personel.

  • emily

    I messaging phone that only holds 200 texts? VERY disappointing and annoying!

  • elena

    great review, thanks!
    I’ve had this phone for 3 weeks and I LOVE IT, very easy to use… and cute :)
    the only thing, I only use my phone for calls, txts and listening music so I am wondering how I can “clean it up”, I like to find a way to delete a bunch of applications that I don’t use… facebook, myspace, YPmobile, IM… I like to use computer for those things :) any ideas?

    • Weston

      i was reading your report about the phone i have thice phone i love it to but every bodey on this page says the touch screen stops worcking but i have onley had it for to days so will u tell me if it stops worcking pleace em ail me at westonthespy@aol.com

  • Hailey

    I got this phone about a week ago. I had the Pantech Matrix before and i liked it, and it lasted me two years, and thats amazing for a fifteen yearold girl who texts 24/7. I knew that phone like the back of my hand but it was worn out and i needed an update.
    What i do like is texts are in conversation format. For some reason right now it is not letting me send pictures, It did when i first got it so it may be my service.
    The touch screen is savvy, I love it. I still need to get used to it though, especially using the lock button on the side. i don’t have internet on my phone and it charges me extra everytime i use it, and its hard not to accidently open somthing up in my pocket, especially because it is like a smart phone and if i did have unlimited internet I would be in love with this phone. It is also easy to “butt dial” people if you don’t lock it. It is very sheik and fits in your pocket perfectly :)

  • Nancy

    Lousy phone. Text messages failed to send. Told it was a sim card problem, replaced the sim card and still had problems. Touch screen broke after 2 weeks. Returned phone and received a new one, still had problems with text message failing to send. Returned the phone. DO NOT GET THIS PHONE

  • Coach George

    Be very careful with this phone. I got one for my wife. After 2.5 weeks it stopped working. We took it to the ATT store and immediately they opened the battery compartment and declared that it had water damage. B$. The phone was not near the water, not dropped in a puddle or the toilet etc. My only conclusion was that after being outside on a hot humid day then going into an AC room, condensation formed inside the phone and killed it.

    Would I recommend this phone, NO!!! Before the phone died, the screen needed re-calibration every couple of days.
    I contacted Pantech directly and told them my story. They referred me to their repair facility that wanted prox. $30.00 (non refundable) just to look at the phone. More B$.

    It is back to the old Samsung or perhaps another phone from Ebay.

  • Coach George

    Pros: Qute, small

    Cons: Bad touch screen-Mine needed calibration every 3 days, very susceptible to moisture. Not real facebook application, just a web shortcut. Many extra applications that if used will increase your monthly bill a lot.(I am sure this is ATT’s plan)

    Summary: After just 2.5 weeks, the phone stopped working. I took it to the ATT store. The person immediately opened the battery compartment and noticed the blue dot. Sorry, it has water damage and can’t be returned. Baloney. The phone wasn’t any place near water, soda a toilet … Expand full review

    Summary: After just 2.5 weeks, the phone stopped working. I took it to the ATT store. The person immediately opened the battery compartment and noticed the blue dot. Sorry, it has water damage and can’t be returned. Baloney. The phone wasn’t any place near water, soda a toilet or beer etc. The only thing I can think of is:
    1-Perspiration leaked into the phone.
    2-Very humid air circulated inside the phone and condensed when I entered an AC room.
    Regardless, Pantech wants nothing to do with it. They offered me their repair center who wants prox. $30.00 non refundable just to look at the phone. More Baloney. The phone is only a couple of weeks old.
    Back to my old Samsung or perhaps a touch screen phone from a company that has been making them for a while. This phone is just too Delicate for real world use.

  • Lani

    Okay, I got this phone about a month ago and after like 2 weeks I had to recalibrate the touch screen quite a few times. Now about a month later it won’t turn on. I held the power button on the side and it gets stuck on the “AT&T” screen and won’t turn on. I kept it on that screen to let it die, thinking that if i did that then charged it it would be fine. Now that I attempted to charge it, it won’t charge at all. I don’t know what’s wrong with it. I didn’t drop it, and it wasn’t anywhere near water.

    • Kaylor

      That sounds like a battery problem. You might have stressed the power button, too.

  • Doug

    Bought this phone for my daughter, same thing as above, had it about 2 weeks and it just stopped working. Took it back to AT&T and it they replaced it. Now again today she brought me her phone and the new one has froze up too. Been about 2-3 wks since replacement. Taking it back to get something different. Something definatley wrong with this phone and it’s not due to water damage.

  • Nicole A

    I am considering this phone very much because my old phone was really messed up. It kept turig off randomly and my friend had the same one and her Xenon wud b fully charged one minuteand the next it wud b saying tht it needed to b chrged. we cudnt take it any more so she got a new phone and I ended up with a old phone of mine. thanks for the good review and i will very much consider it.

  • Bree

    I was looking for information on the phone and came across your review, i love how u did the pic thing along with the pros and cons……. its what made me decide i had made the right decision. I am really excited to see what the phone really can do.
    – Thanks ;)

  • Zman

    Horrible phone! I did give it 25 days to see if it was beginning glitches but no, the phone is horrible. I also get the text failed notification like Nancy, but i have full bars. My family and i tried getting a micro cell to help boost our reception but im still having the same problem. Also when i try to send it, when i press the send button nothing happens. In my opinion the phone rated a 3/10. Also with the calling features, i get full bars, but a lot of dropped calls. One of my family members has a different phone on At&t but theirs is working great without fail.

  • Amanda

    Hi. I’m considering buying the Pantech Pursuit next month, but I heard that its a crappy phone, & that it breaks easily. & How much are the apps, are they free?
    Thanks.(:

  • Kyle

    I love this phone and i’ve had it for about three weeks. Everyone is saying that it gets water damage easily. This i not true. I love it, it’s so easy to text, great call quality. I recommend it to everybody!

    • Scootergirl001@yahoo.com

      We had “water damage” at 5 months on the Pantech Pursuit green colored one.I am reading more and more about the white dot on the back of the phone turning pink beacause of “moisture” . This is not a user faultThis phone did not come into contact with any water. I believe this phone is prone to moisture damage and AT&T is profiting from denying warranty coverage. The AT&T store opened up the back of the phone and pointed out a tiny sticker near the edge of the phone and said it was pink, not white, so liquid damage had occured. The other larger white sticker was white. They said there is no warranty for the phone even though it is 5 months old. THIS IS NOT A USER/CONSUMER PROBLEM. IT IS A PROBLEM WITH THE MANUFACTURER. IT NEEDS TO CORRECTED. I’ve had phones from other companied for 4 and 3 years at a time without this kind of nonsense.

      • Dream

        I am having the same issue. I am just so upset with AT&T. The only reason I upgraded my contract with Att was for the free phone and I didn’t even use it for 2 months and  the phone is dead. Neither the phone was dropped or immersed in a water or something, I had no idea it got liquid damager. I called Att and the only thing they have to say is the phone got liquid damaged and the warranty doesn’t cover it. Such a BS. I think it is the manufacture  issue and they better fix it soon. I am just so freaking mad at Att right now for not being cooperative with customers and making us fool. 

        • Cristieleto

          Same exact thing happened to me, at 10 months….it’s a defect.  I did not get the phone wet.  I would love to know if they EVER honor a warranty claim, because the litmus thingy turns pink even if you don’t ever get the phone wet.  Then, they leave the customer with no recourse.  No phone and a long contract.  I am so mad!

  • jaylin

    how do u get a pantech pursuit cover off??

  • Lisa P

    Well, mine is only a couple of days old so it works fine, but we’ll see. Speaker is scratchy and poor and camera is only fair. There is way too much bloatware on the phone and no way to delete it. That is my biggest complaint. At&t is getting just evil. I’m ready to dig my old samsung out of my drawer and go back to that. Who needs three screens of menus when you only use a few items? And there are at least a dozen apps that are just plain commercials. Fine if you could delete them, but you can’t. I really hate this phone.

  • Lisa P

    Well, today it started not sending texts. They’re telling me its a Sim card problem. I see another user had the same problem and it wasn’t the Sim. Great. I should have stuck with Samsung. I never had a single problem with their phones.

    • Spicybellpeppers

      I just got this phone a weeek or two ago and right away on the 2nd day it it started not sending my texts out. I’m a teenager so i text constantly and i need to be able to text so if i ever need to get ahold of someone or need information about something. Having to call someone instead of texting can be annoying sometimes. I really liked this phone until it had texting malfunctions. It doesn’t really matter where i am or how many bars I have, this phone will just spontaniously not let me send texts out and it will do this for long periods of time then it will stop for a while and randomly start up again. It’s really getting on my nerves because when it fails to send my messages they go to my outbox and with my old phone (which was a samsung) this would rarely ever happen and when it did i would just resend the messages in my outbox and it would resend right away just fine. With the pantech i have to keep trying to resend the messages in my outbox a least 30 times before my messages go through and this is a CONSTANT problem. This phone also froze up on my completly today and was being unresponsive so i’m really starting to have doubts about it. If there’s anything you know of that can fix this that would be really helpful to know. Thanks

    • yumyumyummy

      omg! my phone did that too! after 2 days of having it it started saying “messages full” whenever i tried to text. it was super annoying but my dad called called AT&T and apparently the phone only holds 200 texts at a time and there is a setting that automatically deletes the oldest texts when new ones come (even though i cant find it). But when i can actually text i really like it and also, who cares if the music player is crappy just get an ipod. Im a teen and i think this is a good phone for texting and stuff as long as you get it on the right setting.

  • http://www.lovelystatic.weebly.com Emily

    LISA- Just go to the screens to the left and right of the main page on your phone and add the individual apps you want access to there so you dont have to scroll through all the bloat!

    Kristopher: Thank you for your review…Im more of a visual/learn by doing person, and I cant STAND typical tutorials (which is what this phone came with… a CD tutorial) I googled this phone and your review is the 3rd thing that came up….I actually learned how to USE this phone after already buying it, from your review. Thanks for being thorough; day one of Pursuit is going great. Love it so far. Clear simple navigation through the interface, and love the ease of the two keypad options.

    Thanks again for the review.
    Emily

  • matthew

    Don’t get this phone it screen is constantly unresponsive!

    • geust

      recalibrate it

  • Bill

    I tried a Pantech Ease for a few days but had really bad reception problems. Also it just seemed too large, so I traded it for a Pursuit. I like it for the most part so far. The “Drawing Commander” feature is kinda cool, let’s me scrawl a “v” and goes directly to voicemail, and allows me to assign letters or symbols to other contacts, which it then reads pretty well. This avoids the hassle of having to look up numbers all the time. I wish it had the “Nuance” voice recognition feature of the Ease, though, where I could just say “call home” or “call John” and it recognized the number from my contact list. Oh well, can’t have everything. And yes, I agree with all the crappy bloatware. So far the battery life seems OK — do yourself a favor on all new cell phones and let the charge go all the down to “0%” and then charge it all the way back up to 100% (even overcharge it the first time. Do this the first couple of times to “train” your battery and you will get longer life from it.

    Back to the Pursuit: it has a “shake” feature which you can customize so that various functions turn on when you shake it from one to three times. I don’t imagine I’ll ever use this but some people may like it.

    The keyboard is nice and is in fact a main reason I got this phone — I like a nice large QWERTY keyboard and I like this one a lot. Let’s see, what else….the music player is decent. Like all phones you can change the ring tone to whatever you like — I found a nice recording of a bird I liked and use that as my ring since it is very subtle. The bluetooth function seems to work fine. It multitasks fine as far as I’ve been able to tell. Sound quality seems good.

    BUT….I have had the phone shut down a few times when I closed the keyboard., especially when I closed it fairly hard. If this continues I will have to take it back and raise heck.

    Finally, I find the touchscreen is a little difficult: sometimes I try to scroll and it resists responding to my finger. Other times it takes me to the first thing I touch, which is aggravating. So it alternates between being too sensitive and not sensitive enough…just like my spouse! (just kidding, honey)

    That’s about all I can think of for now. Wish it had more than two colors.

  • imtheboss

    So i do want this phone, and im wondering if i should get this, or the iphone 4?

    • Octopus0x

      I would get this. The size is better and works just as well as the IPhone

    • lindsey joe

      the pantech cause its way cheaper and better

  • Rhonda

    I am wondering what to do to.. got two of these phones at the end of august, 2010, for my kids.. i had the phone checking some text messages and layed it back down on son’s desk and he came in few hours later saying the screen is cracked.. did not do anything to cause screen to crack… took it to at&t, they replaced it, but i have a few days to decide to keep both phones or get something else.. i have heard lots of comments about screen craking easy? any suggestions?

  • Lisa P

    Well, if the phone is acting wonky, do a complete restore. That fixed my texting problem. I still can’t get past the incredible amount of bloatware and the fav screen is pretty useless as it doesn’t allow anything from applications to go on it. All it does is take you to the regular menu screens or to useless applications to have on a favorite screen, such as an individual picture or song or calandar date. I don’t even know what the reason for that is. I saved my games in apps so I can’t even use it for that and there’s no way to move the games to another folder. I guess all the phones have the same crap on them. Next phone I get will be unbranded, that’s all I can say.

    I was going to get an iphone, but I didn’t want to spend the money every month for an expensive data plan. However, if one was to subscribe for even a few apps with this phone, (that are only a one time charge on the iphone)you immediately are paying more monthly than an iphone with a data plan. Save your money and go for the best if you want apps.

    On the up side, if all you want to do is text its a nice phone. Just be careful, you’ll be accessing the internet at every single false button press (and they are everywhere) and there’s no way to avoid it or security lock it, so you can automatically add a 2 dollar a month charge to your bill which is what At&t charges if you accidentally access the internet even once.

    Parents, do NOT let your younger kid have this phone unless you completely shut off internet access at the source. (in which you will lose your mms capability) There are so many ways to wind up with an unwanted subscription and data charges, its incredible.

  • Likeajellybaby

    Upon further use of this phone, I have some additional pros and cons. So far, functionality is fine. Its still working after a few weeks. No sign of cracking screens or water damage from humidity, but I am pretty careful with it.
    Music player is very nice. Accepts up to 32 gig sd card. I have 8 and I can’t fill it even with an audiobook on there. There is an actual fast forward and rewind within individual songs/tracks, making is useful for audiobooks. I have never had a dumbphone that does this so far. Speaker is a little quit without earbuds, but sufficient. Easy to store and find your stuff. Calls come through while texting and it goes right back to playing when you disconnect. Text alerts, however, only show up visually while listening to music. You can hide the music player and access some of the other applications while listening. Unless the music player is completely shut, it will keep your place.

    Calendar is ok somewhat limited memory/you have to delete old stuff frequently to open up memory. Alarm clock leaves much to be desired. The gimmicky rolling-scrolling date and time selection method is a total pain in the ass. Why they did it that way is beyond me. It takes forever to set an alarm.

    Internet browsing pretty much is useless. Screen’s too small, you cant get any kind of good apps unless you want to pay through the nose, its just not worth it for a dumb phone. Page scrolling is not just hard, its next to impossible. You can watch a you tube, though, without a problem. Even accessing my email without the built in app which costs five bucks a month (seriously At&T?) is kind of a pain in the butt. You can do it but its very tedious.

    Bottom line: its a decent dumb phone if you can get past having a ton of bloatware you will never use. If you’re considering an iphone, or want good internet than you absolutely don’t want this phone. Its mainly good for texting and music, and storing pictures. Camera is only so-so.

  • Lipglaze

    it’s not a stupid little covering. it says texting, driving it can wait which will save thousands of lives in an instant…you damn idiot.

  • Rkharp99

    Can you download new alert tones to the Pantech Pursuit?

  • Bob

    I have the pantech pursuit and I am pretty happy with it. Some times it has glitches like exiting out of a phone call or losing memory for 20 seconds. Overall the pantech pursuit is pretty good.

  • Octopus0x

    I recently bought this phone and its really great. The touch screen can be a little sensitive, but it works very well. I really like all the little tools, the messaging, the voice recorder and the bookmark ability, The internet works fast, and so does facebook

  • Bassinger07

    In my experience, this phone does not even come close to the Iproducts. I got the Pursuit in August, and have hated it everyday since then. The touchscreen is frustratingly difficult to use inc omparison to my Ipod Touch, and I have nearly thrown this thing through windows on many occasions because it scrolls when I want to select, and selects when I want to scroll. And when you say “just recalibrate the screen”, I don’t believe it. I never have problems like this with my Ipod Touch. The sound quality is awful. My girlfriend has a Droid, and my mom and sister both have Samsung phones, and I take any opportunity I can to use their phones. I’m 21 years old. I don’t need my phone making me feel like I have the hearing of a 70 year old. The only good thing about this phone is the Drawing Commander. Very useful with a touchscreen so frustrating.

    • Applesauce

      The sound on the Media Player is phenominal…i listen to music more on this phone than my mp3 player…I listen to a lot of Phish and the sound of those guys on a phone is incredible. Dont know what u listen to my man, but the media player is great on this phone…only negative is the battery life gets eaten when you jam out on 24 minute songs

  • Hyltonjcb

    it can go a little slow…i think it could be a little faster with what it does

  • Ari

    Great phone, but mine got put through the washer, so now it isn’t working :'(
    I think all that it need is a new battery and it will be good as new. :)

  • Carolyn Joy

    i hate this fone it is soooooo slow. and the cover is a freaking pain i the butt to take off or put on

  • Carolyn Joy

    i no what u mean the fone is aweful

  • Hanaspapa

    The video commentary sounds like it was done by a teenager with a 6 year old mentality………

  • roly

    do you need to pay for the internet ?
    or no?? if u purchase this phone ?

  • Ashley

    i have the phone its great for three months and then it starts not working. i really dont like it now. its durability is terrible. theres hardly any phone cases to have. No phone cases fit. The phone scratches easlily. Its a terrible phone. i hate it. i wish i had the pantech ease. its better :). and the keyboard light goes out after a while. so it doesnt light. up . you cant see the screen on a sunny day. And the battery doesnt even last long. Pantech only has 3 good phones, The ease, Laser, and breeze. So even though the phones apperence is really really cool, its terrible. so dont waste ur money and buy it

    • Ashley

      oh forgt to add i tried hooking it up to my mac and windows and it didnt work. and its so slow.

  • Andrea Pigg

    Hi, i might be getting this for my birthday, iv seen alot of good reviews over it and i really like the phone, iv also seen alot of photos and videos showing the phone when its at its slide positioning and it has a facebook app. Does this come with the phone? Is it free to use it? Do i need some data plan to use it? Please reply to this immedetaly, that would help lots, thanx

  • Anonymous

    I have this phone and have been very pleased with it over all. If you’re accustomed to an iPhone or Android, or you are anticipating heavy internet use, don’t get this phone. On the other hand, if you’re a Luddite like me who merely wants a simple, inexpensive phone that will get the job done and do so in a small, cute package, then this is a great option. I have not had the touch screen calibration problems that others have mentioned, but I can confirm that the phone is sensitive to very humid conditions–do not leave it in the bathroom while you shower. Luckily a very kind AT&T employee overlooked the smaller orange dot, looked closely at the unaffected large white dot and said, “What water damage? I don’t see any water damage.”

    I don’t buy the criticisms of they naysayers. The phone had good call quality and is great for texting. It’s also relatively easy to download additional or custom ringtones–most especially if you have web storage where you can post them. As far as apps, I don’t really use ‘em so I have no opinion–if a phone has a timer, an alarm clock, a stopwatch and a calculator, I feel drunk with technological power.

    I would highly recommend this phone for anyone looking for a versatile mobile with some, if not all of the latest bells and whistles. If you’re looking for every app under the sun and 24/7 mobile distractions, then maybe the 150–300% premium for iPhone/Android phone and service will be your cup of tea.

    • Cristieleto

      The guy at my AT&T store in Racine, WI was not similarly kind.  One small dot slightly pink–I am screwed.

  • Kaylor

    This is a great review. I have this phone, and so does one of my best friends, and this review sums up how we feel about the phone pretty nicely.

  • Northhenrydan

    thanks 4 reviewing this phone :D

    I was thinking about getting it …. you helped me make up my mind
    Thanks again!!!!

  • Blargh

    I’ve had this phone since October. I really liked it – sometimes the touch screen was a little annoying, trying to swipe to the next page of apps but instead opens up whatever app I put my finger over. I mainly got this phone because I really liked the larger QWERTY keyboard, even though I’m not a fan of touch-screens. I should have gone with my gut instinct and skipped over this phone BECAUSE of the touch-screen. Apparently if you use up too much memory with pictures and whatnot, and you don’t have a memory card, the screen stops responding.
    Yesterday morning I go to use my phone and it won’t work. The lock/power button works, the number keys work… That would be great if it would let me hit the call button to be able to call the number. I can’t check my messages because there’s no way for me to get to them without using the touch-screen. This phone is practically a paper weight now. The only way I can check my messages is if I put my SIM card into my brother’s phone, but even then only half of the messages show up. Thanks, At&t, for not telling me that I absolutely have to buy a memory card for my phone, otherwise I’d be screwed over.

  • UPSET

    I got this phone three month ago. Initially, I love it. But, now I wish I had gone with a different phone. THE STUPID TOUCHSCREEN STOPPED WORKING!!!

  • Alutz

    However is looking for a cell, especially a middles chooler/high schooler, this isone of those types of phones that you just GOT to have. My dad is an engineer, but owns a cell phone shop. I don’t know exact details though, but lots of kids
    from the age range of 9-15 wanted a recomendation of what type of phone to get exactly, which is where I come in. I
    helped tweens/teens find a phone that fits their personality, anyway, a few kids who were about to enter 6th grade had no
    cell phones, or had broken theirs, and they wanted to know what rockin’ phone that was kewl, had style, and was
    exceptionally functional. The first thing that came to my mind was PANTECH PURSUIT. One of the girls, who was very
    mature, and had looked up reviews, knew that it may have some malfunctions. Well, I read that too, but really, its
    jibberish. Being the owners daughter, I took a new one out, and showed them how it works. All ten of them, but ONE
    loved it, which was a boy, and he wanted an android, and nothing else. The next day, we sold 1 android, and NINE
    pantech pursuits, 5 greens, 4 blues.

    My overall view of the phone(ive had it for a lil’ over half a year) Is that its a stylish, small, functional phone, which does
    not stop at the minimum. Really I wanted a phone great for calling and txting, and it did much more. The camera could
    be better, but I have a camera, so if i wanted”5 star pics” I’d be looking into CAMERAs. Also, all these people saying that it
    has all these malfunctions, I don’t take care of my phone at all. I drop it, yeah, and I may have it close to water (except
    for the pool. My phone stays in my bag, or the car) and I’ve only been to the shop for the phone ONCE, and it was to see what things can easily tick the phone off. The apps are pretty kewl.

    BOTTOM LINE: GREAT PHONE, IT HAS AS MUCH MAL FUNCTIONS AS ANY OTHER PHONE! AWESOME FEATURE, AND IT DOESN’T STOP AT THE MINUMUM!!!!!

  • Laureng5000

    I have had this fone for like 2 days. I got it as a birthday present and i didn’t get unlimited texting and the internet. How do i get them? What is the cost?

  • peg misencik

    thanx so much for posting this review and giving such good details, it was very helpful , it looks like just what I and my family are all looking for , and we will now give them a real test drive as we have already ordered two,,thanks 

  • Sfrbjkthsndfkgi

    Thank you So Much I’m going to get it in green and my friend is going to get it in BLUE! 

  • Sfrbjkthsndfkgi

    Thank you So Much I’m going to get it in green and my friend is going to get it in BLUE! 

  • Shayla

    I’d like to know if you can had signatures on to texts from this phone.

  • Elena Lacia

    hi,. help me please.. i had phone like this.. just today i have videos and pictures saved.. but i did not erase it.. it happen when im going to upload the pics and videos..,. all are gone.. i dont know where it the files its hiding can’t see it anymore..please, thanks

  • C2frogs1

    My daughter has now had 2 of these phones. They have both stoped working and been stuck on the Att screen when you turn it on. The little white stickers on the back were both completely white on the 1st phone when I sent it back. The second one came witha pink sticker on it since it is a refurbished phone. They are now trying to tell me the 1st on had liquid damage and that I will have to pay for it. I am so done with this phone and right now VERY not happy with Att. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!!!!

Dish Network Integrates Netflix Into Set-Top Boxes

Dish Network Integrates Netflix Into Set-Top Boxes

Kristofer Brozio
Now this is cool, Dish has become the first pay TV or cable company as it were to integrate Netflix…
Read More
2 days agoDish Network Integrates Netflix Into Set-Top Boxes
Atari Fit Let’s You Unlock Classic Atari Games for Exercising

Atari Fit Let’s You Unlock Classic Atari Gam…

Kristofer Brozio
So it seems Atari is coming out with their own fitness app called Atari Fit in early 2015. The cool…
Read More
2 days agoAtari Fit Let’s You Unlock Classic Atari Gam…
Archie Comics Relaunches with New ARCHIE #1 Next Year

Archie Comics Relaunches with New ARCHIE #1 Next Y…

Kristofer Brozio
I never got into Archie comics, I was more into sci-fi and fantasy and super heroes and such but I d…
Read More
2 days agoArchie Comics Relaunches with New ARCHIE #1 Next Y…
Shazam for Windows Phone Gets an Update with Cortana Support and More

Shazam for Windows Phone Gets an Update with Corta…

Kristofer Brozio
I do miss my Windows Phones, I had two of them, but I went back to Android because there’s just more…
Read More
2 days agoShazam for Windows Phone Gets an Update with Corta…
Sideshow Collectibles Taking Pre-Orders for Amazing Looking 1/4 Scale Boba Fett Figure

Sideshow Collectibles Taking Pre-Orders for Amazin…

Kristofer Brozio
I have to admit this collectible figure looks just amazing and if I had the extra cash I’d love to g…
Read More
2 days agoSideshow Collectibles Taking Pre-Orders for Amazin…