Imation Apollo 500GB 2.5" Portable Hard Drive

galaxy s3 covers

Manufacturer: Imation

Product Name: Imation Apollo 500GB 2.5" Portable Hard Drive

Review Date: 10/03/08

Author: Kristofer Brozio

DSCF6980

A few days ago I took a look at a Verbatim 160GB 2.5" portable hard drive and I found it to be a decent little product, but today I’ve got the Imation Apollo 500GB 2.5" portable hard drive for review. The Apollo is well made, looks nice, is small and portable and actually averages out to be less expensive per gigabyte when compared to others out there.

So read on to learn more about a great little portable hard drive…

The Apollo comes in an attractive box with pictures and a bit of information on it.

DSCF6740 DSCF6742

Included with the Apollo is the usual documentation and a dual connection USB cable to provide additional power if need be.

DSCF6745  DSCF6747

I have to saw that the Apollo is a very attractive portable hard disk, when I first opened it I was very impressed not only by it’s looks but by how small it is. The Imation Apollo seems very well made, it feels sturdy and rugged, and it’s lightweight.

DSCF6767  DSCF6771

Here is the Apollo compared to a couple other 2.5" enclosures I have on hand, it’s easily the smallest:

DSCF6775

On one end of course you’ll find a USB connection, the mini style of connector, on the top you’ll also find a small LED indicator that glows blue when powered and blinks to indicate activity.

DSCF6760 DSCF6763

DSCF6956 DSCF6960

Of course I was curious and had to pull it apart, something I would highly advise against, besides being very difficult to get apart it’ll most likely void any warranty on the product. Opening it up I found a Samsung HM500LI 500GB, 5400RPM 2.5" hard drive.

DSCF6989 DSCF6985

Specifications:

Imation Apollo 500GB 2.5" Portable Hard Drive

Imation Apollo 2.5" Portable Hard Drive

The Imation Apollo 2.5" Portable Hard Drive offers high-capacity mobile storage for data, photos, presentations, videos and music in a pocket-sized device that is lightweight, stylish and extremely durable. The Apollo drive is fully USB 2.0 powered and does not require an additional power supply. A blue indicator visually shows when data transfer is in process. The Apollo Hard Drive is available in 160GB, 250GB, 320GB and 500GB capacities, and comes with easy-to-use Total Media Backup software that is compatible with both PC and Mac.

Features:
* The sleek, ultra slim design easily fits in the palm of your hand or briefcase pocket.
* Fully USB 2.0 powered, no additional power is required
* Available capacities include 160GB, 250GB, 320GB and 500GB
* Easy-to-use Total Media Backup software included
* Three year limited warranty

Size (LxWxH):   127.4mm x 80.9mm x 17.2mm

System and Software Requirements:
* Windows® 2000, XP, Vista
* Macintosh Mac OS 10.2.8 and above
* Linux® 2.4 and above
* Total Media Backup software compatible with PC and Mac

Before I get into any testing, Imation did include some backup software already on the drive, you just have to install it. It’s called Arcosoft Total Media Backup, and personally it’s not something I would like to use as my backup software..

Total Media Backup just blanket copies or backs up everything with the parameters you set, you can’t go in and specify certain folders of files to be backed up. You can select the formats, like MPG, DOC, AVI and everything else, but it just searches you hard drive for these file formats and backs them up. You can select full backup or incremental, where it only backs up new files added since the last backup.

Checking the Arcsoft website I found that the version included with the Apollo is a scaled down version, the full version includes burning capabilities as well and a few other features.

Don’t get me wrong here though, Arcosft Total Media Backup could be useful to someone, just not me personally. It’s a great, easy to use backup software solution for those that might not have much experience with this type of thing, in the right hands it could prove very useful and worthwhile.

3 4 5 6 7 8 10 12

A few days ago I reviewed the Verbatim 160gb 2.5" portable hard drive, so I thought it would make a good comparison for the Apollo, and compare to another I’ve got on hand and the OCZ Rally2 Turbo Flash Drive.

I used SiSoft Sandra 2009 Removable Storage Benchmark for testing and comparison, higher scores are better.

graph

From all of my time reviewing I’ve learned that it seems the larger things get the slower they are until technology catches up with them, and obviously this is very true here. The Speeds aren’t the greatest, but it’s not really a good comparison either, it would work much better if I had other 500gb HDDs to compare to, but it gives us a general idea anyway.

Personally I’ll take the capacity over the speed any day, the Verbatim was only 160GB, while the Imation Apollo is 500GB, so yeah I’ll take the slower 500gb over the faster 160gb….

The Cheapest I found the 500gb Apollo online for was $172 plus shipping and the cheapest I found the Verbatim online for was $98 plus shipping.

Which, without shipping averages out to 61 cents per gigabyte, while the Apollo averages out to be 34 cents per gig, the Apollo is a much better deal.

 

Conclusion:

The Imation Apollo is an excellent choice overall for you portable storage and backup needs.

The Apollo might not be the fastest, but it is the cheapest on average per gigabyte from what I found online, and as I said I’ll take the larger capacity over the speed anytime.

The Apollo looks great, it’s small and lightweight making it very portable and it seems well made.

The only suggestion I could make is that Imation should include a carrying case with it to protect the Apollo and carry the USB cable around with you easier.

Pros:

-Small and lightweight

-Large capacity 

-Seems well made 

-Low cost per gigabyte

Cons:

-Not the fastest 

-Included software is basic

 

Grades:

Overall:

 Design: score-10-10

Performance:

  • Pingback: Imation Apollo 500GB 2.5" Portable Hard Drive

  • Matias

    I just got an apollo 250gb, nothing to complain about it, just de perfect deal for me at least, a simple way to carry my movie collection and simply connect it to the usb input of any tabletop divx player.

    Awesome!

  • cat

    just got the imation 160GB apollo portable hard drive. i guess imation read your review coz it now comes with a leather carrying case :) nothing fancy just something to protect it from the usual bumps and scratches.

  • marc

    I bought apollo 320gb 28 days ago…. with just one bump, half of my files are already CORRUPTED. the hard drive is still usable but i can’t put large files anymore because of the bad sectors that i cannot detect. the hard drive has an unusual sound since the bump. i should have bought simpletech instead of imation apollo because i never encountered any problem from my other simpletech hdd since i bought it. maybe because they’re using hitachi hard drives….. unlike in my apollo hard drive, they’re using toshiba…..it sucks…

  • Kristofer

    Don’t know what to tell you, I haven’t had a problem with it yet, and I dropped it a couple times… nothing is perfect, especially electronics… be careful with hard drives…

  • Derek Bunn

    I have had my Imation Apollo 500G for a couple of weeks, worked fine and didn’t seem slow backing up my 5GB of files, but today my laptop could not recongnize it a couple of times, hope this is not going to be a regular thing. I would be interested to know if anyone else has this problem.

  • Nishant Mehta

    Appolo 500 gb now includes a carry case in the box. There is an elastic band which goes on the outside of the case on the back side. I dont know whats it use but i am able to slid in the usb cable in it. So maybe the manufacturers read your review.

  • Philip in Hong Kong

    I have picked up my second 500GB drive and it’s working really well. Only $110 inclusive so REALLY can’t complain.

    In fact it’s cheaper than buying the raw drive so this second drive I’m going to strip out and put in my laptop.

    Any tips on opening up the drive other than brute force?

  • Pingback: Pinnacle Video Transfer

  • deepu

    my Apollo imation 160 Gb hard disk is not working now after i had changed my new computer. i think it is the problem of the USb drive. i dont know what happened …if somebody can help. Light is on but its not recognised by the system

  • Bobby

    I have my Imation Appolo 500GB since the last 4 weeks, it worked well but since a while the USB does not recognize my Laptop, seems to be a problem by the Imation! now must findout how to manage this Problem!
    Bobby

  • Dingyan

    Hi, can you give any instructions on how to take out the drive? I can’t seem to remove the casing at all.
    Thanks!

  • B

    Ive had the Apollo 250 gig for a few months now and just discovered that i cant put a file that is 5 gigs in it. There is clearly enough space for it but its saying that i need to clear space for it, the only thing i can think of is that it wont accept files over a certain size. I don’t know why. Has anybody else have this problem?

  • Kristofer Brozio

    Because it’s formatted in FAT32 so you have a 4gb file size limitation, if you want to lift that re-format to NTFS

  • Ral

    I have just bought my second Imation Apollo. The first was a 160 and this one is a 360. The first has proven to be very unreliable. Always having problems getting it detected. sometimes it works but more often it does not. Pretty much unusable.

    I have just started using the new one. Having to format it NTFS so I can copy across big files but again it was not detected once so far. I also got an error that the drive was full? don;t know what that was about hopefully a format will fix it. Otherwise it will go straight back tomorrow. I saw 160Gb Maxtor with 5 yr warranty. Might try that one.

  • Ral

    Just to add some more to this. I am trying to back up my old PC and copy My Docs and Desktop. There is fair bit of data will files from DVD images to txt files. several Gigs. Any way the copy keeps failing with Device is not ready.

    This happens anywhere from 5 to 50 secs. I have re-partioned and re-formated (full format). It seems as though this is another dodgy drive. That is now 2. My opion of Imation is rapidly deteriorating. And this one is brand spanking new. Today. No bumps, drops, etc.

  • kl

    i have the same issues of the drive not being detected. But i think using the Y-usb cable helps alot as i think it needs a 1000mA to run reliably.

  • BL

    Everyone having trouble with the computer not recognizing the drive on windows based computers- try these steps below (this happened to me on a Simple Tech drive). Sometimes windows assigns the same drive letter to two devices thus only one will show up. You have to change one of the drive letters for it to recognize the drive.

    Right click on “my computer”
    Select “Manage”
    Under storage click on “disk management”
    You should then see drives on the right side of the of the window, one might should have the amount of storage space that your external hard drive has
    Right click on that drive
    Select “change drive letter and path”
    Select “change”
    Pick a different letter from the drop down box
    Click “ok”

    Hopefully that helps

  • rex

    i bought 500gb imation, but when try to use it is only 465gb… 35gb were missing? it is unreasonable why does the 35gb is just for the installer of mac or windows,honestly its too big reduction! any explanation?, hope this is not cheating!?
    please reply me @ rexsoto@yahoo.com
    thank you!

  • Kristofer

    That’s normal for hard drives…

  • flame

    this drive is compatable to use…

  • jean yip

    BTW . u sure can get samsung hard drive inside ? OR IT DENPANS ?

  • antonio

    hi
    i have apolo 2.5 portable hdd 160gb and i can not open on mac powerbook g4
    please help meee

  • dks

    Recently I bought a Apollo 2.5″ 320 GB External Hard drive but the capacity is only
    300 GB. Please give a solution to get back my 20 GB.
    Reply at : daksh_96@yahoo.co.in

  • Pingback: Seagate BlackArmor PS 110 External Hard Drive

  • HMV

    i just bought mine like several months ago, has nothing but extra movies on there to make space for my laptop, and now, the damn thing wont even work properly!!!!!!…….Hell, it wont even open up on my laptop now….!!!!!…..thats all i have to say about this hard drive…

  • simon bristow

    i bought one a few months back i thought the case was great and the leather pouch that it comes in but once it was full of movies it plays fine but when i want to tranfer data it will move a few gb then it comes up with path not specified and i have to reload it it is a big pain and takes days to tranfer data

    if anyone has any tips please help

  • Chris de Haan

    My boss gave me an Imation Apollo 2.5 Portable HDD in order to leave more space on the network. At work my computer (Windows XP) recognizes this device without a hitch. The same goes for any laptop that’s connected. My home PC desktop (Windows XP), however, somehow doesn’t even register the fact that the Apollo is connected. The blue light of the Apollo is on, but it doesn’t buzz, like with all other computers. I’ve tried changing the connecting cable, but no result. My computer is a five year old Head Start. It works fine, except for some occasional USB-problems with memory sticks.

    Is there anyone out there who’s had the same trouble and resolved it?

  • Chrono

    Congratulations! Imation has read your review! They linked to your review on their product site.

    http://www.imation.com/en/Imation-Products/Hard-Disk-Drives/External-Hard-Drives/Apollo-Portable-Hard-Drive/

    I can’t wait to get myself one Apollo!

  • ivp

    i bought my imation apollo 2.5 500gb hdd what can i do now because it can’t recognize by my laptop.. pls help to fix it

  • Sas

    Right now I am a little bit pissed with my Apollo hard drive. My computer (Win XP) at home does not detect the drive. That is so annoying! I already treid several thing but it does not work. As a I can see several people have this problem. Why is it still going on? Imation has to do something against it.
    Thx

  • Alberto Barros

    I have a external portable disk drive with Imation Apollo USB 2.0 2.5″ Portable hard Drive 500GB . It has problem because I did mistake in reformat so that now could not open. Pleas e send me the free software so that I can reinstall its’ software in to my external drive mentioned.

  • jaunjo

    i have a proble with the same model but with 320 gb

    when i pick the safe removal it never let me take it out

    well not always but the mosy of times

    any idea???

    im worried that some day i would ruin it

    my whole life depends of apollo

  • jaunjo

    BTW dont use the gray one

    if your pc dont detect the hdd

    maybe and just maybe (cuz this happend to me)

    the usb port doesnt send enough energy

    i suggest that you buy a usb 2.0 pci card

    i bought one and it works

    and if you have a laptop… maybe tour laptop its too old and you need 2.0 usb ports

    anyway the gray port can overload your hdd so … dont use it

  • jaunjo

    and for the guy of 300 gb that happends to every pendrive hard disk flash card

    always you loose some gbs you can format it but that would take a while i dont think that you already fill your hdd right????

    sorry for the bunch of comments

    remember windows 7 fix usb storage devices
    and if you cant enter to your hdd use total commander
    if you use karpesky and the folders disappear you can see them with tatal comm too just change some things in the options its some thing about (only experts)

    hummm anything else huuuh……

    O!!! and to fix the disappear folders… (in total comm). in win xp copy the folders and change their icons… in vista its easier just right click and chage the icon

    you know properties change icon choose the one and done

    remember to use scandisk and defrag regurally

    and thats the way you will have a long life apollo HDD

  • fasial

    hi guys i just buy protable hdd 2.5 but its conecting in computer is there any software or driver to use plllz help me.

  • Arthur

    I Brought the 500GB a couple of months ago. Really liked the design of the case that came with it :)
    I’ve never had any issues with the drive myself reads and writes files at very good speeds.

    I was very impressed with the quality of materials used, One thing worth mentioning is that it is extremely light weight. Tempted to buy another one.. haha.

    Thanks Imation/Samsung!

  • Zo…

    A while ago my Apollo 2.5″ 500GB stopped working. Windows, Linux and Mac OS only pick it up as ‘RAW’, and any attempt to partition it or format it in *any* file system is unsuccessful. It will say success, but the moment I reboot the machine (or unmount the drive), it goes back to being RAW.

    Anyone have this problem?

    btw, can you post the directions on how to open the case?

  • withheld

    My imation hard disk is a few months old. It used to have a problem of not getting detected on some computers (I use it to back up files from various computers I own) and now it’s not getting detected on any of my 4 computers, regardless of whether they are XP, vista or mac. I am contemplating changing a new one but I still need to recover the data inside. It may have a great price, but I am certainly not getting the value from the price.

  • Cony

    Imation hard disk is on “FAT” format which it can be use on Mac & Window platform. For FAT format; Disadvantage is, it is not stable on Window platform (sometime it can’t be used on certain workstation- some of the user have already experience it). While Segate HD is on NTFS format which is much stable on Window platform but it can’t be use on Mac platform. Besides that, Seagate hard disk is unable to convert from NTFS->FAT if you want to use it on Mac platform. Before you purchase, you must know the hard disk is going to be use on Window or Mac platform.
    For Window platform, it is recommence to use “NTFS” which I know “Segate” is on this format. For Mac platform, it is recommence to use “FAT” which I know “Imation” is on this format.

  • Desmond Ong

    I just bought an Apollo 2.5 Portable Hard Drive 500gb & will possibly regret it for the rest of my entire life. It begin smoothly when i was copying all my important documents, years & years of family photos, video of my kids growing up and ect. I ejected it from my desktop pc & tried to transfer the file to my mac and my mac did not detect the drive. Thinking it was a compatibility problem i went back to the shop in order to sort out the problem for me and apparently the drive was faulty already as it did not detect in any of the pc in the shop whether window’s or mac.

    My agony now is that all my documents and important stuff regards to my work is in the hard drive and the shop is not even sure whether the data can be recovered since it failed to detect the pc. Does anybody here knows whether my data can be recovered if the hard drive can’t be detected. If they were to open the case warranty might be voided.

  • Adam

    I am having the same problem that several people are having when they plug their 500gb in and the blue light is steady on but the computer does not detect it. I just reformatted it to NTFS and it has read it several times, but then today it just is not reading. Can anyone help shed some light on this subject?

  • meelo

    got the apollo 500gb 2 months back. all was great until my laptop couldnt detect it anymore. tested it on several other laptops, same outcome: blue light on but its not detected. losing my hair over this. i’m really tempted to open the case…

  • JelemyP

    I have the 1TB Apollo 3.5″ model. I have been using it on USB 1.1 machine and now I have a USB 2.0 machine I cannot get it to connect at above 12 Mb/sec. I used to use it for incremental backups so that was fine, but now the drive is completely useless for any normal file transfer. The types of files I want to store on it, take 15 hours to copy over. I tried reformatting the SAMSUNG HD103UJ Media drive with Disk Utility on Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.8 and all I get is “File Formatter System Failed”. I’ve tried the quick and the 7 hour format with the same result. I am stuck with the volume being formatted with a “Master Boot Record” Partition Map Scheme. While this format is quite readable, it certainly makes Flash Drives perform more and more slowly over time, so I was wishing to format the device as a HFS+ Journaled. I guess this would be the GUID or Apple Partition Map Scheme. Regardless of the format, has anyone had a problem where the device is stuck on USB 1.1?

  • Heba

    I have the portable HDD-500GB, I don’t know what is rong with it, my laptop detected for the first time only but no more now. I’v try it on a several laotops and desktops, I’m going crazy.
    I don’t know what to do, plz help me……………….

  • Willem

    I would like to clear up some USB slots on my computer and replace the Y shaped USB cable with an I shaped cable. Anyone know whether this is possible?
    Thanks.

  • vale

    my lap is a Toshiba satellite and it HDD works really good…

  • mopar

    I have bought the 320GB Apollo with the hope of using it to bulk store DivX video to play through the usb port on my dvd player, as i have been using a 4GB flash drive till now. The player does not seem to pick up the files on the Apollo as it did on the flash drive. Can anyone help??

  • Mopar

    I have a 320GB Apollo, bought to bulk store divx video for playback on my Pioneer vx-dv171 through its usb port. I have been using a 4Gb flash drive till now with no problems. The player does not pick up any video from the Apollo and just displays “usb data” in the screen. Can anyone help me?

  • Guillermo

    I have a 500GB Apollo, and it was well recognized by my laptop. However, i can’t format it or write anything there, because i got a message like this “the drive is write-protected”. Any ideas?

  • Adam

    I have the 500GB Apollo, and after a month it is no longer recognised. The blue light on the case goes on, but the external drive is not recognised at all. Imation are refusing to fix it or even look at it. I would highly recommend NOT buying anything from Imation in the future. I know I wont be.

  • Axel

    @Mopar: You probably have to format the drive to Fat16. Well at least with my Divx player I´m required to.

  • Jun

    Where can I find a link to download the driver software for windows of imation apollo 500GB external disk drive. Hoping your kind urgent support please.
    Note: Please my email address: junpolinar@gmail.com; please give a download link…

  • Mopar

    @ Axel: I tried that already. No luck unfortunately. Any other ideas gratefully accepted.

  • Dan

    Bought my Apollo” 2.5 250gb HDD over a year ago never had a problem with the drive had a problem with my computer where it wouldn’t read anything. but that was my fault for playing with the bios. quick bios reset and again no problems. oh wait its sometimes slow. depending on how long Ive had my computer running (10-15days) then it seems tired lol after being turned off for like an hour good as new again :)
    already getting another one but 500gb, hopefully it is as hard working and fault free as the 1st.
    Cheers Imation.

    (defrag and scan once every 3monthsish )

  • Angela

    I got my Imation 320G to backup my files about 6 months ago, its always been reliable and faster than any other usb drive, I’ve never had any issues……. until today, I reformatted the drive prior to transferring the contents of my laptop ready to update to Windows 7 (bear in mind this is my back-up drive), once i transferred all my files it wouldn’t let me safely remove the drive, i tried restarting my computer and it still wouldn’t, i figured there was just a file on there the computer was associating with daily use, so i turned of the coputer and disconnected the drive. i connected it to our desktop to ensure everything was fine, and it was, so i formatted my laptop and installed the new Windows 7…….. I connected it to my newly formatted laptop and now – the first time ever – no computer will recognise the drive. The blue light comes on, but stays on instead of flashing, and it is making a very faint whurr whurr noise – not continuous. I have tried everything to get any computer to recognise it, There is 250G of years worth of music, programs, photos of my daughter growing up, research and work for Uni…… now it is all gone! I have a 640G Western Digital desktop drive, that is connected to our desktop media computer, running a continuous media centre server, has 550G worth of streaming movies, and it has never played up. I don’t get it…. If anyone could help, please please help me…… I’ve really lost everything I’ve ever worked on, and all my research and memories

  • Gabriel

    My computer couldn’t detect the Imation Apollo 2.5 500gb after i’ve dropped in just once, I don’t understand. All my important data is in there! I tried taking it apart but to no avail I could just take out the screws and that is as far as i went. Someone has got to help!!

  • winson

    i have the same problem… my imation apollo cant be detected on any computer, its not on device manager… every one i talked to said that my files are gone… its depressing.. anyhow, i’m still trying to find a way to fix this.. anyone who can help, please e.mail me? when i connect it to a pc, the hard drive turns on (whirring sound and blue light is on) and thats it… please help….

  • Jack

    Crap drive, slow and not reliable. plugged it into a mac book pro and repaired it to regain most of the data but still the slowest drive in history. Contacted imation direct and was told they can do anything for the warranty because i am not in the country i bought it in. Overall it SUX

  • Jithesh D

    my imation apollo 2.5″ 500 GB external hard driv cant be detected on any computer, its not on device manager either… every one i talked to said that my files are gone… its depressing..even the people at the computer store say they cant do anything.. anyhow, i’m still trying to find a way to fix this.. anyone who can help, please e-mail me when i connect it to a pc, the hard drive turns on (whirring sound and blue light is on) and thats it… please help….
    pls mail me at jitheshjd@yahoo.co.in
    pls somebody help…

  • http://yahoo.com Khalid

    I just bought the Apollo 2.5 500 GB and it is in fat32?!
    Is that normal? and will converting it will ruin my phdd?
    please help.
    y2j_777@yahoo.com

  • Adam

    found it works when it wants too, is a complete annoyance…. Sometimes it flat out refuses to work for a while…. Expecting it to die anyday now and i dont have the spare storage to back up its contents…. Found a shop stocking 1TB externals (Maxtor or Western digital i forget) for $118 dollars and considering i paid $107 dollars (Australian) or something like that its a bargain… It looks like a nice stable reliable product, never has it bin dropped or even left the house since purchase and still has issues on and off being detected by anything at all… Will not buy imation in future and from reading comments above they clearly arent supporting their products well either… I expect to someday soon be tossing it in the bin but untill then will use it for a doorstop or something as im hoping it can atleast be trusted to do that

  • Kristofer Brozio

    Well.. just an FYI.. the hard drive died for me and I had to RMA it.. I wasn’t using it in the Apollo enclosure though, I was using it with a different enclosure… I had no problem though RMA’ing just the hard drive back to Samsung.. They replaced it with no problems

  • Kristofer Brozio

    To those that can’t access the files or are having problems with the enclosure… the easiest thing to do is take it out of the enclosure and hook it up to your computer, then you can be sure to get the files and you might find any problems the drive might have

  • keke

    crappy drive! i have had the shittiest luck regarding technology in these few months.First my laptop broke down so i recovered all the “important” files like over 20 gigs of photos and so on to my Apollo.First it worked fine with my new laptop (with windows 7) but all of sudden it stopped working (of course before i had the time to transfer the files to my new laptop) the proplem is this.I connect the harddrive to my computer.It works fine for like 1-2 minutes then it seems to disconnect(it dosent say its disconnected or anything)?! so i cant really trasfer anything “big” out of there becouse it disconnects before it is tranferred.i have tried it with different USB cables but no luck.Any suggestions? i dont think it my computer but i will try it with other computer as soon as i can and i will get back here to tell how it went.

  • alvin

    i have a problem using my hdd apollo 500GB it wont detect in my computer what should i do???please help me..email me…sarangheriz@yahoo.com

  • ALVIN

    how to repair my External hard drive 500GB Apollo.please help me..i have lot of important files in my hard drive..

  • james braselton

    hi there when will intel or apallo release there usb extrnal 600 gb solid state flash drive 100 extra gegabytes and no spinning platters eather i wounder how fast a 600 gb ssd would back your computer up

  • Cliff

    Detection Issues. I reformatted my 320GB Imation drive last night (NTFS), and now it cannot be detected in my home Vista machine, my home Mac, 2 PC’s at work (one running XP and one running W2K), but can be detected in a work PC running Vista.
    It’s the same symptoms everyone else having – where blue light comes on, slight whirring noise, but just not detecting.. It worries me that Imation provides a Y usb cable – one end for data and one end for Power – knowing full well that doing this, they are announcing that it would require a good amount of power for it to work. Many drivers only have a I cable and work just fine.
    Seeing the comments on here and being fully aware of my own circumstances, I just feel the engineering going on at Imation is sub-standard and they have a poor QA dept.
    Not sure if I can use this drive anymore for anything important.. Think I’ll leave it to gather dust and search out a new drive (certainly not from Imation)!

  • Ghose

    I have three 250 GB Apollo 2.5″ HDD. These are light weight, nice looking, sleek etc etc. But these became useless when I upgraded my OS from Windows Vista to Windows 7. Can any one including the manufacturer will suggest the remedies if any at all. Thanks.

  • Marco

    i have had mine for a while and have had the same problem as a lot of people, the blue light goes on when you plug it in and just stays on. if you listen to the hard drive, it makes a consistent sound that you would expect from a fully working one and the computer makes a noise when it is plugged in like when you plug anything else in (kinda like a boodoo) but nothing happens and it is not in my computer at all.

  • http://www.vf1motorsports.com Christian Sepulveda

    6 months from purchase date the 500gb apollo from imation failed… apparently self check goes ok (doesn’t get stuck powering up), but as soon as it gets plugged to the data stream, it gets stuck reading the header i guess…

    i wish i knew it had a samsung hd inside… i’ve had such horrible experience with samsung drives that i would have walked away from the deal…

  • bontex

    i am using Apollo 2.5? portable HDD for a while but now it just stopped working. the blue lights is on that means it is on but still my laptop does not recognize it. is there any thing i can do about it?

  • Simon Welch

    Does anyone know if the Imation can be used cross platform MAC/PC without reformatting.

    im after a device to transfer an image bank from one platform to another easily.

  • maodai

    I just come here to confirm that opening the box will void warranty.

    I asked a replacement bridge board because I have figured
    out only the bridge board was damaged. When I connected the driver to a
    Windows machine, the disk never showed up (with the blue light on); when I connected it to a Linux machine, I saw “new high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and
    address ” forever. I have test the portable diver by pulling the disk
    out and putting it into another SATA to USB portable enclosure. The
    disk worked just fine. I also tried to connect another good disk to
    the damaged bridge board. The bridge board just did not work.

    So I asked a replacement of bridge board in email, and I get response soon.

    Thank you for contacting product support, unfortunately at the moment of
    opening the unit the warranty is void therefore we can’t send you the
    requested replacement or any other replacement for that matter. I apologize
    for the inconvenience.

    For further assistance please give us a call at 1-800-351-8186 option 2.

    somebody’s name
    Product Support Specialist

    In all my known portable drivers, about tens, this is the only one that failed on the bridge board. However, I found several others reported similar failure as mine here. I cannot help thinking it is a design failure.
    It’s luck that the disk is fine.

    To open the box, you need to remove the screw, then use a small screwdriver to break into it. You will void the warranty, but you can find a new enclosure for 6 dollars with free shipping.

  • maodai

    I don’t see my comment show up after a night. So I refined it and try again. Sorry for duplication.

    I just come here to confirm that opening the box will void warranty.

    I asked a replacement bridge board because I have figured
    out only the bridge board was damaged. When I connected the driver to a
    Windows machine, the disk never showed up (with the blue light on); when I connected it to a Linux machine, I saw “new high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and
    address ” forever. I have test the portable diver by pulling the disk
    out and putting it into another SATA to USB portable enclosure. The
    disk worked just fine. I also tried to connect another good disk to
    the damaged bridge board. The bridge board just did not work.

    So I asked a replacement of bridge board in email, and I get response soon.

    Thank you for contacting product support, unfortunately at the moment of
    opening the unit the warranty is void therefore we can’t send you the
    requested replacement or any other replacement for that matter. I apologize
    for the inconvenience.

    For further assistance please give us a call at 1-800-351-8186 option 2.

    somebody’s name
    Product Support Specialist

    In all my known portable drivers, about tens, this is the only one that failed on the bridge board. However, I found several others reported similar failure as mine here, with blue light on. I cannot help thinking it is a design failure. Comparing with others, there’s no big capacitor on this board.
    It’s luck that the disk is fine.

    To open the box, you need to remove the screws, then use a small screwdriver to break into it.
    You will void the cheap warranty for the enclosure from Imation, the disk should be still covered by Samsung.
    A new enclosure costs 6 bucks with free shipping, then you never need to worry about the warranty on opening box again.

  • fizzly

    I bought a 160 GB Apollo hard drive & I got the same problem as most of you here. The hard drive cannot be detected, although the blue light is on.If anyone of you here knows how to solve this, please email me.I need the solution urgently as my important data are all stored inside!=(

  • AB72

    I got an HDD Apollo 2.5″ 500GB few months ago, but unfortunatly It is not working properly. At the begining when connecting the Apollo to my laptop (Dell Latitude D630)it is not recognized quickly then when starting saving files on the HDD it gives an error message saying that the file is corrupted and cannot continue the copy.

    I tried many times to reformat the external disk but especially today it gives another error saying that windows cannot format the disk.

    Any help please?

  • Luke

    Help.

    I used Time Machine with my imatation hardrive (apollo) and know
    I can not get any games on it. What is wrong. Did i delete something when
    I backed it up.
    :?

  • http://www.jorgelopez.cl Jorge López

    I’ve had an HDD Apollo 2.5? 500GB for over a year now and everything worked just fine until I decided to get a new laptop (Dell Inspiron 1545) working on Windows 7, which most of the times doesn’t recognize it, or it takes hours to make it do so. It’s frustrating, as it works just fine with my other machines with Windows XP and Ubuntu 10.
    Last night I gave format to the HDD with XP thinking maybe I could fix the problem, but no, I just won’t work on my new laptop.
    I’ve been searching around but haven’t been able to find a solution to this issue.

  • Bunyip

    Brand new Apollo 11 500gb yesterday, plug in and computer says instaling device driver and get a ping pong sound .. the little green tick thing shows up in the tray too safely remove it and that works , the blue light is on but I can’t access the thing … it dosn’t show up anywhere ???? help …I’ve uninstaled the drivers and tryed again still dosn’t show up anywhere ….

    I’ve tryed it on 3 laptops and its the same ….

    where is it hiding ??

  • yoman

    can someone explain to me why i only have 465 gigs? i bought a 500 gig harddrive. please? the computer says the max space is a 465.

  • isaac

    yes, i am using the imation-apollo.. its very good,,,,,,,,,,

  • ben

    hey i just brought a 320gb appollo and i’m noticing the slow speeds to transfer data from my computer to the hard drive. For example it takes around 50 mins just to transfer around 5gbs. I was just wondering if anybody else was having the same problem.

  • smartinvest

    I noticed that the 500GB is using Fujitsu MJA2500BH-G2, not sure it is a good drive

  • Andrew

    Same problem as every one else….Blue light, but no response…Avoid this product…useless tech support….

    Never touch this company again…..

    Short sell Imation and send them under. Makes for a very expensive door stop….

  • Ben Salvador

    I have the 500GB version. When I first attached the USB connector to my Mac I encountered the same problem many here did – blue light on but no recognition by the Mac. Fortunately my nephew was around and diagnosed that I had the GRAY (with 1 cable) USB power plug attached to the desktop instead of the BLACK (with 2 cables). I plugged in the BLACK on and it has worked fine ever since.

  • Notorious

    Just bought this yesterday. till i saw all the problems ppl had with it here o.O damn should have done more research xD hopefully mine will work fine and smoothly.

  • Kawashita

    For you guys who have problems with the desktop unable to read your device, try this.
    Don’t stick you external to the front usb ports,especially if you pc is more than 5 years old.Chances are that the usb in the front can’t provide you with enough power to supply to your external hard disc.Try sticking it at the back of your pc instead.Hope this will help.

  • The K

    My Imation Apollo 250 GB Portable Hard Drive worked fine for a year and a bit, but suddenly it started throwing up “This device can perform faster” messages and spinning down about 2 seconds after i plugged it in. I have to unplug and replug it (its taken in excess of 20 mins for it to work) until it connects properly otherwise it operates at USB 1.1 speeds which are not good for torrenting.
    I did some debugging and discombobulating and discovered it was the PCB that connects the actual HDD to the USB that was doing this. I found this out by plugging in an old 40 GB Fujitsu drive I had laying around, the same symptoms occured as with the original drive.
    It’s probably due to how rough its been treated in its life, it has travelled a lot and its cord has been tugged out at bad angles on multiple occasions so I think its all down to wear and tear.

  • Carlos

    Hi, I have been using an Apollo 320 HHD for more than a year now. It is perfectly working. However the USB on my laptop are rather old and sometimes the disk is not recognized. I think that in this case it needs the second power cable. I don-t usually do anything and the laptop recognizes it alone. I want to buy a 500KKD now and that is why I entered here, now I am rather confused…
    Carlos
    Lima/Peru

  • Krish

    I bought an 2.5″ Apollo II 500 GB portable Hard drive a week ago. When I connected to my desktop with windows XP, for the first time it got detected. The second time I tried to connect it did not detect even with the blue light on. After several tries it started working for the combination of 2nd USB port in the front and the 1st USB port on the back. It might work for you too.

  • akarsh

    hiii,
    i got my new 2.5? Apollo II 500 GB portable Hard drive few months ago nd i tried connecting it to the comp several times .its nt responding what do i do ?

  • Nana

    Hi, I got my new 2.5″ 320 GB Imation External HDD two days back, trying to Partition it but no use. I have HP Laptop with Vista, can anyone help. I tried through the Disk management but the Shrink volume does not work. Any help…?. Thanks in adv.

  • Fadil

    The hard drive is not being recognised by my laptop….this is absolutely bullshit. I have lot’s of important file. DONT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!

  • Ananthakrishnan

    I had the Imation 500 GB Portable connected to the server. I had to format the drives. While formatting, I accidently formatted the Imation Portable drive and lost complete data. Is there any software so that I can recover complete data in folder-wise contents?

  • matty

    when my imation 500 gb didnt work i bought a new sata cable and hooked it up to my computer as a hard drive no problem and very easy all my data was untouched

  • Tikka1212

    i have had my imation Apollo 320GB PHDD for like a year or so. never given any problems works on my laptop (late 2009 hp pavilion dv4) superbly but i have to say when i connect to some of my friends laptop it will not be shown.

    for all you people have had the same problem here is why it does not work.

    1.) the USB port(s) that it is connected might be the old 1.1 USB therefore the hard drive doesn’t work since it needs 2.0USB power.

    2.) the USB ports might be slightly damaged. note:- unlike USB pen drives USB hard disk will fail to perform even the slightest bit of electricity is not given from the USB port (if you get a message like “your USB device can perform faster” in windows 7 that means there is a small error with the port. it can be a driver error too)

    3.) always use the Y- USB cable, dont try to be a smart ass ;)

    hope this helped
    \m/

  • Tikka1212

    for advanced users

    please remove the hard disk from the enclosure and put it in a computer and install any windows os with a single partition that has NTFS file system if this fails there is something wrong with the hard disk so immediately get it changed from the retail outlet.

    this method should always work because samsung hard disks are pretty reliable (i have a 5 year old samsung hard disk and its still performs well)

    for 160GB and 250GB models the hard disk might be toshiba but rare to get a samsung, so these toshiba hard disks sucks and totally unreliable.(my ps3 hard disk was toshiba, after 5 months or so the HDD was corrupted)

    hope this helped

  • Paul

    oh my… I’m planning to buy a 500GB Apollo UX.
    when i read the users feedback i changed my mind.
    theres a lot of problems regarding the said Hard Drive.

    final recommendation guys? SHOULD I BUY THIS PRODUCT or NOT?
    or should I go to my 2nd choice MSI U1000 500GB or Buffalo MiniStation Lite 500GB?..

    answer me pls..

  • Richard

    Thanks for the photos, I have one here thats died and was looking for internal shots on how to take it apart (undid the 4 screws, had to see where the clips were!)

    just for the record this one has a HITACHI brand 500GB drive in it!

    Thank you

  • Petlogic

    i would like to suggest dat never by imation 500 gb portable hard disk, its total waste of money, the partions were lost 3 times n only thanx to the recovery software that i was able to get my valuable data back, its not all recomended from my side, it is cheapbut of no use

  • jerry

    My Imation 500gb was intially supported by my DVD player. I used to watch films. Once i formatted the harddisk, my DVD player is not reading the hard disk.. :( anybody can help.. I gues if u put the softwares that comes along with the brand new harddisk, it wud help. Not sure tho… :(

    • Kssrirambe

      if u ve tried formatting it to NTFS then offcourse it wont be recognised by most DVD players. So try formatting it to FAT32 which is not possible with windows. So u need a separate software to format it to FAT32. I used a developer software to format my diskdrive some months ago. Its name is swissknife. Hope this helps.

  • joe

    will this work with windows 7

  • Littleshop2u

    when i connect it to my computer, sometimes it disconnect and my computer cannot detect the drive, after a while, drive detected…..is this something wrong with the harddisk or the cable?

    • Nexnial

      the  usb cord is busted!!!try to change it!!

      • Nexnial

        oh..and not enough power on your usb slot

  • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_TPDFUNR6ABPMZWGS62YG2FTOAE Falloutboy

    I have about 5 of these Apollo 2.5 Portable Hard Drives (160 GB). These are all having the same problem. WE cannot seem to keep anything on them. We plug them in then add files, then safely remove the hardware. We reinsert them and…. nothing is there. We have reformatted them, error checked them, write permissioned them, and more. We are at wits end tring to understand why they are not working and holding the information. We even added some files, renamed them, closed the window and reopened the window, and the renaming didnt even hold. I’m confused and it’s boggled the whole IT department. Please help!

  • Geth

    its an imation apollo, but why it is samsung hdd inside? it means the brand its just the exterior, but the real is samsung??

  • Aalok

    I have been using Seagate external drives since last 5 years and never had an issue. Bought a 650 GB imation 2-3 months back and have lost many hours retrieving data. The damn thing just crashes, gets corrupt, just doesn’t work. I have formatted it many times, taken it to the service centre.

    Worst drive making company in the world. Buy only if you want to loose your data and sleep.

    They also have another brand called TDK. Imations make the most unrealiable drives.

  • Chaitanya

    You are right buddy, i am having the same issues since months and i am still unable to resolve those issues….My hard disk has lots of data in it and imation claims that they have data backup/recovery software but when the device is itself not detecting how can is restore my data??? Useless…

  • Jtidol

    I wish I have known about Imation problems before I got myself a unit. My 320gb was also not recognized by my notebook after just 6 mths. I reformatted it, was able to use for 1.5 days and then it couldn’t be used again. I will be getting a replacement unit since this is still under warranty but I wonder how long it will take before the unit fails on me again. Sigh….

  • Lhezirc

    my imation 320 gb fell down our floor.. it producesHard drive is producing clunking sounds clicking and grinding sounds. what will I do my computer cannot recognize it.. please help!

  • cellia

    my imation 320 gb fell down our floor.. it produces clunking, clicking, and grinding sounds. what will I do my computer cannot recognize it.. please help!

  • Oscar_delapena

    I went trhough all the posible ways t try to make my computer recognize the drive. The final solution was to use a powered USB Hub. The motor drains a lot of juice! If you are only getting a blue light this should fix it.
    Nice portability but if you need to carry arround a power supply it is lost.

  • Xstian

    To all,
    I had the same problem as anybody here, my laptop doesn’t recognize my Apollo 500GB (really 465GB), it was in a conflict with other USB connections, I just disconnect it at all and… my laptop recognizes the disk.
    To save files larger than 5GB just format it to NTFS system not FAT32.

  • Christian

    you can use paretologic data recovery to recover all of your files.

  • sheldon

    I have a 500 GB Apollo 2.5″ HDD and it’s working pretty well. Only problem is, I deleted a few files (TV shows, Movies, Music, etc) to get more memory space on the harddrive. After having deleted the files, the harddrive’s memory hasn’t changed. What do I do?!

    • Tanhstar28

      Hi Sheldon,

      i am James. I bought a 500GB Apollo 2.5′ HDD a couple of days ago. When i plug it in the first time my PC detected it and it was working fine. I safely removed it when i shut down my PC. The next day, i plug it into my PC and my PC does not detect it. tHe blue LED light is lit. I plug in my thumb drive to test the usb ports and they worked; so my usb ports are working. Any suggestion to solve this problem is appreciated. Thanks. 

      • Graham

        Dear Tanhstar28, Did you find an answer to your Apollo 500 GB problem – of the Blue Light being on (on the data storage device) but no Apollo icon showed up on your Desktop? I’m having the same problem. My email addy is: gbmacafee@bigpond.com

  • Haemogoblin2

    my 250gb apollo 2.5” HDD had stopped working ever since I moved to windows 7. it still works on windows XP though. emailed customer support, their reply was there was no report for error for this product and asked me to try on other OS. replied back to them saying it works on XP, then never heard from them since then.

    there is obviously compatibility issue with windows 7 but they are simply not addressing the issue. absolute disgrace i say, since the HDD has a 10yr warranty. never would I buy from them again.

    • Mhack122

      @7df1b972b842f403da8cf30dd3670690:disqus

      hello….my apollo portable hdd is working fine in windows 7 both my pc and laptop run a windows 7 OS i never had any complain with regards to apollo portable HDD….have a great day…

  • Anne

    I have 2 Imation hard drives 1 x 500gb and 1 320gb and when plugged one in they are not recognised at all anymore. Then to my surprise when I plugged both into my macbook – one came up after 30 mins. Now how on earth am I to get any help or support when most of you are having the same problem months and years ago. I am frustrated like hell not being able to get files or data once stored safely and now I have 2 dud hard drives and more time wasted. Can someone help me as well?
    AS

  • cerlynn

    I bought this hard drive too but yesterday night i tried to plug into my lappy, there is light on my hard drive but it seems like it cannot be detected to my com?

    can someone help me please? thank you

  • Mhack122

    @2d2eea143f3518b273750069d5004eae:disqus

    where the same i bought apollo 500gb and nothing to complain for me its the easy to handle where i can easily transfer my files to other pc or laptop….for me apollo is the best portable i ever have….

  • Mhack122

    @693ffb99a465ed4b29bc82fde81728be:disqus

    hi i encountered that one already but i found out that its a virus that cause that message…..all i do is got to registry and edit the removable device instead of 1 change it to 0 and restart the PC….after that its working again….have a nice day…

  • Muhazin-505

     how to put a password, to it.

  • Nexnial

    try file scavenger!!!

  • nikko

    guys try to connect it to the usb ports at the back of your PC’s i can assure you that it will work 100%. just connect it diagonally meaning one on the upper right and the other on the lower left(coz usb ports at the back are four and making a square like position)

  • Sandy

    I have a problem with the hard drive it is not recognised anymore by my laptop, it is asking to formating, which i did it worked a day then again not recognised and still asking for formating. I tried on other computer it is working but it is not my usb port because the other usb drive are working.

  • Anonymous

    I bought a few days before the Apollo 500GB 2.5 “hard drive when I inserted the first time my computer detects it, it works fine and I safely delete it when I shut down my computer the next day, I plug in computer and my computer does not detect it. blue LED lights up, I plug in my thumb drive, USB port and test their work, so my USB ports work any suggestions to solve this problem expressed appreciation.

  • Anonymous

    I want to buy an Imation Apollo 500GB 2.5″ Portable Hard Drive. It’s size is 500GB, so it can store more data. It’s price is also reasonable.

  • http://twitter.com/CatchRanto Suraj Surendran

    is there a recovery tool available for this? 

  • http://twitter.com/CatchRanto Suraj Surendran

    is there a recovery tool available for this? my hdd data got corrupted

  • Daniels Deloso

    I purchased an Imation hard drive… Apollo 320GB. I have my lessons, outline of my lectures,  short films from u-tube to enrich my topics/lectures.  I also have there a collection songs… BUT  NOW I AM GRIEVING BECAUSE I CANNOT OPEN IT ANYMORE.  WHAT MADE ME TERRIBLY HOPELESS IS THAT I HAVE DISPOSED THE RECEIPT … ANYBODY PLEASE…. COULD YOU TELL ME HOW TO HAVE THIS REPAIRED….????

  • Sarah

    my Apollo 500 GB hard drive started making a clicking noise when i connected it and the computer didn’t detect the drive.. please tell me what it is n how to make it right n if not how can i recover my data cz i have loads of important stuff in it :s 

  • Amaya

    hi.. marco.. just same with mine,,blue light is there when i plug it.. there sound comin from it too.. but never recognize in my computer..goodness!! all my important files are there!!and it makes me fell like crazy………..grrrr!.. i swear ill never buy any product from imation again!!!!

  • Carlos Oscar Felipe Arguello

    Tengo una HP G42-460La Notebook con Windows 7, resulta que ahora no reconoce el apollo, tengo cosas importantes grabadas en el, alguien sabe de donde puedo bajar los controladores.
    Gracias

  • Bird

    Blue light comes on but it can’t be detected. I have lost all my important data. It just stopped working out of the blue.

Turtle Beach Stealth 500X Fully Wireless Gaming Headset for the Xbox One Now Shipping

Turtle Beach Stealth 500X Fully Wireless Gaming He…

Kristofer Brozio
Turtle Beach has just announced the Stealth 500X which is the first fully wireless headset for the X…
Read More
3 days agoTurtle Beach Stealth 500X Fully Wireless Gaming He…
FTC Says AT&T Has Misled Consumers with 'Unlimited' Data Promises

FTC Says AT&T Has Misled Consumers with ‘Unlim…

Kristofer Brozio
Wow, so they’re just realizing this now after how many years that AT&T has been throttling us?&n…
Read More
2 days agoFTC Says AT&T Has Misled Consumers with ‘Unlim…
Boreas Announces Echo and Monterey Waterproof Series Bags

Boreas Announces Echo and Monterey Waterproof Seri…

Kristofer Brozio
I’ve always had a thing for good bags, maybe it’s because most of my life I carried a back pack arou…
Read More
1 day agoBoreas Announces Echo and Monterey Waterproof Seri…
WWE 2K15 Now Available on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360

WWE 2K15 Now Available on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 3…

Kristofer Brozio
I didn’t think wrestling was still popular, then again I just don’t pay attention to that stuff anym…
Read More
1 day agoWWE 2K15 Now Available on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 3…
Divoom Launches Airbeat-10 Bluetooth Speaker for the Shower and Biking

Divoom Launches Airbeat-10 Bluetooth Speaker for t…

Kristofer Brozio
Well here’s what I thought was an odd combination, a Bluetooth speaker that can go from the shower t…
Read More
3 days agoDivoom Launches Airbeat-10 Bluetooth Speaker for t…