Jazz Elite HDV-188 5MP HD Video Camera w/3" Screen


TestFreaks Data











Manufacturer: Geeks.com

Product Name: Jazz Elite HDV-188 5MP HD Video Camera w/3" Screen

Review Date: 09/17/08

Author: Kristofer Brozio

 

DSCF5776 

It seems everyone has a video camera, a still camera and a portable media player, sometimes tow or more of all of the above, wouldn’t it be nice to have a decent, inexpensive product that that does it all for you?

Today for review I’ve got the Jazz Elite HD Video camera and not only does it film videos in HD, but it’s also a fully featured multimedia player as well so you can take videos, take stills, listen to music and even watch movies on it. In my time with it I’ve used it quite a bit, I’ve found it’s easy to use, takes good videos and it has a great battery life. Did I mention it’s inexpensive? So read on to check out the Jazz Elite HD Video camera from Geeks.com

The Jazz Elite comes packaged in a sealed plastic clamshell style package that of course you must cut open to access the contents. You can see the camera plainly through the front, and there are specs and features listed on both front and back. (I didn’t include a picture of the back as there was a large inventory label obscuring the view).

DSCF5764 

Once you get the package open, you’ll find loads of stuff in there including the camera itself, battery, software/driver disc, user manual, HDMI cable, composite AV cable, power adapter, carrying case, wrist strap and even a set of headphones.

DSCF5767 

The Jazz Elite camera is actually fairly small, about 4 inches by 1 inch by 2 inches in dimensions. On the front side you can see the Jazz and HDMI logos, above that is the speaker.

DSCF5772  DSCF5776

On the back, or bottom is the battery cover and a small slider switch for changing to Macro from landscape or long distance.

DSCF5778

The back of the camera is where you’ll find all of the function buttons needed to do most of the operations with the camera, and the USB and TV out connections as well. Most of the buttons have two functions depending on what mode you are in.

DSCF5783 

On the top of the camera you’ll find the microphone and power button, but the camera does also turn on and off when you open the display. On the front of course you’ll find the lens, below that is a little white box which is actually an LED that acts as a flash or assist light, and all the way down is the access for the HDMI port. On the bottom is just a hole for a tripod.

DSCF5784 DSCF5786

DSCF5787

The screen can be placed in several positions depending on how you want to us the Jazz Elite, it can also rotate all the way around so you can film yourself.

DSCF5791  DSCF5792

DSCF5802

You can use a standard SD card to expand the memory, it gets inserted on the bottom under the battery cover so you’ve got to remove the cover to access the memory card. Kind of a pain, but you can also use the included cable to transfer the contents of the camera if need be.

DSCF5804  DSCF5811

Specifications:

Jazz Elite HDV-188 5MP HD Video Camera w/3" Screen

Part #:         HDV188-BP
Warranty:       1 Year
Manufacturer:       Jazz Products LLC
MFG Part #:       HDV188

Your Price:          $147.50

Capture memories with this Jazz Elite HDV-188 5 Megapixel high-definition Video Camera. The Jazz Elite HDV-188 is a Digital Camera, Video Recorder, Voice Recorder, PC Camera, Mass Storage, MP3 Player, and PMP in one device.

The HDV-188 features a 3-inch TFT LCD with 8x digital zoom and HDMI, NTSC/PAL AV Out. Other features include a USB 2.0 interface, 64 MB internal memory, and an SD/SDHC memory card slot for adding up to 8 GB. Order today!

Features/Specifications:

Jazz Elite HDV-188 5 MP HD Video Camera with 3-inch Screen

General Features:
    * Color: Black
    * Image Sensor: 5 Megapixel CMOS sensor
    * Maximum Resolution: 11 Megapixel interpolated
    * Internal Memory: 64 MB
    * External Memory: SD/SDHC card slot up to 8 GB
    * File Formats: JPEG/AVI (H.264)/WAV/MP3
    * Display Screen: 3.0-inch TFT LCD
    * Digital Zoom: 8x
    * Interface: USB 2.0
    * AV Out: HDMI, NTSC/PAL
    * Motion Detection
    * Night Mode
    * Movie Stabilization
    * Power Source: NP60 Li-ion battery

Modes:
    * Digital Still Camera
    * Video Record
    * Voice Record
    * PC Camera
    * Mass Storage
    * MP3 Player
    * PMP

Video Resolution:
    * HD: 1280 x 720 @ 30 fps
    * D1: 720 x 480 @ 30 fps
    * VGA: 640 x 480 @ 30 fps
    * QVGA: 320 x 240 @ 30 fps

    * Dimensions:
    * 4.1 x 1 x 2.5-inches (H x W x D, approximate)

These are the basics specs listed, you can read all of the specs on the Geeks.com site HERE if you wish.

Using the Jazz Elite is very easy and actually fun, the instructions are easy to follow.

When you’re using the camera there’s few things on screen to let you know the status. In the top left corner is the amount of pictures you can take, the top right corner has the time to record video and the resolution. The right side has a sliding bar that tells you the focus or zoom, under that is the battery indicator, memory card indicator and whether you are in macro more of not.

DSCF6443 

Pushing the slider button in opens up the menu, I’m not going to list all of the options as there are quite a few of them, you can click the pictures to see them.

DSCF6444  DSCF6445

DSCF6447  DSCF6450

DSCF6452

Switching to the media player mode turns the Jazz Elite into a portable media player that can play music and movies, or look at pictures and listen to notes.

DSCF6454  DSCF6455

DSCF6456  DSCF6457

Included with the camera is Arcsoft Media Impressions and Media Convertor, two very useful programs for manipulating videos and pictures and converting video to other formats easily.

1  2

3

Back to using the camera, the still pictures are ok, it’s not a high end camera but for what it is they look very good. The videos are a bit grainy but still decent for such a low priced camera that is much more than that.

I’m not including videos in this review for you, but I do have 10 videos that I shot using the Jazz Elite over on the technogog Viddler account. You can check them out at your leisure HERE. They all were shot in either 1280×720 or 720×280 resolutions. The HD makes it more of a wide screen with black lines on top and bottom, so I don’t prefer that so most were shot in the 720 resolution or D1 on the camera.

I did find one small design flaw, the flash or assist light is in a bad place really, every time I wrapped my fingers around the a camera my index finger covered it up. I had to keep reminding myself not to do it, but after using it several times I became accustomed as to how I had to hold the camera correctly.

Also, I don’t really care for having the SD card located under the battery cover, using the cable is fine, but you get a faster transfer rate with a card reader so I prefer to transfer them directly from the card, and having to remove the cover is a hassle. Other people might not care, but I’m taking a lot of videos, and to me it’s a pain…

The battery life of the Jazz Elite is very good, I charged it once when I got it and haven’t charged it yet, I’ve shot at least an hours worth of video for reviews and quite a bit more just playing around.

The screen for watching movies is decent enough, of course it’s only 3", but movies look pretty good on it overall. It makes a nice little media player really.

 

Conclusion:

The Jazz Elite seems to be one of the nicer and feature packed Digital Camcorders out there on the market today.

The Jazz Elite is very easy to use and honestly it’s a lot of fun, I enjoy using it and will be using it for some time to come. I plan on using this camera for all of our reviews so it’s going to be getting quite a workout, and it already has really.

The battery life is great, I’ve shot quite a bit of footage, at least an hours worth and the battery indicator has just finally dropped down by one.

The Jazz Elite is inexpensive considering everything that it can do besides record videos and take pictures, you can have a nice little portable media player that just happen to take movies and pictures!

Pros:

-Very good battery life 

-Easy to use 

-Decent quality movies 

-Feels well made

-Good sounding as PMP

-Inexpensive

-Lots of extras included

Cons:

-Bad placing of flash/light assist

-Must remove cover to access memory card 

 

Grades:

Overall: score-8-10

Design: score-8-10

Performance:

  • kim

    i am in need of a owners manual for my jazz hdv 188 and am having no luck finding help,could you please help me many thanks kim

  • Anonymous

    manual in PDF is on way to you now..

  • marion

    HI,, we have lost our charger for our jazz elite,, can anyone help me please.. its my nine year old daughters and she just started using it and it wont charge with any other charger…thanks.. marion

  • Joy

    I bought my Jazz HDV188 used and I need an owners manual and of course like Kim I can’t find an address or phone number….can you help me out??

  • http://technogog.com Kristofer

    Sent manual to both of you..

  • lucy

    i have a jazz camera, worked great for about 2 weeks, now i can’t take a picture with it, it will take video. but not pictures. i turn it on ,go to take picture, hit the button, it go’s off. don’t understand why it takes video, but not pictures. and i didn’t get a warentty. bad for me. if you could tell me what i am doing wrong. it would be great. thanks

  • lucy

    yea, i have owner’s manual, but it don’t say anything about, this problem.

  • Rickey Manuel

    Hi i have grandkids who lost my operating instructions and set-up disk for my recorder.What can you do to help a old man to get replacements for these items.

  • Lisa

    Bought my jazz used and the oweners manual is not here with it, can I download a copy or order one from somewhere?? Would be greatly appreciated, anyone. Thank you. Lisa

  • Kristofer

    Hey, anyone who needs the guide, just email me at kbrozio @ gmail.com remove the spaces from the email address of course

  • anna

    hiya i have just bought one what type sd card do i need to get for it and how long will the memory last. im having a party and my party will be at least 6 hours long – how much memory will i need for this?

  • Horace Shelton

    I need disk to upload cam into my computer also, need another port cable how do i get these?

  • Horace Shelton

    please email me at sheltonrocklin@yahoo.com and tell me how i can receive the disk and a port cable for the jazz hd188.

  • AJ

    HI, has anyone found a lens cap that fits over the lens on this camera. It would be much more convenient to just put a cap on the lens then to carry it around in the bulky case. Any suggestions appreciated. Thanks, AJ.

  • Lou

    Where can I find a replacement battery for the HDV178 ?

  • Bill Andrews

    I lost the owners manual can someone please help Im trying to charge it threw the usb and dose not seem to be charging any suggestion appreciated

  • Jon

    to all wanting more info on Jazz 188, cable/ CD, user guide etc etc…call this number:Please call Jazz Products @ 732-572-7050

    good luck – love the 188 !!

  • Charley

    Hi ,I have Jazz HDV-178, I need manual in PDF,thankx

  • Lisa

    I have not been able to download music on my jazz because I have no cd for the program, I guess. Any one have the ability to burn a copy of the cd for me, or some other magical way to help me, I will pay for the cd and be eternally grateful!!. Lisa @zprchk13@yahoo.com

  • Larry

    hello i could really use a owners manual and i need info on how to get mp3s on my camera please

  • rookid

    why is it when i take pictures, it looks terrible but others look terrific? can you send me the owners manual and where can i get a chager for this? thanks

  • David

    Can’t get Jazz video to play on any player, Windows Medai, Quicktime. All I get is sound and no video. What codec is this video camera using. It says AVI, but not sure that is true.

  • ken winston caine

    Hi Kristofer Brozio:

    I visited your Viddler site and checked out quite a few videos, but it is not clear to me which might have been shot with the Jazz. Can you mention the products names/dates?

    Thank you,
    kwc

  • Kristofer

    It’s like the oldest ones.. LiteOn, Wicked Lasers, and NZXT Avatar and HeadPlay

  • sandie

    I would like to see the videos you made with the Jazz camcorder and like someone else asked, which videos were shot with that camera?

    THANK YOU

  • ron

    need owners manual mand software cd gessner40@verizon.net

  • Karen Moran

    Where can I purchase a replacement battery charger for my HDV188?
    Thank you.

  • laurie

    Hi – does this camera (and the Jazz 720 that sells for $99 work with Mac computers? And by works I mean you plug it in, it recognizes it and immediately does what it’s supposed to do.

    I’m trying to decide which pocketsized camera to buy; I want simple and small!

    thanks, Laurie

  • Rafael

    Hi, does anybody know the exact weigh of this camera? i know the 178 is just about 6 oz but i can not find the exact weigh anywhere. i am into rc helicopters and planes and this small camera would do the job but i need to make sure it is light enough to have the remote control plane or helicopter lift it with no issues, thanks.

  • Mike

    Just a quick question…my pictures, both stills and video come out with a blueish color when I do shots of snowy landscapes. This only happens when I shoot snow scenes…the camera works fine otherwise. I know a little about photography.. maybe the snow scenes are ‘tricking’ the sensors?…is there a different setting I could use for this? Other than that this the HDV 178 works like a charm.

  • Juli

    I also am need of a owners manual. Bought my Jazz HDV188 used. Could you email me a copy??

  • Danny

    I bought mine just a week ago but it only came the a basic guide…is there anyway to get a full manual??

    Thanks

  • Julie

    I also need a copy of the owners manual for the Jazz HDV188. Thanks

  • QCJN

    hi, here’s a link to get the manual. Just copy and paste in you’re adresse bar browser

    http://qcjnimages.googlepages.com/manuale.pdf

    I’M on linux Ubuntu, i didn’t install the h264 codec, but it works anyway. Do you think that can affect on the quality ? or do i have it and don’t know ? And does HD format only works on a hd tv, cause it’s pretty bad on the computer ? And as for the mp3, does it take a specific format, or can i have a permission problem, cause there are some mp3 file that the jazz didn’T see, althought it was there ?

    Thanks !

    QCJN

  • jolane

    I have the camera and can’t figure out how to download on to pc, I plug it into the usb port and into the camera but it still doesn’t work. I do not have the software to download or a owner’s manuel SOMEONE HELP ME PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!

  • Dantae

    WTF…when i play my videos my player says they are many hours long yet they are only a fey minutes….?

  • Riley

    I need the manual and driver can you please help me. There are pages that say you can charge it using the usb cable how do i get it to work See we had i fire and the cam was in the car every thing else was destroyed please help thanx and merry christmas

  • PJ

    Do you know what you need to do to record sound with the video? I was trying it the first time and noted there was no sound? Seems a pain if you have to do extra steps to get sound instead of it recording both automatically. The manual isn’t overly helpful.
    Thanks.
    PJ

  • Mr.Senior

    need software cant play back video on my laptop (vista) just sound please

  • RJ in Nevada

    Hello, I just received this camera for X-Mas, it was used but in great condition. However it did not come with anything other then the HDMI cable and video cable. anyone know where I can download the software / drivers / ect. Thanks RJ in Nevada

  • selena gonzalez

    please help i need an owners manual for my camcorder jazz hdv 188

  • SOOPERGOOMAN187

    i JUST GOT THE jAZZHDV178 AND it’s Christmas day and my laptop has no cdrom drive. can someone please help me out with pointing me in the right direction to get this ever ellusive driver? I’ve been at it for 6 hours now. Thanks in advance for any help given…

  • Lost

    Mine didn’t come with a CD for the drivers to make it work as a webcam on my pc, does anybody or can anybody please make a link for the drivers to make the webcam work? I have the Jazz HD 178 Elite model.. Thanks in advance.

  • Found

    I found the drivers that also works with Vista, this is to make your Jazz HD elite 178 work as a webcam, it also works for XP. Took me a while to find it but sharing my find for the rest.

    http://rapidshare.com/files/176942619/JazzHDElite178WebCamDrivers.rar

  • Found

    I uploaded the webcam drivers @ http://rapidshare.com/files/176942619/JazzHDElite178WebCamDrivers.rar

  • Bruce Hamilton

    Got the JazzHDV188 camera recently sent over from America & am having problems with it! Cannot get any sound playback with video can you help? Cannot really take it back to Walmart for a repacement as I live in Scotland!!

  • Helping

    When you do the playback in the video camera itself do you have sounds? Or does this just only happen when you play it back in your computer? If its only doing it in your computer then its just only a codec problem that you just have to download. If the playback inside the camera has no sound then go to settings and turn on the sound option.

  • PJ

    As Bruce asked, how can you get this to record video and sound at the same time?
    Thanks.

  • Terry

    Hi. I bought the Jazz HDV188 camera about 6 weeks ago. Due to an unforeseen situation, I have misplaced the charger for the camera. Will the usb cable charge the camera? The battery is so dead that the camera will not even turn on even with the usb cable plugged in.
    I bought the extended warranty, but due to some flooding in our home, have also misplaced that paperwork as well. Does anyone have contact info for Jazz products?
    Also, can I purchase another charger separately?
    Thanks for any and all help anyone give me.

  • DANNY

    FYI,
    Best Buy sells a re-branded Jazz 178 & 188 under their Insignia brand. They have the manuals listed on the Insignia Support site @ http://www.insignia-products.com/c-52-digital-camcorders.aspx

  • Kevin

    My camera broke easily… The part that flips out is really delicate and it broke so i went and bought a Kodak 716 camera.. You all should go buy this instead!

  • Dean

    Hi, got a Jazz for Christmas and am having trouble zooming in/out when recording. I am pretty sure I did when I was just playing around with it in the beginning, but don’t know if I changed a setting somehow and need to change back so that I can zoom when recording, please help?

  • Cliff

    I’m using a Mac and am having trouble using the AVI files from the camera. There’s sound but the video is black. I want to use Imovie to edit, does anyone have any ideas what I need to do? Thanks in advance.

  • Rob

    Can I get rid off sound when opening screen? For weddings in church etc it’s annoying.

  • seb

    Can i record something from my tv right to my camera?
    For example i want to record a video from my ps3 right to my camera instead of positioning the camera in front of the tv then recording.
    Is there anyway to do this?

  • DavidW

    I’m having the same problem as Cliff (3/1/09). The disk that came with the camera seems to be for PC only. Thanks to anyone that can help us.

    Cliff’s question:
    I’m using a Mac and am having trouble using the AVI files from the camera. There’s sound but the video is black. I want to use Imovie to edit, does anyone have any ideas what I need to do? Thanks in advance.

  • bonnie

    I need an owners manual – seem to have lost it and cannot find the company on-line to order another

  • bonnie

    Sorry – I forgot, need and owner’s manual for jazz hdv-178

  • rosie

    need software and owners manual for jazz HDV188 if anyone could help.

  • Linda W

    Help – also a Mac user and also getting just sound, no video when I download to my iMac. And yes, I have sound and video when replaying it on the camera. What’s the deal?

  • Sobrina Crenshaw

    in need of a manuel for my jazz hdv188 can’t download it plz send a pdf file of the manuel to get the benefit of my camera

  • Brenda Smotherman

    I’ve used the camera now for two months and can not understand why some pictures are good, but most are terrible. I’ve tried all the settings and nothing seems to make a difference. When I try to use the zoom feature, the pictures are very grainy. Others are extremely blurry. Don’t understand why!!

  • David Carrington

    I need an owners manual, driver and the CD for the Jazz Elite HDV 188, Ihave been looking everwhere on the Internet try to find them.

  • staci

    I am looking for an owners manual for the Jazz HDV188. Could someone please send me a pdf?

    Thanks

  • marty

    I need owners manual and copy of cd that came with jazz hdv188

  • Kristofer Brozio

    here is the file: http://rapidshare.com/files/203197992/Manuale.pdf

  • Tenagay

    got my jazz elite hdv188 camcorder 2 days ago for my birthday.i was watching a video and it stucks and shut off now it wont come on

  • rusty fulks

    i recently purchased a jazz hdv178 but the unit did not come with a operators manual, or any software. i would like to be able to put music on the device but i dont know how. can anyone help? thanks!

  • Relief at last/SOOPERGOOMAN187

    Thanks FOUND, you’ve finally saved my day and well half the known universe’s. Kudos to you Sir.

  • Relief at last/SOOPERGOOMAN187

    For puttin music on it, just plug in the usb, then on your PC go to “MY Computer” in there you should see a “Removable Device”. That’s most likely your cam. Now once in there you go to the MP3 FOLDER, if it’s not there Make one and put your music in there. ALL will be fine after that. I figure someone helped me so I should help back. Check me out at Youtube: thatpspguy

    The DCIM folder is for PICS, Videos and voice recordings. ( which are done when you have video or pic selected. go to the menu and select voice, that will bring you to the start recording screen.

    Cheers.

  • CHRISKELLY

    I HAVE A JAZZ HD188 AND IT WORKS GREAT BUT I DO NOT HAVE THE AC ADAPTER POWER CORD. DOES ANYONE KNOW WHERE I CAN PURCHASE ONE OR KNOW OF A GREAT SUBSTITUTE LIKE A CELL PHONE CORD I CAN USE. I KNOW ITS 5VOLTS BUT I HAVE TRIED SOME AND THE RED LIGHT BLINKS FOR A SEC OR TWO AND THEN STAYS ON. I DONT KNOW IF IT IS CHARGING OR NOT… PLEASE HELP ME OUT……… THANK YOU

  • robby g

    I also am in need of some ac charging information, I have lost my cord. can I order one? Is there a substitute cord? thanx in advance!

  • Arnie

    David
    19/11 – 2008 at 21:52
    Can’t get Jazz video to play on any player, Windows Medai, Quicktime. All I get is sound and no video. What codec is this video camera using. It says AVI, but not sure that is true.

    IM having the same problem as lots of folks on here… did anybody figure this out yet??
    Arnie

    ArticleIX (at) Aol.com

  • Tina

    I ALSO AM IN NEED OF AN OWNERS MANUAL/OPERATORS MANUAL . IS THERE ONE AVAILABLE PLEASE…… I BOUGHT MINE FROM A RELATIVE WHOM HAD BOUGHT IT FROM A FRIEND AND THE ONLY THING I GOT WITH MINE IS THE CHARGER AND MEMORY CARD. AND I WOULD LIKE TO PURCHASE MORE THINGS FOR IT AND ACTUALLY LEARN HOW TO USE IT.

  • Tina

    I NEED A COPY OF THE OWNERS MANUAL FOR THE JAZZ HDV188 . THANKS

  • sarah

    hi um what is the price i cant find it and do i buy it here thank you this would be perfect for me its everything i want in one device thank you bye

  • gino

    You can find it at Walmart for $99 I just bought one today.

  • LAURIE B

    I LOST MY CD SOFTWARE FOR MY JAZZ HDV178 I WANT TO KNOW WHERE ONLINE CAN I GO TO DOWNLOAD THE DRIVER FOR MY PC EMAIL ME AT SHAKEMUP@ATT.NET THANKS ALOT .

  • lisa

    Hi – I lost my charger and am need of a new one. Can anyone help? If so, please email me at rivera.twins@yahoo.com. Thanks!

  • Steve

    Having the same problem as Rob, is there any way to keep the camera from making that annoying chimming noise when turned on?

  • Charger

    I bought a charger that can hook up to the computer or the car at wall mart. it says philips on the package and has two heads for chargers a round unraveling extension cord (thats very thin) and a car charger

  • George suveges

    I made a mistake charging the battery in my car (12v dc) Now it is shot.
    Where can i buy one??
    Thank you.

    George

  • TRAVIS

    I LOST MY CD SOFTWARE FOR MY JAZZ HDV178 I WANT TO KNOW WHERE ONLINE CAN I GO TO DOWNLOAD THE DRIVER FOR MY LAPTOP OR IF SOMEBODY CAN SEND IT TO ME VIA EMAIL. EMAIL ME AT OPTIMIZEDTHUG212@ YAHOO.COM THANKS ALOT .

  • TRAVIS

    I LOST MY CD SOFTWARE FOR MY JAZZ HDV178 I WANT TO KNOW WHERE ONLINE CAN I GO TO DOWNLOAD THE DRIVER FOR MY LAPTOP OR IF SOMEBODY CAN SEND IT TO ME VIA EMAIL. You can email me at optimizedthug212@yahoo.com

  • Maria

    I have been searching all over the net for the instruction manual for the Jazz HDV178! I see that alot of others are searcing for it too. Can you tell me where I can find one?

  • jOAN

    I NEED THE CHARGER AND A CD TO DOWN LOAD VIDEOE,PIC??CAN ANYONE ADVISE ME WERE I CAN PURCHES THESE ITEMS MINE IS A jAZZ HDV188.. THANK YOU

  • jOAN

    I NEED A CHARGER,AND A CD THAT COMES WITH A JAZZHDV188!! I HAVE NEVER CHARGED IT SINCE I’VE HAD IT. DONT KNOW WHERE TO BUY FOR MY JAZZHDV188,PLEASE HELP..

  • Photog2983

    the jazz video camera packaging says it features motion detection, but I can’t find where to turn it on.
    Help answers for other problems –
    Zoom doesn’t work if the stablization is on according to the manual.
    The charger seems to be a standard usb plug. But the camera will not charge from a computer connection, only from a charger with a usb plug, like some cell phones or other cameras.
    Connection as a web cam on PC is very nice. windows even has a shutter button available on screen.

  • kateyes2u

    I have a Jazz HDV 178…all of a sudden when I download my videos to the computer form the camera…they flip upside down…when I send them from the removable drive to like “my documents” they still play upside down…what is WRONG???? Please help

  • AL

    I just purchased the Jazz HDV 188 w/no accessories or manual.does anyone know where I can get any accessories, owners manual? Its an awsome little toy,but I wanna use it to its full capacity. Please someone ….help!!

  • acantwell72

    I have read tons of reviews for this device. Most seem to think its a pretty good buy, but I am worried about the reviews that say “some pics come out fine, while others are horrible and grainy”.
    Could this problem be mostly user error, or is this product “hit & miss”?
    Any info appreciated! I am still researching and digging around for more reviews!

  • reenie00

    I need software CD for JAZZ HDV188. Where can I purchase this CD or how can I contact the vendor?
    reenie00@hotmail.com

    Thanks for any help.

  • Selina

    My camera is brand new,but rite when i took it home it wouldn’t turn on. So i charged it. The light stayed red which is supposed to mean its charged. I took the battery out while its plugged into the charger and it turns onto the main screen that turns off but u can tell the screens on because the screen is lighter than it was while it was off. Can anyone email me with wats wrong with it: lil_bunnii_fufu@yahoo.com

  • Matt

    when i bought this camera i opened the box and tried to install the disk to my mac and i knew it wouldn’t work. so none of my videos that i have uploaded will show any picture it’s just sound. if any body knows of a patch or something that i can download email me at forsh152@gmail.com

  • VERONICA

    HI. I JUST GOT THE JAZZ, BUT IT DIDNT COME WITH A POWER ADAPTER. DO YOU NOW WERE I COULD BUY ONE AT?

  • Bryan

    If anyone knows of a place where the drivers for the JAZZ 178 could be found, that would be super. I also like to know if webcam drivers exist for this camera. BTW the url listed for webcam drivers leads to a file that does NOT put drivers on your machinbe but DOES put all kinds of other garbage on it. My virus program freaked out!

  • albert taylor

    I like this camera. The way the camera is designed just makes it even better, along with the functions I really like this camera. Everyone’s asking me to sell it to them, (l.o.l) I won’t do it. The camera is a must have, it’s really versatile, an absolute trill ride of a camera. Get one. It’s in F*%&ing HD for crying out loud, America.

  • Kevin

    When taking video, it cannot be paused; it can stop an re-start a new movie, but cannot pause and continue with the same movie. Has anybody else have this problem or is this an issue to you at all? Thanks!

  • Terry Hill

    How can I get a power cord for this product?

  • http://www.pcbmovieblog.com Wolffman

    Thanks for the manual download, I was able to locate the drivers to download so I can use this on Skype now, but I cannot find a movie editor. Windows movie maker plays audio black screen, corel videostudio wont even import the files, Magix Movie editor does the samething as windows one except its a green screen. I love this camera but I cannot edit any of my movies unless the CD has an editor on it which I do not have since I bought this used. Can anyone help please email me wolffman@gmail.com

  • Kelly S.

    On sale this week at Big Lots for only $30 ~ gonna get one today!!

  • Big Johnson

    Has anyone figured out the problem about playback on windows just having sound but no picture?

  • Doc T

    For those with Mac computers, the AVI format that this camera uses is not compatible with Mac and as far as I have been able to find out, there is nothing that can be done about it.

    You can use a program called VLC (free download) to view the files on your system, but you can’t do any editing of these files. You can save the files to disk and view them but that’s all.

    I do a lot of editing for other people and these kind of cameras have been causing me a load of grief since they came out. I advise against them at all costs due to their incompatibility for cross platform use.

  • JoAnn Sprouse

    Someone gave me a used Jazz HD178 camera but did not have the manual. I have not been successful in finding one. Does anyone have a website or know where I might obtain a manual for the HD178? Thanks.

  • jesse d

    Hello , i lost my A\C adapter can anybody tell me were i can get one @ please, thanks jess

  • DLB

    did you take pictures from this jazz elite 188 camera …not me…it’s not good for pictures inside …

  • vdogeek

    Hi all, I have a Jazz HDV 189, my pc will not recognize it at all, Is ther a usb driver available for me to use on my XP Home system?

  • tanya

    I HAVE A JAZZ VIDEO CAMERA I SHOULD SAY HAD IT WON’T TURN ON . DID ANYONE EVER TRY TO GET TESE PEOPLE TO STICK TO THIER WARRANTY? I WAS GIVEN THE WRONG ADDRESS TO SENT IT TO AND STILL I HAVE A BROKEN CAMERA . OH YA I ONLY HAD IT FOR UNDER 90 DAYS. MORAL OF THE STORY DON’T BUY ONE.

  • daryl

    Im have a Jazz HDV178. It was given to me by a friend and she does not have the driver disc for it. Can anyone help me find a download site? Thanx so much.

  • Josh

    I’m using the Jazz HD to record a live event. I’m using the TV out feature to record directly to disc through a DVD recorder. The problem is that the INFO on the screen shows up on the TV out. So I am stuck with an entire recording that shows battery life, pictures remaining, etc. on the DVD. Has anybody found a way to take this stuff off the screen when using TV out?

  • Forcemaster2000

    I bought my jazz HDV 188 about a year ago, and love it, it’s a great little camcorder/camera, but I’d like to be able to use it as a PMP…which it advertises itself as, but I’ve yet to find any information on how to format videos so that they’ll play on it. That is, videos downloaded from the internet. Can anyone tell me the specs that videos would have to be encoded in to get this function of the camera to work? Appreciate any help!

  • http://ebay.com Heather

    I bought my Jazz Elite camera on e-bay and has worked well for about a month..now when i turn it on it only shows a blank screen. I haven’t dropped it that i can think of, but i do leave it in my purse for those unexpected pictures..any ideas on what might be wrong?

  • http://attillathehun@optonline.net George Suveges

    I love my jazz HD but hard to find charger for it.
    It is 120 AC and 3.7 DC out.
    Can anyone help???

  • islandchick31

    I have a Jazz HDV-189 camera and a new iMac. When I try to connect the camera to view my clips on the Mac it says on the camera that is is USB connecting but the Mac shows no signs of anything being connected. I can use the same cable for my digital camera and it shows up on the Mac just fine. Any idea how I can fix this problem?

  • http://technogog.com Granny

    I am in desperate need of an instructional maual for my Jazz HDV 188, I bought it used without a manual. Please help an old Grand Ma. I also need a drivers disk. Please help!

  • mark

    Where can I purchase a replacement battery charger for my HDV188?

    Or which other type of battery can i use?

    Thank you.

  • KHALIL

    IM LOOKIN FOR A CHARGER FOR MY JAZZ ELITE HI DRF. VIDEO CAMERA HDV188 HOW CAN I GET 1 OR WHERE DO I LOOK FOR 1 AT CAN U PLEASE HELP ME …THANK YOU

  • Latisha

    i’m trying to find an online driver/install program for the jazz camera. my disk drive won’t read anything, so i can’t install the program for it. please help! thanks!

  • Brad

    I pluged my camera into the wall charger the other day, a Jazz HDV188, and let it charge. However, it dosen’t want to hold a charge. I open it up, it comes on, and then it dies. I’ve tried chargeing it with the wall charger and the USB cord. It is only about two years old. How long should the battery be good for? Please help, thanks.

  • Wade

    Hey can i record directly threw the tv i need it for xbox pleaseemail me if you can wade_hammer@hotmail.com

  • andy

    ok. i have a jazz hdv188 i plug in into a charger(dont know if it works for it) but it blinks red then it stays on and the screen pops up then goes off. and it is on just blank idk what is wrong please help email nme at andyluvyooh@hotmail.com

  • Paito2522

    so where did u find a charger for it i lost mines n cant find 1 can u help me my e-mail is paito2522@aol.com…ty

  • D_srussell

    How do I find out which SD Card is compatable with my Jazz HDV189 Hi-Definition Video Camera

  • Raekwonperry

    im try 2 put videos on youtube

  • Raekwonperry

    im trying 2 put videos on 2 my ps3 nd wit ma jazz but it is keep saying a usb device  is not found

  • RAEKWONPERRY

    i think u could use any USB like if u have a play station 3 controller u will have 2 use a USB

  • Alpone

     I am using a charger for my Motorola(Tracfone) cell phone. Same voltage and mini-plug. The Tracphone is cheap at Big Lots if you have one there or thry Wal-mart. Good Luck.

Sideshow Collectibles Taking Pre-Orders for Amazing Looking 1/4 Scale Boba Fett Figure

Sideshow Collectibles Taking Pre-Orders for Amazin…

Kristofer Brozio
I have to admit this collectible figure looks just amazing and if I had the extra cash I’d love to g…
Read More
3 days agoSideshow Collectibles Taking Pre-Orders for Amazin…
Atari Fit Let’s You Unlock Classic Atari Games for Exercising

Atari Fit Let’s You Unlock Classic Atari Gam…

Kristofer Brozio
So it seems Atari is coming out with their own fitness app called Atari Fit in early 2015. The cool…
Read More
3 days agoAtari Fit Let’s You Unlock Classic Atari Gam…
Dish Network Integrates Netflix Into Set-Top Boxes

Dish Network Integrates Netflix Into Set-Top Boxes

Kristofer Brozio
Now this is cool, Dish has become the first pay TV or cable company as it were to integrate Netflix…
Read More
3 days agoDish Network Integrates Netflix Into Set-Top Boxes
Archie Comics Relaunches with New ARCHIE #1 Next Year

Archie Comics Relaunches with New ARCHIE #1 Next Y…

Kristofer Brozio
I never got into Archie comics, I was more into sci-fi and fantasy and super heroes and such but I d…
Read More
3 days agoArchie Comics Relaunches with New ARCHIE #1 Next Y…
Shazam for Windows Phone Gets an Update with Cortana Support and More

Shazam for Windows Phone Gets an Update with Corta…

Kristofer Brozio
I do miss my Windows Phones, I had two of them, but I went back to Android because there’s just more…
Read More
3 days agoShazam for Windows Phone Gets an Update with Corta…