Pandigital Photolink One-Touch Scanner

DSCF0239


Before we had digital cameras everything was done with film, which means most of us have all kinds of photographs floating around. They’re nice but the problem is that with time they will fade and of course they’re fairly fragile as well, susceptible to fire, water, humidity etc, and it would be a shame to lose our memories. The one thing we can do is transfer them over to our computers so we have them copied digitally and for the most part they’re better protected than the originals, and if something would happen to them then there would be a digital backup. If you’ve ever tried scanning pictures with a regular sized flatbed scanner then you know it can be a real pain to do, it just never seems to work out right, to do it correctly you need a dedicated picture scanner.

The product I have for review today is the Photolink One-Touch Scanner from a company called Pandigital. Pandigital mostly makes digital picture frames, but they recently released this product as sort of an accompaniment to their digital photo frame lineup, but it can be used alone as an excellent photo scanner. The Photolink can scan up to a 4×6 photograph, and it does it amazingly fast and with excellent results, it also essentially upscales the photo as well so you end up with a hi-res picture that you can blow up without much quality loss.

I have to say I love this product, for me it’s exactly what I need to transfer my photos to my computer, it’s well made, it’s very fast and it does a great job..

Ok, first up is the unboxing video, so check it out and continue on:

Specifications:
Pandigital Photolink One-Touch Scanner

Model: PANSCN01

Price: $99.99 

* Scans up to 4×6 traditional print photos to be viewed on your digital photo frame.
* Creates a stunning digital replica of the original print photo.
* Transfer the new digital photos from the Photolink Scanner directly onto a memory card using the built-in 5-in-1 card reader

Specs:
Supported Media: CF, SD, MS, MMC, XD

Memory Card Reader: Built-in 5-in-1
Connectivity: Mini USB 2.0

Scanning
Document Size: Up to 4×6 inch images
Photo Feeding: Sheet Feed Type
Output Image Format: JPEG
Resolution: 1800 x 1200 @ 4×6 photo scan (image); 300 x300 dpi (optical)
Dimensions: 6.15""W x 1.8""H x 1.5""D / .5 lbs 

Package Contents:
* Handheld Scanner
* Calibration Card
* Roller Cleaning Sheet
* Sensor Cleaning Swab
* Power Adapter
* USB Cable
* User Manual


The Pandigital Photolink One-Touch scanner is very simple to use, just put the memory card in, turn it on and insert a picture, the scanner senses the picture and pulls it through for the scan. It’s very fast as well, just a couple seconds and the picture is done. Of course if you’ve got a different sized picture there is a slider on the right side that moves so you can even scan wallet sized photos and business cards if you wish.

DSCF0805

I’ve reviewed a lot of products in my time and this has to be one of the coolest and most useful ones of all, at least it ranks up there very high on a short list of products that I feel are exceptional.

One complaint I could have about this scanner is that you can’t scan directly to your computer with it, you can hook it to your computer via USB and immediately pull the pictures from the memory card. You can just leave the window open and as you scan the pictures will appear, but you can’t use it as you would any other scanner hooked to your computer. It’s not that big of a deal though really, my Epson WorkForce 600 has the same ability, I can stick a USB stick or memory card in it and scan directly to it, so it’s sort of the same in that respect.

Over on my blog I started a series of scans of postcards, my Grandfather was in World War II and traveled all over the world and he collected postcards while he was there. I started the series but kind of got away from it because it was just a pain to do with a flat bed scanner, it never seemed to work right if I scanned one, and if I scanned a lot of them I would have to go in and crop the individual pictures out and save them. It was just a very time consuming process that I just figured I would get back to eventually, and well eventually never came so it’s been a while since I updated that section. Now though I can scan them in very quickly and they look excellent, it took less than two minutes to scan 21 of them, maybe a minute and a half, and it was just very easy to do.

and here they are, check them out, they’re old so they do show signs of age, but I think they’re a rather unique piece of history.

Some of the scans do have lines going through them, that’s only because the scanner needed calibrated. Pandigital included a special calibration card, and even a little cleaning kit as well to make sure the scanner gives you good quality scans. I left them in just for example sake, once the scanner is calibrated the pictures don’t have the lines of course and they look very good.

PD_0003 PD_0004 PD_0005 PD_0006 PD_0007 PD_0008 PD_0009 PD_0010 PD_0011 PD_0012 PD_0013 PD_0014 PD_0015 PD_0016 PD_0017 PD_0018 PD_0019 PD_0020 PD_0021 PD_0022 PD_0023


DSCF0239 DSCF0241 DSCF0243 DSCF0253 DSCF0254 DSCF0255 DSCF0257 DSCF0258 DSCF0259 DSCF0262

Conclusion:
The Pandigital Photolink One-Touch Scanner is an excellent choice if you’re looking for a quick and easy way to scan your photos into your computer to save, send or display them. It works very well, and since you can scan various sizes you’ll be able to save quite a few pictures from anything possibly happening to them.

The Photolink Scanner also gets points for being able to read many different types and cards, and of course for the fact that it can double as a card reader for your PC.

Pros:
Very fast scanning
Excellent quality scans
Uses many format of memory cards
Doubles as card reader
Well made
Lightweight and portable
Extremely easy to use

Cons:
Can’t scan directly into computer, not recognized as scanner

Grades:  
Overall score-10-10
Design score-10-10
Performance score-10-10
  • Pingback: Pandigital Photolink One-Touch Scanner @ technogog.com | dsmTechNews()

  • Pingback: » Hardware Round-Up (14/12/08)()

  • panyin

    got scanner as a present little confused about whether you had to use plastic sheets for scanning but did it both ways scanning was easy and looked good on computer screen glad i read review explaining why I had lines in scanned pictures now I will calibrate machine love it

  • Pamela

    I got this little scanner for myself. It’s perfect for taking to a relatives house to get copies of those family photos that they don’t want to let go of. Plus it will save you a fortune in reprint costs. Before, my mother would make a duplicate set to send me. Now I take my scanner to her house, scan all I want, and burn it to a cd later at home.

    I’m planning a trip to an aunt’s house soon so I can spend some time with her and her photo albums.

  • Al

    Got this little gem for Christmas. I used it to scan a few receipts that I have to turn in with an expense account each week and I was able to send the report and copies of the receipts to the office rather than make the 20 mile drive. Could have done it with my big printer scanner but it takes a lot longer and this baby did it in seconds.

    I am also starting a business that will require me to take a copy of peoples picture ID while in their homes and this did great. Wasn’t sure if the thickness of a liscense would be a problem but it pulled it through and made a great copy like it was made for this sort of thing.

    I love this gadget and am hoping to find one similar that will scan a full page document affordably as sometimes a picture ID card is not available and I need to scan someones birth certificate while in their home.

    I would highly recommend this item.

  • Russ

    I disagree with the author’s comments on the lines generated by the Photolink. I have a new in the box Photolink scanner. 90% of my scanned photos have horizontal lines going thru them. I have calibrated and cleaned the scanner repeatedly. Nothing helps. Yes, the scanner is easy to use and very portable. But the quality of the scans is unacceptable. If you want a fast scan with no regard to quality, the Photolink works. But if quality matters, you will want to go in a different direction.

  • mike

    I got two of these as gifts for people. One worked flawlessly. The second will have to be returned as even after multiple calibrations we can’t get the lines to vanish from the scans. But – we will definitely be exchanging for a new one. I have to agree with the high ratings. Very fast, very easy. And it scans without a computer so you can sit with an old photo album without a lot of USB wire mess and just scan pic after pic if you like. Very nice product.

  • Pam

    I found that using the sleeve helped make the lines go away. Now the only problem is that I’ve mislaid my sleeve! Wonder if I can get another.

  • Julie

    Love the concept. I have returned one scanner for replacement already though.
    even with multiple calibrations and cleaning the lines in the photos are there.

  • Todd

    I too am so far unable to get the lines to go away. Has anyone found a solution to this other than returning the unit?

  • Bud C

    Yes, great little tool.

    But I have lines too.

    Calibration made no difference whatsoever

  • Tim

    Is there anyone else who has used the scanner and NOT gotten lines? I would like to purchase since I have 1000’s of photos to scan, but I guess it would be useless if they all have lines like the examples above and if 90% of the reviews have the same problem.

  • Debi

    My first 20 scanned pictures were great. After that, it went downhill FAST. Everything has lines in it. Calibrating doesn’t make a difference. I wonder if the place purchased makes any difference. I got mine from QVC.

  • Tina

    I bought this unit and it worked great for the first 10-20 pictures. Then when I started to use the sleeve lines started to appear. Now I can not get them to go away. I bought it from QVC and I am returning it. They will have it in February for “Today’s Special Value” and I will order another one and hope it works. If not, I will return it too.

  • Girly

    Just got this Gadget from QVC. I scanned about 100 pics and then they became distorted, Lines, ripples and fuzzy on the pics. The first 100 were 40 yr old pics, but the next 50 were 2008 . So I cleaned and recalibrated. Started scanning and now I have lines exactly where the calibration card lines are. Cleaned and calibrated again. Same thing. Very disappointed…and now I just recieved a refund from QVC because the unit is going to be the Special for Feb. I can now purchase at the new price of $ 69. Will try again today. If it does’nt come up to par…back it goes.

  • Tim

    I just recieved mine from samsclub.com – I will scan tonight and let you know how it goes…..I made sure I got it from a place I could return in person if need be.

  • Bev

    This devise works sometimes and sometimes it does not. It will only scan two pictures and then I have to shut it off and start it again for it to scan more. Some of the pictures show up great on my computer, but some of them have a gray blocked out area and it looks like only 10 percent of the picture really got scanned. I am wondering if I am doing something wrong or if I got a lemon and I should take it back.

  • Tim

    I returned mine to Sam’s Club. The first 9 scans came out fine and everyone after that had lines in. I scanned about 60 photos. I cleaned and calibrated 1/2 a dozen times, tried the supplied clear cover sheets and the results never changed, ….lines in every scan. I wanted this device to work because the concept is brillant, but it did not.

  • Debi

    QVC had it as their Special Daily Value and sold thousands and thousands of them. It’s my guess they will get thousands and thousand returned.

  • Girly

    Hi..As I said in my 1/29/09 comment ..I would clean the Gadgit again. I did. I ran that little tab on the backside about 8 times and wiped it , with a small brush and the cleaning card ..carefully. I ran the Calibration card thru 4 times ( continuous ) I set the Gadit on a sheet of newspaper so as not to attrack static. I also had a dryer sheet that I ran over the Gadgit ocassionally as I used it. Especially at the insert opening. I also wiped the Plastic sleeves. I ran 144 blk and wht pics ( in sleeve )thru the Gadgit. I downloaded to my PC program with card. Out of 144 , I had 8 with lines. Go figure ! But cannot understand why lines are exactly in line with the Calibration card ??? Going to clean it and try again today.

  • Carol

    I wish someone had the answer to this “lines and streaks” problem with this scanner. I just got this from QVC. I love the way it works…so fast and easy. But the lines in the scanned photos make it look like the original photos had lots fo scratches on them and they did not….I used the cleaner and calibrated it, as the manual says to do…but did not change it at all….just lots of white lines that look like scratches on the pictures.

    I know I can send this back, but I’d love to know a solution so I can keep this because I really love the way it works and I can see it would be a great product if it didn’t leave the lines.

    I was going to email customer support at Pandigital, but on their website they only have email support for their digital photo frames.

    Hope someone here has the solution

  • Girly

    Hi, My 5/02/2009 Comment ..I did as I said. Cleaned and re-calibrated the Gadget. I scanned 30 pics, colored, in sleeve. There they were the lines ! So disappointing. Great concept…but not reliable…and POOR quality. I am packing it up to go back to QVC.

  • Cain

    I also received this and have the lines issue. Tried calibrating (over the course of a day, several times), tried cleaning it (even though it was new), and everything else I could think of, but the lines remain. I haven’t tried the sleeve yet, but I certainly don’t want to have to use it for each photo (and from the sounds of it, it doesn’t fix things).

    I also noticed if looking in the light, you can see the lines actually on the photo (have to look good, they are tiny and hard to see). I had to run to work, so I haven’t had a chance to see if they are smudges or ‘cuts’ (guessing smudges), but I’d venture a guess it has to do with pulling the photo through – maybe too tight or something, I don’t know. But they will line up right where they are on the scanned image.

    Tried cleaning and new photos with the same result. Clear photo goes in, line-marked photo comes out, scanned image has lines (sometimes many small ones, other times a few larger ones). Kind of a neat idea, but I will be sending it back.

  • Jan

    I bought mine from QVC too , expecting it to be well tried…No! I have lines, lines, and more lines. And there seems to be no pattern to which pictures the lines appear on. It is random. I wanted this to work so much but I am sooooo disappointed. Can anyone recommend another small scanner? Surely, there are other manufacturers who make such things and do it right!

  • Bethany S.

    I just got this. It is very easy to set up and use. My first 2 pictures came out great, but after that every picture had LINES. I even cleaned and “calibrated” it, but nothing has helped. I read reviews on amazon before buying, and only one reviewer had trouble with lines. I guess I thought I’d get lucky and not have an issue.

    Where did you purchase the plastic sleeves? My scanner did not come with any.

  • Bethany S.

    P.S. I even cleaned each photo beforehand to be sure to remove any dust or other debris. It made no difference!

  • Debi

    I contacted QVC and they told me they inspect every 1 out of 3 for quality control. I think not. I am guessing they will get thousands sent back. I certainly am sending all 3 of the ones I bought back.

  • Linda Cyganiewicz

    Where can I purchase one of these?

  • njmargiem

    Just recieved my scanner today and right away started to scan photos. Many of the scanned photos had lines in them. At first I thought it was MC they provided. I read on and then calibrated and cleaned and scanned again using different MC. Again, lines! I tried to order from QVC and they discontinued it, now I know why although when I asked them why, they wouldn’t tell me. So, I purchased soomewhere else. As fast as it is to scan photos, I figure I can pull an all nighter and get all my old photos scanned and have it returned by noon tommorrow….. guess i’ll just stick with my digital cam from now on

  • Anita

    Really am enjoying copying all my old pictures, going to make a CD for each of my children of their lives. Only problem I do not know how to erase the pictures on the memory card……Please someone help me!!

  • Girly

    Anita, you are using some kind of Photo program on your PC . When you inserted the Memory card, there should be an a BOX that you X to clear the card. This is done before you download the Scanned Pics to your specified folder. Look at your program for your camer ( what ever kind ) it should have an option to clear your card.

  • Jane

    This is a great concept. I have lots of family pictures and letters from my Dad to Mom,when he was in WWII that I’d love to save. Hope they get the bugs out and also make one that can copy 5×7,8×10’s. The 4×6 is too small to scan Dad’s letters. Hope they come out with something soon,because writing is starting to fade. Does anyone have any suggestion?

  • Todd

    I responded before, but I have now had 4 of these in my hands, and I have not come up with a solution to get rid of the lines. So Disappointing! I would pay three times what this thing costs, if it worked! I have tried every remedy I can find suggested anywhere, and nothing works. I took three of them back, and I may or may not hold on to the one I have since I think I have had it too long to return. Hopefully somebody will come up with a solution to the problem. I would say I get MAYBE 25% good scans from the unit. The lines have nothing to do with the photo, as you can scan the photo multiple times and the lines will be in different spots each time, or (if you’re lucky) not there at all. The scanner is a great concept otherwise, with completely acceptable scan quality and the ability to scan to a memory card is great, it just flat out doesn’t work.

  • Bev

    I can only scan a few photos and then it quits working. I also have the problem of many photos have a big gray area like it only scanned 10 percent of the photo. Does anyone have solutions for this?

  • Pan

    Love this little scanner but don’t know how to delete the scanned images (which I have transferred to my computer) from the memory card. I scan photos, then hook up to my computer and transfer them into Picasa.

  • Eric

    Thank you. This was very valuable and helpful.

  • Jill

    Same sad experience – excitement for the first 50 photos and then disappointment after that; cleaning, and re-cleaning; calibrating and re-cleaning, etc. Downloading a couple photos & then checking for lines which appeared over and over.

  • EJ

    Oh! I was so excited to get this little scanner..and it did wonderfully with about 200 photos and not one line!!! So, I thought WOW I got a good one..So just started to copy 100+ more photos today and then went to take my chip and put into the computer and it says NO PICTURES!!! OK, so I got and calibrate the machine again, clean it and start over, now it really looks like all the pictures are scanning to the chip..YEAH!!! WRONG…Again, NO PICTURES!!
    Anyone, have any idea what is going on here>>>

    and, yes, I too bought mine from QVC…geez.. Help!!

  • Michele

    I have noticed that QVC has this scanner again but the model number has been updated. Does anyone have experience with the new one PANSCN02?

  • JC

    Love the scanner but when I try to rotate a picture, it won’t let me. Very frustrating. Message comes up saying that an error prevents me from saving it. Any ideas? E-mail me Eng1JC@comcast.net

  • Vicky

    I got mine in March 09. I have scanned 100s of photos. Some shot in the 1920s. Seen no lines. I use the carrier sleeves for every photo/postcard.

    Also I can scan directly to the computer when I hook it up to the computer. There is software that has to be installed for it to copy to the computer. If it is not hooked up to the computer it scans to the memory card. The scanner should also show up like a drive under MY COMPUTER and then you can move all the images on the memory card to the computer.

    I love it. If my scan is not like the original – I delete and rescan. I wish it had a carry case – and some larger length carrier – like for panoramic photos. Or an enclosed sleeve – so you can scan newspaper clipping without worrying that they will rip.

  • Myrna

    Hi there…

    Responding to the comment by Vicky… where did you get yours? And what model number is it?

  • Andrea

    Have had an interesting experience using the panoscan today. I have a canoscan that works great on my computer, but was looking at this unit to take on the road. Some family members don’t want the photos to travel ( I live a great distance from family). I don’t know what to call my problem…I don’t have lines, but the photos are “hot” anything that is dark/black is coming out with a greenish sheen to it. Some white skin tones have had a similar look. Is there a fix after the fact? I am hoping this is the fix….I have taken the canoscan in the past, but it is big and needs to be hooked up to laptop and takes up a lot of space. scares some relatives.

  • Kathie

    Just got this scanner. Scanned first picture and comes out GRAINY ??? My original pictures are not grainy but once scanned its either grainy, darker than the original and looks over sharpened, oversaturated!??!? WHY ????
    Does anyone know why…there’s no setting to tone it down.!??! Got the line once.
    I’d have to say my scanner on my mult-printer does a “way” better job. Thought I’d get this to scan faster but very disappointed. :(

  • shirl

    To many lines on photos. I’m sending it back. If they could solve the problem, this little machine would be great. Have to wait and see if they do.

  • KayB

    I got this scanner a few months and loved it. I didn’t use it for a few weeks and now when I try to scan pictures it only scans about one and a half inches of the picture and then there is nothing. What I can see is also very faint. Any suggestions?

  • Smitty

    Where do you purchase extra scanning sleeves; I only got one with my purchase.

  • Nancy

    When I try and change the orienation of the photo in windows gallery I am told the photo cannot be saved.

  • Joy

    VICKI or MYRNA did you happen to post the model # – because I didn’t see it. Or where did Vicki purchase hers.

  • Elaine Holman

    Has anyone found a solution to the problem of not being able to make change changes to the image and save?

  • Bonnie

    I bought mine from qvc in May but just opened it today. I’m having the same problem as KayB wrote on 17/08. It is only scanning about 1.5″ on the right side, but that part is bright and looks great. Please email me at bonnies328@gmail.com if you find a solution.

  • Judith Hoffmann

    I have misplaced my manual for using my scanner. Can I get a replacement

  • http://technogog.com Steven

    I absolutely love the scanner. It worked awesome for about 200 scans. Now…it only scans about 1 inch of each photo……need help. Is there anyway to fix…i’ve cleaned…..i’ve cleaned……

  • Susie Wolfe

    My scanner is doing the same thing as Bonnie & Steven, it only scans 1 to 1.5″, is it fixable?

    Thanks

    Susie

  • Moe Silverio

    Many of you talk about the problems that you have experienced with this scanner. But, when I checked the manufacturer’s website, there are several models for sale. My question to anyone is: which model is the one with problems? are all the 3 or 4 models really bad? I am in the market for one photo scanner. I discovered the scanner is question at Best Buy but did not buy it. I wanted to research it to find out if it worked. So, if anyone is having a good experience with a particular model, please let me know. Thanks.

    Moe

  • Carol

    I’ve been happy with mine — but has anyone discovered where to purchase extra sleeves?

  • JIM

    I purchased the Pandigital Photolink one-touch scanner less than six months ago and up until this weekend was very please with the efficiency of the unit. Now, without warning the unit is only scanning about 2″ of the top of the scanned item. Cleaning, Calibrating has not help. Anyone with an idea of what is wrong.

  • LAURIE

    Does “MADE IN CHINA” give a hint?

  • Pingback: scanner question/help()

  • Marsha

    I’ve scanned hundreds of photos with good results and then last night I began having the problem of only the top 1 1/2 of the photo being scanned, just as others have said. Does anyone have an answer to this problem or should I just throw the scanner away as a bad experiment?

  • Carol

    Ditto the above — excited at ease, then disappointed that despite following the manual, relentlessly cleaning and re-calibrating, about 90% of the photos have the lines.

    I have not seen a response to the question about the PANSCN02? has anyone had lines with it?

  • http://Nil Richard Lyons

    OK, so being here in the great white north was unable to purchase scanner…but living close to New York State, friends acquired one for me and I have had it mere hours and have only scanned 9 pictures. OK, so got on puter to see about sleeves, etc. and found these comments. Al-rity so I have only just begun as they say. Keep you folks up to date…I guess.

  • Mark-in-Seattle

    Purchased The Pandigital PANSCN02 (ver 01-104) at Best Buy, serial number = 0002000609805549 (if my 50-ish eyes are reading the number correctly). Have scanned four 4″ x 6″ new photos with no problems, no lines and the color and photo resolution look quite good. I have a lot of experience with flat bed scanning and these scans are impressive.

    Four years ago I purchased a Fujitsu ScanSnap FI-5110 automatic document feeding scanner which I used to create PDF’s of documents and also some scanning of my wife’s family photos on a trip to Cleveland. Scanning photos thru the ScanSnap creating jpgs was fast and worked just OK. Color was sometimes a bit off and the resolution was so-so, much better than nothing, but not as good as a decent flatbed scanner. I am sure Fujitsu has improved this document scanner so look online for updated experiences from new users.

    To scan in a mountain of family slides I purchased one of the very few automatic feed slide scanners, a PowerSlide-3650 from Pacific Image, cost about $850. You can load 100 slides into a tray then leave the scanner alone to process each one. There are various automatic scratch removal settings and resolutions. On my scans so far the speed is about 90 seconds per slide. The interface is USB2 and PC only, though a more expensive version of this scanner (?) from Braun had firewire …. and was reported to be MacOSX compatible…. I think.

    Will try to report back after scanning a few hundred photos using the Pandigital PANSCN02.

  • Jerry Webb

    I have one and it will not work . I have followed the steps in the bood step-by – step and it will not reconzie the card or save to the card Hepl!!!!!!~ could I get my money back or one that works?>

  • Sheila Baldry

    I have the PANSCN04 and it worked OK at first but now when I connect it to my laptop nothing happens. The orange light stays on the scanner but nothing shows up on the screen. Can anyone help.

  • Kim S.

    Great Concept, but can’t deal with the lines. I’ve contacted Pandigital. The response email said be sure to clean and calibrate. Of course if a human had actually read the email, they would have known that I ALREADY tried cleaning and calibrating. I just wanted Pandigital to know that there is a REAL problem with their product and if they don’t fix it, someone else will make a better product. I also sent the email to the “CEO” of Pandigital, to which someone else responded by saying I should contact customer service. It would be nice for someone with Pandigital to admit, YES some of the scanners are having a problem and we are trying to fix it, could we send you a replacement to try. I’m not looking for something for nothing, I just want it to work properly – with no lines!

  • Donna

    Just saw this advertised on TV and was ready to order one tonight. Doesn’t look like it’s worth the trouble. Good luck to all of you having issues with yours.

  • http://aurelio.net/en Aurelio

    Bought mine here in Brazil, model PANSCN02, and I’m very happy with it. Very quick and easy to use, the image quality is acceptable. I’ve already scanned 300 photos and everything is OK. I would never have the patience to do this with a flatbed scanner.

    Never calibrated, just did the cleaning at every 100 photos. Yes, blank lines do appear sometimes (around 10%), but I just scanned those photos again and the blanks are gone, no big deal. Oh, and sometimes the blank lines were on the original photo! Little print failures, I did not saw those lines until scanning the photo, those lines are not scanner’s fault.

    I found it best to scan using the sheath, because it maintains the photo aligned. When not using it, the photo bends when passing through the scanner, resulting in black margins and distortion. I don’t see difference on the colors or focus. In fact, even without the sheath, the scanned picture seems like it was behind some kind of plastic.

    Never used the USB cable or connected the scanner to the computer. I just plug the SD card into the SD Reader attached to my Mac and it acts like a pendrive. Finder (QuickLook) and Preview opened the pictures, but iPhoto won’t import them. I’ve had to re-save them to be able to import.

    I do recommend this scanner if you want to save the old moments with no fuss. If you want 100% image quality, get back to the flatbed scanner.

  • bob

    I have the same problem as Sheila with the Panscn04. Except mine never even worked right out of the box. It took the photos through the scanner just fine, but after scanning 50 photos there was nothing on the card! So then I thought maybe it was the card and hooked it directly up to my computer. Still takes the photos through the scanner, but no images appear. What a complete disappointment. From most of what I have read here, I think I will just get my money back and not an exchange. I really need a product like this, and bought the panscn04 to get the higher 600 dpi resolution, but if it causes this many problems it just isn’t worth it. Anyone know of a similar product, preferably 600 dpi, that actually works? I would be willing to pay $500 for a product like this that actually works!

  • Ann

    When is the Pandigital Photolink One-Touch PANSCN06 8.5 inch x 11 inch photo scanner due to be released? I ordered this back in February 2010 through AMAZON and was told the release date would be sometime around early March. It is now the end of April and still no release date. Is there a problem with it? Please let me know something as soon as possible.

  • Linda

    Had mine for a while now. Had all three problems: Lines on the photo, only receiving about 1 inch of picture on all my scans, and using the card that QVC was selling to “add on to my order” and not having anything record on it. My scanner is PANSCN01. Has anyone had any news on how to fix the problems??

  • maria

    to bob: sometimes when it doesn’t save you need to delete some pictures on the SD card it becomes full easily when you scan on colored high resolution. That’s what happened to me.

  • http://lycos.com Jeanne

    WOW!!! QVC is at it again with yet another version of this Pandigital scanner as another Today’s Special Value purchase (5/22/10), but while I was ‘almost’ willing to jump on board to purchase one, after reading the comments here I’ve decided to wait until they’ve gotten ALL the bugs out of these devices.

    It does look really good but I have way too many ‘reservations’ about this product after what I’ve read here, and if this new one doesn’t hold up, something tells me even more comments will be added to this board. Why in the world don’t these companies “thoroughly” test these items ‘before’ they’re sold to the public? I thank God I didn’t purchase one as I really really tempted to do so.

    My heart goes out to those of you who lost money that could have been put to something else that would have helped you out, but at least it was a lesson well learned for you and the rest of us.

  • John Volborth

    Was going to get one…but…so glad for review pages..If and when..I will get one.

  • Marilyn

    I was looking online for one when I saw this message board! NOT BUYING one at this time! Will wait until one comes out that WORKS the right way!

  • Roberto Vasquez

    I purchased the Pandigital Photolink one-touch scanner Model PANSCN02 from QVC
    I love the scanner, it worked good for 150 scans now it only scans about 1 inch of each
    photo. Any way to fix this ??

  • Jessica

    I bought this scanner and at first it scanned great. Now all of a sudden it only scans the top part of the picture. I have tried a few different things in hope to fix this and nothing has wored. Any suggestions?

  • howie

    started using this a week ago and awesome pictures then lines started to show up, cleaning did not fix, decided to open unit since was out of warranty easy to open took 5 min to gently open and was able to get to glass surface that pictures are scanned from, once i cleaned the glass, which was filthy put the unit back together and pictures are great again . total fix took about 10 minutes

  • Barb

    we ordered this from QVC and it has never worked! :( it only scans the top inch of the photo… anyone know a fix for this?

  • Aurelio

    Howie, I admire your courage to open the unit and clean the glass, in an attempt to discover the cause of the “lines in scan” issue. Old pictures are notorious for being dirty and dusty (remember eating a peanut butter sandwich and sneezing on the photos in 1955?) Apparently the heat of the scanner melts bits of crud onto the glass, causing the lines. Pandigital prefers you cover your photo with the plastic sleeve to prevent dirt transfer.

  • TCameron

    I have had mine for years, I had to do the same thing Howie did, it is easy to take apart, if you do, you can see the dirt on the glass that causes the smudges, I clean the glass with alcohol and put back together and no more lines until dirt builds up again and it will build up. I wiped my pictures down before scanning but you can’t really “clean” a picture.

  • Winnter

    Howie, how did you open yours. My warranty is up and I want to try cleaning mine that way, but I can’t figure out how to open it up to clean it.

  • karen

    I was very disappointed with this product. I bought this scanner because it says it scans both photos and slides. But the slide part is a joke. It is not until you break the seal and start reading the book that the instructions say “unmounted slides”. Who has “unmounted slides” in strips. If they are in strips they are not “slides” so the company misrepresents the capabilities of the scanner on the box. Any slides in existence ar probably at least 15 years old – they could easily be damaged if they are disassembled for scanning. I’ll this for a scanner that delivers as promised.

  • ABJohnson

    Very interested – I assume that Howie has found the answer.

  • Cathmills

    I purchased the Pandigital Photolink one-touch scanner Model PANSCN02 from Radio Schack
    I love the scanner, it worked good for 150 scans now the memory card shows nothing and is not even recognized by my computer. Any way to fix this ??

  • howie

    this is howie i see some people have asked how to clean a pandigital and figured i would show you how to do it but can’t post pics here so I posted pictures along with explanation and steps to get to the glass to clean it, note if your pandigital is still in warranty this may void it, but you will have to clean it occassionally anyway and the cleaner that comes in the box only cleans the rollers not the glass, i have posted them on my sons boyscout site
    http://WWW.BSA543.COM hope it helps, just need 2 tiny screw drivers and a tiny phillips I DO THIS IN ABOUT 10 MINUTES thanks howie

  • howie

    this is howie again with a follow, up I do not use the sleeve that came in the box only the cleaner felt for the rollers whether you using the sleeve or just pics you will still over time get gunk on the glass so I save time and just feed the pics right thru the scanner, normally have to clean about every 500 pics or as needed the sleeve just slows down the process ps i tried using a sheet of negative pictures and it did not work but i see pandigital has a newer model that says it will do negatives

  • howie

    updated the post to fix the lines on 12/14/2010 howie

  • howie

    hi linda just posted a fix to removing the lines hope it helps howie

  • howie

    just posted a solution to cleaning the glass lens howie 12/14/2010

  • howie

    hi winnter just posted about how to clean the glass howie 12/14/2010

  • Comely

    But where can I buy it in Canada? Amazon.com won’t ship it here.

    • CrowdedCranium

      Worldstart got a freighter full in, selling for $32.00.  Personally, I already have an HP all in one printer so I do not need a short lived geegaw.  Thanks for the comments.

  • Linnie81

    I bought this scanner to put negatives through. I found that on every photo there is a white line. Not on the negative-just on the scanned photo.

  • Daryl Shank

    bought my scanner a while back, took it out box for the first time, plugged it in put in sd card run afew pictures thru it,nothing , re did every thing,nothing again,its piece of junk!

  • Stormie

    I bought this product thinking I could scan all my old pictures and negatives. What a disapointment, I tried everything in the book and it wouldn’t save the pics to the memory card or the pc. I suggest you save your money and buy a product that works. I plan on taking it back to the store and get a refund.

  • Stfleck

    Well I have the same problem as others it is supposed to scan at 1800 X 1200 but my device is only scanning at 1800 x 400. That is a problem any fixes out there or is it wasted money?

  • Paul Gresky

    The pansc06 my sister brought to scan family photos starting having the white line problem. We could not get rid of them by any sheetfed method. Since it was not working I took it apart. Remove the four feet, remove six screws, and set the on/off switch palte and guide to the side. Removed the circuit board carefully by pulling the two wired connectors and laid the flat cableand connector to the side (still connected). Remove the white plastic end support for the rollers. The lens cover is a snap fit and I decided to have my son-in-law check for the actual parting lines on the end which are hard to see although the middle section has visible snap fit pieces. My son-in-law works for his family photo lab business and is an electrical engineer. Once the cover is popped out the lens is visible and so were the white streaks on the lens. We cleaned the lens with with Kodak lens cleaning solution, Kodak lens cleaning paper, and several cotton tipped applicators (not Q-Tips). Fog with breath and gently wipe down with Kodak lens tissue. Carefully reassembled the unit and it was immediately working. We did not have to try to find and buy a new unit and were able to finishing  scanning all the family photos (about 1800 +) with no further problems. It is my  opinion as an engineer that Pandigital is aware of the problem and did their best to make the assembly unrepairable for most customers when it can be cleaned for continued use..

    • jen

      thank you so much for sharing this step by step. i love this scanner. the white lines were all over the glass like you said.

Black Friday: Deals from Acer

Black Friday: Deals from Acer

Kristofer Brozio
Acer has several things on special for Black Friday at Walmart, Best Buy, Target, Costco and even t…
Read More
23 hours agoBlack Friday: Deals from Acer
Wiley Announces Coding For Kids for Dummies Book

Wiley Announces Coding For Kids for Dummies Book

Kristofer Brozio
Hmm, I want this  book for me, I’ll read it then I’ll give it to my kids, I think I need it&nbs…
Read More
2 days agoWiley Announces Coding For Kids for Dummies Book
OCZ Launches Sabre 1000 Series SSDs

OCZ Launches Sabre 1000 Series SSDs

Kristofer Brozio
OCZ announced this morning the launch of the Sabre 1000 series of SSDs which are enterprise class wh…
Read More
2 days agoOCZ Launches Sabre 1000 Series SSDs
Review of Jabra Move Bluetooth Wireless Headset

Review of Jabra Move Bluetooth Wireless Headset

Tomas Ratas
The first Bluetooth headset review I did was several years ago. It is amazing how things have change…
Read More
21 hours agoReview of Jabra Move Bluetooth Wireless Headset
Call of Duty: Heroes Out Today on iOS, Android Coming Soon

Call of Duty: Heroes Out Today on iOS, Android Com…

Kristofer Brozio
Blah, so I totally misread this PR at first and I went to download this from Google Play and then tr…
Read More
2 days agoCall of Duty: Heroes Out Today on iOS, Android Com…