Fallout 3 PC Review


TestFreaks Data











Fallout3 2008-11-18 20-59-08-61

Ok, so I’ve heard that Fallout3 is controversial but I can’t figure out why exactly though or what’s so controversial about this game. The controversy could be that Bethesda made such a great game all the others will be left behind? I can understand where some might say the whole post-apocalyptic thing is controversial, but I just don’t see it, it’s game only after all.

Fallout3 is set in the far future after the world has basically ended due to the usual things, greed, power, and nuclear war, eventually I’m sure it will end this way, so it might be a peek into our own futures… Seriously though Fallout3 is a magnificent game in visuals, actual gameplay and storyline, it’s a bloody, gory romp through the post-apocalyptic wastelands that will keep you coming back for more.

When you start the game, you start out at birth, pretty much literally just coming out into the world, and from there it’s all pretty much downhill. It turns out that you actually live in a fall out shelter or Vault as they are called and the game continues on for quite a bit going through the stages of life until you’re a teenager, that’s when your father decides to leave you. At that point in the game you decide to leave the safety and security of the vault to enter the wastelands in search of your father, where of course you’ll need to quickly adapt to the new harsh environment you’ve just decided to venture out into. Along the away you’ll meet many people and things, many of which are just there to do you harm, but some are friendly and you’ll actually learn quite a bit from them about yourself, your father and how to survive in the wastelands.



So this is a downloaded game from Steam, no boxshots, but I’m sure you know what the box looks like by now. I also don’t have an in game movie for you either as apparently Fallout 3 doesn’t play well with FRAPS, it was hard enough just to get all of the screen shots I’ve got for you, the game does not like other things running in the background at all.

When you play the game you’ve got a choice of first person or third person views, personally I played it all in first person as that’s what I like, and the third person view was just a bit awkward honestly.
Fallout3 2008-11-18 20-55-58-63 Fallout3 2008-11-18 20-55-48-61 Fallout3 2008-11-18 20-57-38-62 Fallout3 2008-11-18 20-57-08-61 Fallout3 2008-11-18 20-57-18-61 Fallout3 2008-11-18 20-57-28-61
During gameplay you’ve got use of a Pip Boy, which is basically a computer strapped to your wrist to keep track of stats, objectives and items. It can be very useful as it also acts like a pause as well so you can easily switch weapons without fear of getting killed or use medicine in the heat of a battle to heal yourself.

Fallout3 2008-11-18 20-56-18-64 Fallout3 2008-11-18 20-56-08-65

Specifications:

Fallout 3

Description:
Vault-Tec engineers have worked around the clock on an interactive reproduction of Wasteland life for you to enjoy from the comfort of your own vault. Included is an expansive world, unique combat, shockingly realistic visuals, tons of player choice, and an incredible cast of dynamic characters. Every minute is a fight for survival against the terrors of the outside world – radiation, Super Mutants, and hostile mutated creatures. From Vault-Tec, America’s First Choice in Post Nuclear Simulation.

Story:
Vault 101 – Jewel of the Wastes. For 200 years, Vault 101 has faithfully served the surviving residents of Washington DC and its environs, now known as the Capital Wasteland. Though the global atomic war of 2077 left the US all but destroyed, the residents of Vault 101 enjoy a life free from the constant stress of the outside world. Giant Insects, Raiders, Slavers, and yes, even Super Mutants are all no match for superior Vault-Tec engineering. Yet one fateful morning, you awake to find that your father has defied the Overseer and left the comfort and security afforded by Vault 101 for reasons unknown. Leaving the only home you’ve ever known, you emerge from the Vault into the harsh Wasteland sun to search for your father, and the truth.

Key Features:
    * Limitless Freedom! – Take in the sights and sounds of the vast Capital Wasteland! See the great monuments of the United States lying in post-apocalyptic ruin! You make the choices that define you and change the world. Just keep an eye on your Rad Meter!
    * Experience S.P.E.C.I.A.L.! – Vault-Tec engineers bring you the latest in human ability simulation – the SPECIAL Character System! Utilizing new breakthroughs in points-based ability representation, SPECIAL affords unlimited customization of your character. Also included are dozens of unique skills and perks to choose from, each with a dazzling variety of effects!
    * Fantastic New Views! – The wizards at Vault-Tec have done it again! No longer constrained to just one view, experience the world from 1st or 3rd person perspective. Customize your view with the touch of a button!
    * The Power of Choice! – Feeling like a dastardly villain today, or a Good Samaritan? Pick a side or walk the line, as every situation can be dealt with in many different ways. Talk out your problems in a civilized fashion, or just flash your Plasma Rifle.
    * Blast ‘Em Away With V.A.T.S.! – Even the odds in combat with the Vault-Tec Assisted Targeting System for your Pip-Boy Model 3000! V.A.T.S. allows you to pause time in combat, target specific body parts on your target, queue up attacks, and let Vault-Tec take out your aggression for you. Rain death and destruction in an all-new cinematic presentation.
    * Mind-Blowing Artificial Intelligence! – At Vault-Tec, we realize that the key to reviving civilization after a global nuclear war is people. Our best minds pooled their efforts to produce an advanced version of Radiant AI, America’s First Choice in Human Interaction Simulation. Facial expressions, gestures, unique dialog, and lifelike behavior are brought together with stunning results by the latest in Vault-Tec technology.  
    * Eye-Popping Prettiness!* – Witness the harsh realities of nuclear fallout rendered like never before in modern super-deluxe HD graphics. From the barren Wasteland, to the danger-filled offices and metro tunnels of DC, to the hideous rotten flesh of a mutant’s face.

*Protective Eyewear Encouraged.


Graphically speaking Fallout 3 is very nicely done, my Diamond Radeon 4870 easily handled it at maxed settings at 1680×1050 resolution, though I did have AA on 2X, but it still looked very good. Though, as with most recent games, I can’t figure out why everything is so shiny, after all we’re in a world after nuclear bombs have gone off, why is everything to shiny looking?

Fallout3 2008-11-18 19-33-31-10 Fallout3 2008-11-18 19-36-31-41 Fallout3 2008-11-18 20-44-40-28 Fallout3 2008-11-18 20-44-47-10 Fallout3 2008-11-18 20-47-10-29 Fallout3 2008-11-18 20-47-20-27 Fallout3 2008-11-18 20-47-30-27 Fallout3 2008-11-18 20-47-40-31  Fallout3 2008-11-18 20-48-00-30

The game does allow you to see distances to get an idea of the scope and size of the world you’re in, I often found myself just looking around admiring the scenery. Most of the details are nicely done from afar, but when you get up close to certain things they look rather blah, flat and pixilated.

Fallout3 2008-11-18 20-59-38-64

Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-00-08-60 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-00-18-60 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-00-58-64 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-00-38-62
The game is very immersive, I often found myself playing for several hours at a clip and not even noticing how much time had gone by, it’s a lot of fun to play and you just want to keep playing to see what’s going to happen next, or what or who you’re going to run into.

The onscreen interface is very basic, a crosshairs in the center, hit points gauge and compass on the left side, AP or action points are listed on the right, along with ammo count and condition of the current weapon. The interface might be basic but it works very well, sometimes less is better.

Speaking of conditions of weapons, you need to keep an eye on the gauge as your weapon will not work as well if it’s not in good condition, you can get it repaired of course or you can even repair it yourself if you’ve got enough skill to do it. As for weapons you’ve got all kinds to choose from, probably the most I’ve seen in any recent games, from sledge hammers and pistols to laser rifles and miniature nuclear bombs, Fallout 3 has got it all in terms of weapons.

With the Weapons is also the VATS system where you can target a specific point on the enemy and shoot at it, depending how good your aim is you can be greeted with as nice cinematic of the resulting damage you inflicted.

Fallout 3 is all very RPG-esque in that you can acquire experience points and level up, you also get attribute points to apply to skills to make you better at them, and there’s also specialities that you can acquire as well. Everything has a purpose it the game and in shaping your character, the game will change as you change, or the game will be determined by your players personality.

There are missions of course, it’s very mission based, but many of them can be solved in different ways, so it will be a different experience for everyone.

One possible gripe I could have is the walking, you’re going to do a whole lot of walking around in Fallout 3, and I mean like 30 minutes to get where you’re going, but along the way you’ve got the great scenery to look at and of course you’ll run into the occasional mutated animal, wild dog, robot or super mutant to keep you occupied.

Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-21-17-70 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-20-17-75 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-20-27-75 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-20-37-73 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-20-47-71 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-20-57-72 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-21-07-73 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-17-38-64 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-17-48-61 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-17-58-62 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-18-08-66 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-18-18-59 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-18-28-66 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-18-38-65 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-18-48-62 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-18-58-64 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-17-08-61 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-17-18-63 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-17-28-60 Fallout3 2008-11-18 21-16-58-62

Conclusion:
Fallout 3 is a game that I can easily tell you to go out and get, it is well worth it as it will keep you playing for many, many hours. It’s got quite a bit of replayability as depending on your choices things will move along differently for the player in the game.

The graphics, gameplay and storyline are all top notch, Bethesda did an excellent job with Fallout 3, and I personally can’t wait for a Fallout 4. I can easily see Fallout 3 winning game of the year and many awards, it’s just an all around excellent game.

Pros:
Huge world
Great graphics
Engrossing gameplay
Tons of weapons
Replayability
Great storyline

Cons: 
Lots of walking around

Grades:  
Overall score-9-10
Design score-10-10
Performance score-9-10
  • Pingback: Fallout 3 PC Review @ technogog.com | dsmTechNews()

  • Pingback: » Fallout 3 PC Review()

  • Anon E. Mouse

    Hmmm. So you don’t know what makes it controversial? Maybe this has something to do with the fact that you don’t even mention the existence of the first two games in your review? I suppose if you ignore the whole sequel – not sequel debate there is relatively little controversial about it (aside from the whole drugs thing), but this review looks like it intentionally ignored the whole thing.

  • Kristofer

    why would I mention the first two games in a review for this game? Sure it’s a sequel as that’s a given by the whole number 3 after the title. The review is taken as a stand alone, I’m not reviewing the others in the series so there was no need to mention them…

  • Donkey Punch

    Any game review of the PC version that doesn’t even mention the massive bugs and crashes associated with Fallout 3 is greatly suspect.

    Enjoy the revenue from the publisher because this review is nothing more than a paid advertisement.

  • Kristofer

    massive bugs and crashes? I have no clue what you’re talking about… I did mention the fact that it wouldn’t work with other things going on in the background, that is the only bug I found in the game, yeah it crashed if I had things running in the background, that includes FRAPS, outlook or anything else.. so yeah I did mention the bug or bugs. Did you even read the review before commenting? And where do you get your information about getting revenue from the publisher? I got the game from them and that’s it, please read and do a bit of research before commenting and making a fool of yourself by having no clue what you’re talking about.

  • Timbo

    Well, some research would reveal quite a lot of people suffering crashes to desktop (even post patch) – just take a look at the beth forums for a heads up. There’s lots of us – and i’m one of em.

  • Kristofer

    So I’m confused then.. you wanted me to include problems other people were having? As I said the only time I had a problem was when other things were running, if you turn the other stuff off there is no problem with crashing…

  • Kell

    Wow, someone writes a review and all people can do is complain about the reviewer not mentioning the two earlier games, and then complain about bugs.

    Firstly, zip a dee doo dah, so there were two earlier games. A game review should do exactly that – review a game. It might be nice to mention the game’s legacy, but that’s not a necessity. The reviewer mentions they’ve heard the game is controversial but can’t figure out why or what’s controversial *about the game*. Focus. *The game*. Not *the similarity to other games*.

    Secondly, so the reviewer didn’t experience ‘massive bugs or crashes’. Fair enough, some people may have, some might not. A reviewer can only comment on what they experience – to suggest they’re deliberately sugar-coating it would be like suggesting the complainants work for a rival game publisher/developer who are jealous of the success of Fallout 3. So you had some bugs and crashes, boo hoo for you. Don’t tar everyone with the same brush.

  • Kristofer

    Thanks! That makes me feel better, you just made my day…

  • Lizud

    I thought it was a very fair review. The point of the review is to give opinions on his own experience with the game, and then the reader takes that in context with what everyone else has written.

    As for the “controversy”, most people don’t even know that the first two games even existed. Even though they are well loved among the gamers that played them, they only sold about 100,000 copies, and that was ten years ago. Readers can follow the “controversy” if they want to, but it’s not up to the reviewer to spend time on it if it doesn’t affect him.

    Most people want to know if Fallout 3 is worth playing, not how it compares to two games they never heard of and never intend on playing. I’ve played the first two extensively and really love them. They have a more hardcore and deeper RPG experience, but I think Fallout 3 is a “better” game because of the accessibility and first/third person perspective. F1 and F2 never awed you, Fallout 3 does that on a regular basis. In fact I was shocked at how much they put into the game world – there’s so many memorable locations and events, and you’re presented with decisions with no clear right or wrong answer. So you keep second guessing yourself after the fact, which is a good thing.

    As far as the bugs go, I’ve heard the horror stories too. In fact a friend of mine can’t play it becasue of the constant crashes. We have nearly identical machines, and I’ve never had a problem with it. I’ve play for six hours straight on many occasions and have over 80 hours into the game so far and have had less than ten crashes. So even though I know problems exist with it, in my experience it’s very solid and I would say as much if I wrote a review.

  • Dave

    If you want to see what is controversial about the game, then read this review. It is considered mild from a “fanboy” point of view. The bottom line is that most hard core fallout 1/2 fans just didn’t thin it was Fallout, but oblivion with a slight veneer of fallout. As if Oblivion were called Baldur’s Gate 3 and no one even mentioned how different it was than the first two.

    http://www.nma-fallout.com/article.php?id=47347

  • Pingback: Saturday Reviews Roundup « Xtremegears()

  • Granite

    I just wanted to follow-up on the comment about how much walking there is. For those that haven’t played the game yet, once you travel to a destination you don’t have to walk back. You can instantly travel to any discovered locations by selecting them on your map.

    I find that to be an excellent compromise. You get to explore and find new areas, but don’t have to backtrack constantly.

  • lame game

    The anticipation and the disappointment

    i was introduced to Fallout 1 through a friend of mine 7 years ago I loved it and played it for many months similar for fallout 2. Last year I heard fallout 3 was being made, I watched the forums closely it would seem that Fallout 3 was going to be the cure for my fallout addiction.
    Oct 30th came and I was waiting with my money in my hands. At First it was better than I thought it would be although it crash often. I decided that it was my video card as my video card was only just above min. requirements. So I ordered a new video card ($300.00). Now I had the option to wait until my video card came or to continue playing until it arrived. I continued made it to the brother hood of steel in only 6 hours into the game despite the crashing and was given power armor. Suddenly this quest seem to take over all the side quest and I was pushed forward to complete this quest. 10 hours later I had finished the whole game before my new video card had arrived. I am not the best game player so i was sadden and surprised that I had finished it so quickly. I looked on forums to see if any one else had experience my disappointment obviously there were many. I decided to go back and do all the side quest but this is not nearly as fun when you know the ending and there was no relevance to the side quest. My video card arrived however the crashing became worst every 5 mins. I decided that my hard drive may be the problem so I replace the hard drive. Still crashing. Up dated all my drivers still crashing then decided it was not my system it never was it was this horribly short buggy game. Much the poorer I admitted defeat no patches as yet but why bother when the game was so short any way.
    I am angry I have never written on these forums never had the need to, but Fallout 3 is one of the worst games I have played ( short, easy and full of bugs) and I feel betrayed by betha. Unless the bugs are fix ASAP and a very big expansion is released. I WANT MY MONEY BACK

  • nick

    All the points that i wanted to make have been covered by the previous note, (Lame Game)
    I am also experiencing feelings of betrayal after having compleated F3 in under 10 days.
    I followed the main ‘father/scientist’ quest, and after many, many screen freezes,most of which were within buildings and unsuccessfull settings ajustments was very disappointed to witness the game ending, when to me it felt like it had just begun. after 4 years in development you would have thought at least the majority of these bugs would have been fixed before the game was released. i also want my money back and am disappointed to see the good, polished pc name tarnished by the premature release of incomplete products.

  • Anonymous

    I don’t know what to tell you guys, I had none of those problems that a lot of you are talking about.. I got it via Steam, pc is running Vista Ultimate X64 with 4gb ram, 4870 1gig vid card with C2Q6600

  • Thrakman

    “Ok, so I’ve heard that Fallout3 is controversial but I can’t figure out why exactly though or what’s so controversial about this game. The controversy could be that Bethesda made such a great game all the others will be left behind?”

    I’ve been a Fallout fan since the original came out in 1997. For the most part, I agree with your review and highly recommend this game. However, maybe you don’t see why Fallout3 is controversial because you aren’t familiar with the first two games in the series, which were developed and published by an entirely different company than Fallout3 (Black Isle/Interplay, not Bethesda). When Bethesda bought the Fallout license from Interplay they scrapped everything Black Isle had been developing for Fallout3 and started from scratch, using the same engine as Oblivion. The perspective was changed from a 2-D top-down isometric view to a 3-D 1st/3rd person perspective, and combat was no longer turn-based. Many fans of the earlier games were worried that Fallout3 would turn out to be just “Oblivion with guns”. While there are definite similarities between the two, I’m happy to say that this game IS Fallout!! It has the same rebellious spirit, dark humor, 1950’s retro-futuristic motif, desolate and atmospheric soundtrack (when not listening to in-game radio stations), and gory violence as the first two, but has been given a new twist by Bethesda. The elimination of turn-based combat has been somewhat mitigated by the V.A.T.S. system. While I have had the game crash a few times (my system is not much above the minimum requirements), it has not been bad enough for me to stop playing and want my money back. I think this is a fantastic game and I’ll be enjoying it for many, many months to come. Just don’t play the entire main quest first.

  • Nick

    Hey I have the game for PC and have only experienced ONE crash. As far as it being a very short game, it is only so if you concentrate solely on the main quest. There are many other side quests that a player can embark on, with many of them more entertaining than the main quest. Also, I don’t feel like it is controversial at all, because IT IS JUST A GAME, get over it! The graphics are amazing, the gameplay is smooth, and is maddeningly addicting. I can’t recommend this game high enough. Thank you Bethesda.

  • Megaton Settler

    I’m about 80-100 hours into my ‘Wasteland Adventure’, and I have to say I’ve pretty much ignored the main quest (for the most part) and have just wandered around exploring.

    I have to say that this is probably the BEST game I’ve ever played, INCLUDING 1&2 which were SO great I’m still playing them today! This IS Fallout (as far as the dark humour, pop culture references and immersive gameplay) but taken to a whole new level.

    There are so many ‘WOW’ moments that I think I’ve lost count. Every location, every individual, every metal box begs to be explored, spoken to or opened in search of the next item, quest or special weapon.

    I (like so many others) played a ‘good’ character the first time through, and I’m already planning how I’ll play this game through the second time. Perhaps I’ll be a highly intelligent female with killer looks and high sneak/lockpick/pickpocket skills. (And like ALL beautiful/intelligent females out there, I’ll be inherently evil to boot).

    Perhaps the time after that will be karma neutral, monk style (hand to hand) combat…. who knows?

    The fact that I’m already planning to play this through again (and again) when I have yet to finish it for the first time (even after 80-100 hours) speaks volumes in my opinion.

    Fallout 3 is the best example of a ‘sandbox’ game I’ve seen so far. The places where the gameplay feels linear are so few and far between that for all intensive purposes they don’t exist at all. The freedom to explore in any direction at any time is incredibly liberating. The customization of characters/skills/equipment is unparalleled in it’s depth & scope.

    I find myself thinking/talking about this game much of the time I’m not playing it. My friends who game (which is all of them) are all playing this game as well, all with the same ‘best game ever’ opinion as I. Each of us is quite deep into our own separate adventure, each so different from the other it’s unbelievable. When we compare notes we are all amazed at the sheer number of different ways of completeing side quests and achieving goals.

    The people I read complaining about finishing the game in 8-10 hours are not playing this as a ‘Fallout’ game. In 1 & 2 there were SO MANY side quests that MOST of your gameplay time was spent on those as opposed to the main storline. This is how I think we should be playing this game, especially (spoiler alert) knowing that completing the main quest ENDS the game.

    I’ve read that this game is simply ‘Oblivion with guns’, which to me is so far from the truth.

    Oblivion wasn’t this good, this beautiful, this engrossing, this deep or anywhere near this much fun.

    I read a comment on another website reviewing this game where the reviewer gave his opinion on ‘what’s good’ and ‘what’s bad’ about Fallout 3, as most reviewers do.

    What was amusing to me about this review in particular was that the only thing under the ‘what’s bad’ heading were the words ‘it ends’.

    My sentiments exactly, well most of them anyway.

    I feel sorry for whatever game I pick up next, because compared to Fallout 3 I just KNOW it’s going to be a letdown.

  • HATE

    I WANT MY MONEY BACK I CANT EVEN FRICKEN START THIS DARN FRICKEN BUGGED GLITCHED FREEZING GAME I CANT BELIVE I BOUGHT IT!!!

  • Squeakystudios

    Guys,

    The game is worth it. I used a mac to run the game ( although i had virtualization i chose to use Bootcamp), and it worked fine. I agree that if there are other things running on the side it might (and it did) cause intermittent errors, all in all the game was great! I’m a fan of both fallout1 and 2 and this is a good update to my beloved game. My wife even got irritated that i’d rather play than to make out hahaha!

  • Brandon

    A couple things.

    I have had absolutely no problems running the game. I do feel sorry for those who do. Obviously you would not expect such bad problems as some are obviously experiencing. The worst I’ve had is a couple weird (but completely harmless and actually quite amusing) glitches and noticing some places where there are floating rocks. But other than that, it’s been smooth sailing on my XP SP2 3.0 Ghz 3 GB Ram Intel Dual Core Geforce 8800 GT machine.

    Secondly. I don’t think this is a great review of the game. It’s a big collection of screenshots along with too many general comments about the game and not enough meat. There’s not really any analysis or serious thought behind this review. It’s a lot of general information that anyone who knows anything about the game already knows. It’s wishy-washy as a review. I will grant that there are a few good points the reviewer makes.

    There is a huge range of opinions on this game. People love it or they hate it. Reading some of the reviews out there, I have not read a review that is really a good review, something really in-depth that explores all aspects of the game in a really informative way. Although I do appreciate the review over at NMA that Dave linked to. This has made me consider writing a review myself – I’m a writer and I’ve written a lot of media material over the years. I’ll give a shout out again if I do.

    That’s all I have to say.

  • lolnoobs

    the game sucks.

  • Dunn

    Here’s my review.

    Oblivion with guns. Right on.
    It’s a very pretty version of Oblivion, yeah. It’s also a stolen licence from Black Isle to refurbished, classic Bethesda gameplay under the hood.
    It also crashes.. A lot.. And then.. crash.. crash. A lot. CTD all the way baby!

    Don’t get me wrong, it’s a really fun game. I enjoy playing it, but yeah, compared to Fallout 1 and 2, this is not really Fallout. Every core aspect of the games has been watered down or turned into Elder Scrolls 5. Even the character statistics are reminiscent of the previous games (one attribute affects 3 skills, not even similar to the ones in the originals) and they don’t really hold the same impact as in 1 and 2. This isn’t really a RPG, it’s more of a Counterstrike with power-ups thrown at you.

    Let’s go over some similarities..

    Elder Scrolls – repair weapons. Fallout 3 – repair guns. A lot. Check. I didn’t realize real guns needed this much maintenance. Heck, I bet even 1842 guns will still fire today.. But hey, this is a Bethesda game, you must repair your weapons!
    Elder Scrolls – has craftables. Fallout 3 – craftables. Fun things. You know, like the way alchemy and enchanting let you make those really great potions and scrolls. Too bad you can’t make bullets. I run out, a lot. On the other hand, I get to repair my guns a lot (or the won’t work), using the parts of other guns.. Erm, okay? (I guess living out in the radiation infested wasteland has given us super strong fingers that bend triggers and stuff, thankfully they also allow you to take them apart and put them together better than before!)
    Elder Scrolls – has skill cap and thus level cap. Fallout 3 – has level cap to 20. The original games did not have a level cap, being an RPG, you could always develop your character/companions. Fallout 3 incorporates a level design where you gain the original’s selection of perks, plus some extra, every level (except every 3 or in another case 4 levels). Unfortunately, because of the nature of this new design, it makes some old perks obsolete and harms your character’s growth long term. These include, Here and Now, (instant level up, minus one trait you would otherwise spend on something useful to your efficiency), Fast Learner (grants bonus experience). With a level cap, these perks should never be taken. Other perks such as Educated (bonus skill points per level) should be avoided for Comprehension (bonus skill points from reading books found in the world which you can spend where you like).

    Elder Scrolls – has skills cap to 100. Fallout 3 – has skills cap to 100. The original games let you advance them past 100 and gain nice bonuses from them, such as greater chance to hit/crit at the cost of higher skill point cost per point. Unfortunately, in Fallout 3, if you play a character with a low intellect, you might have trouble even maxing a few skills. Intellect and Endurance are probably the two most important statistics in this game, as they directly affect the longevity and diversity of your character. Agility used to be king for physical characters in previous games, but since Fallout 3 should really be called Elder Scrolls 5, action points are only useful in the showcase type VATS targetting system. It’s really just an average shooter without it, you don’t even have to use VATS at all. It’s just there for fun and extra design points. Eye candy, and something to let you feel you have more control over the hectic Shoot Em Up feel. In fact, you can go so far as to say most attributes are really there for dialog options/utility. They feel arcade-ish and without the importance of where do you tag that last point, that was so crucial in Fallout 1 and 2. There is actually one perk, Nerd Rage, that with 50 points in Science, automatically bumps your Strength to 10, and makes you take much less damage when under 20% health. So I can start a character with a strength of 1, take this perk, and go up to 10? Really? It’s a good thing Fallout 1 and 2 gave me a good feel for min/maxing your character’s abilities, too bad it’s rather pointless here.

    Gone from Fallout 3: Tactical use of skills, you cannot bandage/medic yourself, cannot attempt these things on game world objects only on things the world itself requires you to interact your skills with. This feels like the biggest change, and that missing factor that is really noticeable when playing Fallout 1 and 2 for a long time. You really remember those skill hotkeys, here they are all passive except for Sneak and when you want to Steal something. Yep, classic Elder Scrolls, even down to the key and camera layout.

    Gone from Fallout 3: Optional Traits! What happened to these, Bethesda? They were a thoughtful part of character creation in Fallout 1 and 2.. Everything else remained the same, yet this was removed, and the game promises the most advanced character creation ever seen. Once again, Fallout 1 and 2 had more advanced char creation, unless you count in the Charlie’s Angels type intro. Ahem. Does the GOAT exam even affect anything at all? At the end, you can pretty much reset everything and pick as you want to. Of course, anyone familiar with Elder Scrolls is familiar with the class selection from ‘answer the questions’.. Which of course, you can change at any time you like. Then, in classic Bethesda style, you can change anything about your character down to the last detail before you leave the vault. Great. (Translation: hog wash.)

    Pros: The NPC AI, how they react to you, voices, reactions, how they interact with other NPCs in the world and their daily routines.. is amazing. It’s really akin to something you would find in The Sims. However, it’s also something you would see in the story driven mode of say, Half-Life. It’s nice, but, that’s about as much depth as you will find. Ah, the irony of a shooter.

    I’m really really looking forward to a real duck and cover type of shooter now, I feel this game only whets your appetite but it’s not its niche.

    Fallout 1 and 2 were deep, tactical games with lots of thought behind character creation. Fallout 3 is Charlie’s Angels by comparison, you know, lots of eye candy, no substance and it doesn’t make any apologies for it. It doesn’t have to and it’s fun.. But, it feels like a promo shooter without the polish of the real thing. And it definately has nothing in common with Fallout 1 and 2 other than a borrowed licence and its lore and setting. Under the hood, you’re playing the next Elder Scrolls game from Bethesda. Congrats, but don’t be fooled. :)

    Otherwise, I would recommend this game lots, but I have never seen a launch plagued by so many game crashing bugs to where the game is non-playable for a majority of people, like the infamous Jefferson Memorial bug.. I can’t recommend it except for folks with high end computers and probably the 360 version, after it has gone through some patches (so you don’t risk frying your box as many have reported). It could definately have used a month more in actual testing, not costumer testing and aimed for a Christmas release but I guess they rushed it for pre-orders and to max sales before Christmas.

    And I’m sorry, if you play 18 hours and in that time your game crashes TEN TIMES, there is something definately wrong with the software and it should not have been shipped. I remember the days when bugs were so small that maybe some people would notice, but this is definately not small or acceptable on release.

    “Hey, how’s the game? I heard it crashes a lot.”
    “No way, don’t listen to that. I’ve been playing all day and night and it only crashed ten times.”

    Yeah, that’s a great piece of software man.

    This should have been renamed akin to something like Fallout: Tactics, or something like that, not a direct sequel, because it’s definately not the case in story or gameplay. Maybe Fallout: Revelation, or such, because the gameplay is drastically different as in Fallout: Tactics. Therefore should be indicated by the title.. It would have been accepted a lot more in the series.

  • musichyper

    I agree that there was a greater complexity and darkness in this version because I’ve never played the previous two.
    This game got some good ratings and feedback so i had to play it. I’m really glad I did. it’s brilliant.

    I Hyped Fallout 3 on Everhype and gave it 80% which I think is fairly accurate.

    http://www.everhype.com/hyper/thebitch?X=G402

    I wouldn’t mind getting some opinions on it . If you get on there, rate me a 5 & request friendship.

  • Razel

    Cool game for the 2-3 minutes I can play it at a time without crashing to the desktop. Not worth the money for a game like this that has developers that are so apathetic about giving customer support with. Even post patching it still crashes non-stop. I have a 9800 card with 1GB ram built in. 4 GB memory and every driver known to man updated. Seriously… WTF?

  • Brandon

    I agree with Dunn. It’s been a decade since the originals were released! It’s like Batman Begins or something. It should have been given a different name, Fallout with a subtitle or something like that. A “reboot” to the franchise, if you will.

  • Garrett

    This game is awesome. Get it for PS2 – No errors at all and we’ve played over 80 hours. I did love Oblivion so I may be biased but I like it this way. My roommate is a mindless FPS only type of guy and even he liked it – something for everyone

  • Gamer

    This game is so bug ridden piece of shit that Bethesda should be ashamed for releasing it too early. I can install it but the game crashes always during start-up. I want my money back!!

  • MC

    As far as all of the walking is concerned…you do know you know quick travel using the map, right?

  • clint

    It is not your system it is the dam software I can play crysis farcry2 bioshock no problems put fallout3 in and I want to kick some ass they released a game that is a piece of crap never can play without a crash and should not be called a first person shooter they take all that fun away with crap called vats give me a break very lame stuff I’ll wacth out for bethesda crap works next time I go buy a game this one is going back to the store dont want to play even if it was fixed and didnt crash all the time

  • Toye

    Fallout 3 was a piece of crap, not comparing it the first 2 but just any game in general.

    Like many have said it was short and buggy and way over priced. This can be solved in the future with a expansion pack that lasts longer then the original, but I doubt that will happen.

    As for the reviewer, you are awfully defensive. Good for you that you didn’t have any crashes/bugs compared to the other 80-90% of the people who did, you get a 4/5 for that.

    I won’t be playing anymore Beth games, hopefully Fallout 4 is picked up by another company or the franchise just ends.

    Now Im gonna go play a real game, Fallout 2.

  • david

    lol the game is awsome i have a ati x1950pro 512mb a amd 6000 duel core and 4 gigs of ram on windows 7 the game runs very smooth and very nicely. i dont get a single crash and i have almost every setting maxed only thing is my graphics card over heats but crank the fan and i can play for hours without a single crash or issue.

  • carl

    Kristofer

    Your an idiot – I just tried playing this game fo rless than an hour and it crashed on me three times. Your obviously a Bethesda Shill, this game is a piece of garbage

  • kristofer

    Carl… you’re the idiot actually…. just because the game worked for me you say that I’m a shill for the company? How can you possibly justify that comment?! You’re a moron

  • RavenNagicxx

    Even after the January patch, there are several bugs that are immediately obvious and easily exposed.

    Alt + Tab = crash. Every time. Incredibly annoying.
    The Reily’s Rangers quest is bugged (they turn hostile when I rescue them).
    The display of text choices is bugged.
    The display of multi-window text is bugged. (That is, when an NPC gives you multiple paragraphs to click through. The first paragraph never goes away unless you click. If you click when the second one is started, you skip that one.)
    And multiple others.

    As far as the content that works is concerned, the game is perfectly fine. People that want 120 hrs of content need to grow up. Maybe if the game was $300, you’d have a shot. FO1 could be finished in an hour without terribly much difficulty. Just walk over to the two mutant bases and win. Neat. Glad I paid for that…

  • max

    Carl, the game is good, it seems that your system IS garbage (^_^)

  • Josh

    i agree, if you cant run the game, dont blame the game check the requirements. they are somewhat high. Now if you say to yourself” well my graphics card is a little lower, but my great cpu iwll make up for it”, your wrong. it doesnt even use much cpu. I ran it on my P4 HT 3.4 and it used a max of 60% in Ultra. Now i have the 8800 GT, but you dont need that. But definatly if your running an ATi x600 or similar, you need to upgrade. Next,
    i thought this was one of the best games i have ever played. The storyline was great, and the graphics were better. Yea there was alot of walking, but i lived with it. i think there was a car mod anyway, so if you really dont liek it that much… its a great game, and yea some bugs. oh well, live with it or return it, your call.

  • Justin

    ive played fallout 3 since it first came out, after i beat it last month, i went and tried fallout 1 and 2, and its WORSE then fallout 3. its super boring, just point click no suprises gameplay, so i uninstalled it, went back over to my xbox and played fallout 3 more. If you experience system crashes while playing, your computer SUCKS! oh, and for you bug freaks, every game has bugs. and fallout 4 is being made by obsidian, but bethesda is making fallout: new vegas.

  • jeromejuice

    i just bought the game yesterday for my pc cuz my friend has it for the ps3, said it was an excellent game, so i bought it, and i got home, and the next thing i know 8 hours go by, i was like, crap, and im just getting started. amazing graphics, mmm plenty of blood and gore, love it, and the scenery is awesome, i blew up one town, and the explosion was huge and satisfying to behold, and gave me a warm, fuzzy feeling inside, after all, how many times in a game do u knowing blow up an atom bomb in the center of a town with innocent people that you had the option to save? that and its practically limitless on where u go, what you do, how you interact with people, and the choices you make, its amazing, so either you can behave, or be evil, eheheh >;) and so far no crashes except for when i exited the game to desktop and it had an error message, but didnt effect gameplay. so i give this game a 10 rating so far, the vats system in slow mo kinda reminds me of F.E.A.R slow mo, great effects and bullet time, and the shocking sprays of blood and body parts makes you go, mmm thats nice. :)

  • Caligamy

    Well I havent played the prequels and I found this game to be semi controversial, especially when a character I walked up and talked to goes, “Fuck you!” lol Not to mention the drugs, prostitution, contract killings, slavery, the game basically gets as bad as you want it you can either choose the good path or the evil path. Your review was pretty much in sync with my own opinion though and it seemed to me your major complaint was the travel time to get from A to B, did you know you can use the PipBoy to warp to your destination on the worldmap? Well you have to have visited the place before….but you can usually find a spot nearby thatll cut out alot of time. :)

  • Opmehoofd

    I started this game and really enjoyed the feeling of freedom it gave me :) i never really did any quests till i was lvl 15 and killed almost half the map. then thougt i’d do some questing. it went all good till i got to lvl 20. it popped to 21 for no reason then it let me fill in skills, perk and crash every time i lvl to 20 (reloading my save) it keeps on crashing.

    thats really did it. 4/10 from me

  • Ron S

    Well, was thinking of leaving World of Warcraft and try something new, my friend recommended this game so i went out and bought it for PC… BIG MISTAKE… HUGE!!!

    I made a first character and went up to level 6 then it got stuck in a mattress inside a corridor and i figured well it happens and started another one. Now i’m level 9 and i count at least 2 important NPCs missing well Mortiarty and then Walter. Heard there’s a patch from Games for Windows but we have to jump thru hoops to get it and they say we might have to start a new character AGAIN. Well Bethesda, i’m going back to WoW and will stay clear from your products from now on.

    That’s not counting a few crashed here and there…

    Beubye!

  • Pingback: ATI Radeon 9800 Pro Video Card Compare Prices()

  • hologramic Boy

    Well this review is definitely very weak no doubt althogh is kind of easy to say this almost 2 years later but no doubt this is the weakest review I have read up to date (sorry Mr. reviewer! nothing personal though!).

    This game is wonderful and I must say I have discovered it only 2 weeks ago!. First of all I must say I am a very advanced computer user that builds his own RIGs and O.C.s and all that so I am very used to very techy concepts and know whatever is needed to improve CPU or graphics performance in games.

    I am saying all this because I have a powerful rig with a very good i7 processor , a wonderful HD Oced 5970 graphics card, tons of DDR3 memory modules, Raids configurations, and all that and you know what? Even after updating the game to version 1.7 the game was almost unplayable the first time I tried to play it due to at least two big reasons: very frequent freezes and stuttering as hell.

    The engine the programmers used in Fallout3 that was the same as the one used in Oblivion is clearly flawed in many senses and thats the reason why it is no more used in the Vegas new release. Even with the most powerful of RIGs you will find a lot of performance related problems in this game due to the poor written code.

    I had to do a lot of research to bring the game back to a playable state and fortunately I found that there was a great mod community out there that helped me a lot. The stutter remover mod was my salvation and I cant thank enough to the guys that made it. After some other tweaking like some changes in .ini files and employing some other than default textures I am now playing it all maxed to entire satisfaction. Awesome game with awesome graphics even almost 2 years later!

    Finally the author of this release seems to me clearly biased and prone not to comment on any of the very numerous bugs , freezes and stuttering problems this game has and already had in the time this release was written, and seen with the perspective of the many time already passed I see it crystal clear: Obviously he did a very mediocre research job on many matters of the game and the fact he completely ignored the controversial issues like the ones related with the atomic bomb mission and the use of drugs that have been censured or banned in places like Japan or Australia says a lot in itself.

    I give a NINE to the game and a ZERO to the rewiewer.

Sideshow Collectibles Taking Pre-Orders for Amazing Looking 1/4 Scale Boba Fett Figure

Sideshow Collectibles Taking Pre-Orders for Amazin…

Kristofer Brozio
I have to admit this collectible figure looks just amazing and if I had the extra cash I’d love to g…
Read More
10 hours agoSideshow Collectibles Taking Pre-Orders for Amazin…
Shazam for Windows Phone Gets an Update with Cortana Support and More

Shazam for Windows Phone Gets an Update with Corta…

Kristofer Brozio
I do miss my Windows Phones, I had two of them, but I went back to Android because there’s just more…
Read More
12 hours agoShazam for Windows Phone Gets an Update with Corta…
Atari Fit Let’s You Unlock Classic Atari Games for Exercising

Atari Fit Let’s You Unlock Classic Atari Gam…

Kristofer Brozio
So it seems Atari is coming out with their own fitness app called Atari Fit in early 2015. The cool…
Read More
8 hours agoAtari Fit Let’s You Unlock Classic Atari Gam…
Archie Comics Relaunches with New ARCHIE #1 Next Year

Archie Comics Relaunches with New ARCHIE #1 Next Y…

Kristofer Brozio
I never got into Archie comics, I was more into sci-fi and fantasy and super heroes and such but I d…
Read More
10 hours agoArchie Comics Relaunches with New ARCHIE #1 Next Y…
Dish Network Integrates Netflix Into Set-Top Boxes

Dish Network Integrates Netflix Into Set-Top Boxes

Kristofer Brozio
Now this is cool, Dish has become the first pay TV or cable company as it were to integrate Netflix…
Read More
10 hours agoDish Network Integrates Netflix Into Set-Top Boxes