THQ and Disney Pixar’s UP the Videogame Preview

UP 2009-05-15 18-41-56-40 

THQ was kind enough to send me over some stuff pertaining to their latest game UP, which is based on the new Disney Pixar movie of the same name. So I’ve got information, a bunch of screenshots and in-game videos that I grabbed for you to check out. The game is primarily a kids game of course, but I had fun playing it. UP is a platform style game basically with aerial and water based levels as well included to mix things up, along with a multiplayer mode thrown is for extra added fun. So read on to learn more…

THQ also sent me over a cool UP branded aluminum water bottle, very nice of them, and it’s a nice quality bottle as well, it even has a carabineer and compass on it.

DSCF8538 DSCF8547

THQ Disney Pixar Up The Videogame

Movie: May 29th 2009
Game: May 26th 2009

up.pcmac.fob.rgb

The Game:
The Up video game will take players on an exotic adventure with Carl Fredricksen and his young sidekick, Wilderness Explorer Russell, as they set off on a wild journey through the undiscovered jungles of South America.  Players will be able to experience all four main characters from the movie — Carl, Russell, Dug the lovable dog or Kevin the prehistoric bird — while playing as a single-player or with a friend cooperatively throughout the entire game.  Players will encounter exciting, new environments as they navigate through treacherous jungle terrains, battle dangerous creatures and trek the slippery slopes of the Amazonian Tepuis.  In addition, the game also features multi-player game modes, including an epic level that will allow up to four players to compete in aerial combat. 

For more information on the Up video game, please visit http://www.upvideogame.com

Information on the rest of THQ’s line-up of family-friendly titles is also available on http://www.playthq.com

The Movie:
From Disney•Pixar comes “Up,” a comedy adventure about 78-year-old balloon salesman Carl Fredricksen, who finally fulfills his lifelong dream of a great adventure when he ties thousands of balloons to his house and flies away to the wilds of South America.  But he discovers all too late that his biggest nightmare has stowed away on the trip: an overly optimistic 8-year-old Wilderness Explorer named Russell.   From the Academy Award-nominated director Peter Docter (Monsters, Inc.), Disney•Pixar’s Up invites film goers on a hilarious journey into a lost world, with the least likely duo on Earth.  Up will be presented in Disney Digital 3-D in select theatres. The film is due for release on May 29, 2009.

up logo transparent blue

If you read the description above you’d know there are four main playable characters in UP, Carl the old man, Russell the little boy Wilderness Scout, Dug the dog and Kevin the bird.

Print Print Print russell 01

As I mentioned in the intro, UP is primarily a platform game, but it’s three dimensional and does take advantage of the latest video cards with several options for taking advantage of things like Anti-Aliasing.

UP 2009-05-15 18-47-00-28 UP 2009-05-15 18-48-40-28 UP 2009-05-15 18-48-44-17 UP 2009-05-15 19-05-04-25

While playing UP, you’re not just playing with one character, you’re actually playing with two, and there are points that you’ll need both to accomplish a task to continue on in the game. For instance Carl can climb up on a ledge and use his cane to pull Russell up since he’s too short to reach, or you can use Russell to boost Carl up to a ledge that he can’t reach. It can be played single player or cooperative, in single player you need to switch between the characters. The AI will take over the character you’re not playing and for the most part knows what to do, it seems fairly ‘smart’.  Russell is a Wilderness Scout, or a Boy Scout basically and he knows a few things about being stuck in the wood or the wilderness. Russell starts off with a mirror that he can just to re-direct the sun at would-be attackers like snakes and porcupines that get in the way, as you play you’ll collect more things as well that you’ll need to help you continue on.

UP 2009-05-15 18-53-34-25 UP 2009-05-15 18-53-44-25 UP 2009-05-15 18-54-59-24 UP 2009-05-15 18-55-04-24 UP 2009-05-15 18-55-14-24 UP 2009-05-15 18-55-29-24 UP 2009-05-15 18-55-34-25 UP 2009-05-15 18-56-49-24 UP 2009-05-15 19-00-14-24 UP 2009-05-15 19-03-09-25 UP 2009-05-15 19-03-14-24 UP 2009-05-15 19-03-19-24 UP 2009-05-15 19-03-24-24 UP 2009-05-15 19-03-29-25 UP 2009-05-15 19-03-34-25 UP 2009-05-15 19-03-39-25 UP 2009-05-15 19-03-59-25 UP 2009-05-15 19-04-04-24 UP 2009-05-15 19-04-39-25

and here’s the video to go along with those screenshots above:

 

Graphics are decent, they’re not realistic, this is a kids game after all, but they look pretty good.

UP 2009-05-15 18-44-49-19 UP 2009-05-15 18-45-15-28 UP 2009-05-15 18-45-30-28 UP 2009-05-15 18-46-20-28 UP 2009-05-15 18-46-25-28 UP 2009-05-15 18-46-30-28 UP 2009-05-15 18-46-35-28 UP 2009-05-15 18-46-40-28 UP 2009-05-15 18-46-45-28

and here’s the video that goes with those screenshots:

 

The controls take a bit to get accustomed to at the default, luckily though they can be reconfigured in the settings. It’s also a bit disconcerting  when you’re switching characters it’s kind of hard to tell who you’re controlling at first.

I’ve got kids and they sat still and quiet while I was playing UP, so I know this game will do well with children, it’s bright and colorful and cute, all of the things a kids games should be.

So if you’ve got kids be on the lookout for both the game and the movie, and if you don’t have kids head on over to the official website and grab the demo to try it out, it’s a fun little game really.

  • Pingback: News for may 16th 2009 : dsmTechNews()

  • Pingback: » THQ and Disney Pixar?s UP the Videogame Preview()

  • Pingback: Good Morning! | MEGATechNews :: Mega Techie Goodness For the Masses()

  • Alicia

    I actually have a question not a comment and hope you can help me. My daughter got this game for her birthday but she is having problems getting past chapter 10. This is the part of the game where the player has to follow Dug (the dog) to get back to the house. I think the player has to use Kevin (the bird) somehow but what I do not know. The problem is she (and I) can not figure out how to get over to the next ledge to follow Dug. Please help.

    Thank You
    Alicia

    • Tomica7 10

      How to move gray box on the hole on chapter 9?

      please help..

  • Kristofer

    Hi Alicia,
    I got it for review, but haven’t finished it yet.. I don’t think I got that far yet really… sorry, maybe someone else can help you

  • meme

    Hi

    how can i solve the puzzle in chapter 15

  • carol

    Use Kevin. Kevin can pull a crate backwards as well as push it forward. Move the crates to the first and second slot and then the rocks become even with the ground Russell is standing on. Move Russell to the second rock and then, using Kevin again, pull the first crate backwards and then push it to the third slot. Then Russell can get across to the other side.

  • Jessica

    I’m having problems with Chapter 15!!! =( I pass the part with Kevin but then comes the part where I have to get to the other side but I cant leave the house behind… Can Somebody Please help me and my Daughter.. =) thank you!

  • SziLee87

    Hey. I’m stuck at chapter 9. How do you push down that box from the top of the hill??? I tried everything but it didn’t work. It could be a game bug 2. I don’t know. PLZ write back….Thx 4 ya help

  • damian

    does anybody know how to beat chapter 15! it is really hard because you have get to dug and he is on a cliff that you can not reach on the ground and i try to get on tettertotter the bats keep on getting to me and i tried to use russel but when i get the bats a way they come back quick

  • Joey

    someone plz help me im stuck on chapter 15 because once i get passed the part where you have to move the crate and then get on the water thing i dont understand wat u do with kevin (the bird) plz help and im getting really mad now if you help me, thanks

  • bob

    what level does you get the grapple

  • damian

    yea you guys i got on top of that big rock where dug is!i did it by getting were that the bats are and going to the left the there is like something that goes up like a 70 degree angle and wait for the bats attack you then switch to the other player will go up there i should be russell who is getting attack so he can use the rope i think i hoped that helped you guys

  • damian

    i am on the ps2

  • Katy

    hey there!!!
    please HELP ME!!!
    i’m stucked somewhere in chapter 9, the voice! where russel and the old man tries to get over that edge full with plants! that 2 charactersclim up to a rock where i found that big box! and i tried to pull down but nothing…please explain me how to get throgh that scene to get to my favourite character DYG :X I love that dog :X:X PLS HEEEELP!!!1 thankx :)

  • Anonymous

    please help for level 15 where you have to get up on the cliff to dug!!! how in the world do to get the house across there?????? the bats keep coming back also! HELP!

  • nigel

    stuck on chapter ten. can move the crate but then nothing happens. pls hlp

  • Chris Parsons

    Hey, the damian post from before was alittle wrong, on chapter 15 when you have to get the house over. what you do is use the old man and over to the right you will see a slanted rock and keep on jumping on the rock and you will be able to get up on top. then use the old man to hit the bats with the rock. next use the kid and get on the one end of the rock so you can use the old man to jump on the other side of the rock so the kid can get up top so he can through the rope down

  • nigel

    how can russel carry the rock across the rope on chp 15?

  • Arvael

    stuck on level 9 pls help!!!! where Katy was i stucked there pls help me!!!!!!!!!!1

  • J.C

    I cant get pass chapter 10. The bird kevin cant pull or push the crate.. PLZ HELP

  • Jasna

    stuck on level 21 pls help!? On the start chapter, how I can beat a dog?

  • Ellie

    HELP ME PLEASEEEEEEE !!!! i cant pass chapter 10 ; kevin seems useless ! he can not pull, push or even kick anything. carl and russell can not be on the higher floor . THE CRATE CAN NOT BE MOVED & it needs to be . how can everyone be complaining about chapter 15 or 21 , when i cant get pass chapter 10! ??? HELP ME PLEASE .

  • andrew

    solved chapter 15. ( very tough ) ( the one with the bat )
    do the following
    1) get russel and carl over to the other side ( there is no need to let russell / carl to get hit by the bat )
    2) see the see-saw there? and see the stone on a platform ( right ) ? set the see saw in such a way that russel and jump and hook onto the platform ( with the white stones at the top ). It should be / <= this direction and not \ <== not this direction . set as right of the see -saw up . get rusell to walk ( not jump ) to the right side. and QUICKLY JUMP to the stone platform . u’ll be able to hook to the platform and walk to the white stones . Use ur stick ( russell ) to chase the bats .

    3) get russell to stand on the left side of the see saw ( note that carl is still @ The top and the see saw allows carl to jump at to allow russell to fly up .
    4) BINGO u shld be able to complete !!!

  • andrew

    solved chapter 15 !!!
    1) set the see saw such that it is / >> platform with the stones .
    3) notice that the platform beside the see-saw has stones
    4) get carl to use his stick to whack the bats .
    5) a side note , u may have problems getting carl to the see -saw as the bat will still attk him . if this happens, get russell to walk to e left side and let him take the dmg while u control carl !
    6) after u use carl to hit the bats , get russell on the see saw ( left side ) and carl should jump down and this allows russell to fly up to the left .
    7) BINGO DONE !

  • april

    HOw do you get russel to pick up the rock and get to the other side of the canyon to move the house. You have to hold the rock and then you cannot jump..

  • april

    anyone there, someone please help my 8 year old son is soooooooooo frustrated. We cannot figure out how to move the rock with the rope and house attached to it to the other side of the canyon.

  • Rick

    how do you beat the blimp in chapter 27

  • kimberly

    hi we are trying to pass chapter 9 and cannot figure it out please email me with the answer
    justinkimjohnny@yahoo.com

  • Kassie

    My son needs help. He is at the part where Carl is on the roof of the floating house and he has to defeat the airplane. How does he do this? You can email me at tnylilbabybug@aol.com In the subject line, just put the word UP! Thanks!!

  • Suzy

    to solve chapter 15 with Dug and the bats you need to first enter the cheat code carlheavyweight in the main menu and then use the teeter totter to get Russell up on the cliff. i got past that but now I am to the second place puzzle that needs to be solved with Dug where Dug opens the gate and I did that, but cannot figure how to move the crate stuck in the corner. I don’t know if I need another cheat to do this.

  • Bobby

    I’m stuck in the same place April is from 6/17. How do you get past the part with the rock and the rope or vine attached to it. I think this is in level 2 and it’s something that Russell is supposed to do, but we can’t figure it out.

  • kimberly

    Somone PLEASE help us!! My son is trying to pass Chapter 9 The voice and he cannot seem to figure out how to get them up to push the crate down to get pass the plants. Can someone please help us out.
    justinkimjohnny@yahoo.com PLEASE help him get pass this part.

  • Arvael

    so i’m not the only one who cant past over the plants in the voice, chapter 9…please somebody … write down here what we should do!!! i’m very curious about the game…PLEASE!!!!!! or write to my mail : mossolylany_2009@yahoo.com thankx alot!!!

  • frogger6

    What is with the snake level?
    AAARRGH!
    someone said blind him with a mirror, but what mirror??
    we dont get it

  • Flutie

    Does anyone know how to push the big crate down from the edge of the cliff in chapter 9??? Pls help

  • Arvael

    if you want to kill that snake you have to find in control menu the mirror control for Russel, than you can blind it with pushing that specified button…go settings —> control menu than move down with arrows util you find the ATTACK button than look at player 2, who is Russel…than use that button, or change it…its simple…

  • Jim

    Can’t get past chapter 10. how do you get the crate off the ledge???? help us!!

  • Liz

    need serius help, chaper 15 seems efortless now, stuck on chapter 23, inside the spirit of adventure, trying to rescue russell, inside at the beginig carl ends up with dug in a room, where dug has to go trough a hole in a door, how do i get dug trough the hole ?????? im’ getting do frustraded with it ….

  • JAZYPHAE

    CANT PASS CHAPTER 10 AFTER I PUSH THE CRATE DOWN IT DOESNT MOVE AND I CANT GET ACROSS THE OTHER SIDE WHERE THE DOG IS …COME ON PEOPLE IF UR COMPLAINING ABOUT CHAPTER 15 OR 21 HELP SOMEONE ON CHAPTER 10 =/

  • JAZYPHAE

    TO JIM

    YOU NEED THE BOY AND THE BIRD ON THE TOP THEN THEY BOTH PUSH THE CRATE DOWN …AND THATS WHERE I AM STUCK.

  • chase

    i need help trying to get passed chapter 15 because how does russel get the house over the second crack?

  • Kari

    To get over the house over the second crack on Chapter 15, do these steps in order.

    1. Get them both to the other side of the crack.
    2. Get the teeter totter to where the right side of it is pointing up, towards the white pebbles on the ledge on the right.
    3. I was playing with my daughter so she had Russell all the way in that corner to the very left, she was zapping the bats. Not sure how you would manage that with only one person playing.
    4. Get Carl on the teeter totter and you don’t run at first, you kind just inch up and then have him make a run for it, he’ll grab on with his cane.
    5. Carl then kills the bats with the golf club and pebbles.
    6. Russell gets on the left side of the teeter totter, Carl jumps down and launches him up.
    7. Russell gets Carl across the vines with the rope and Carl climbs up.
    8. Carl and Russell both push the crate down off the ledge.

    Once that’s done Russell can now walk over the crack with the house. Sorry it’s a big long but seems like a lot of people were having trouble with this (I know I was) so I thought I’d write it out clearly. :)

    • Veds98

      Kari, i’m stuck on level 15 where there are the 2 cracks .russell carries the rock.please send me on my email address veds98@yahoo.co.in how to pass the two cracks and climb up the cliff where dug is there.please!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • kimberly

    CAN SOMEONE PLEASE EMAIL US BACK!! YOU GUYS ARE ALL THE WAY TO CHAPTER 15 AND 23 AND WE ARE STUCK ON CHAPTER 9!! CAN SOMEONE PLEASE EMAIL US @ justinkimjohnny@yahoo.com AND LET US KNOW HOW TO GET UP TO THE CRATE TO PUSH IT DOWN???? PLEASE EMAIL US BACK WITH THE ANSWER!!!!

  • Kari

    I e-mailed you Kimberly :)

  • Iris

    Hi!! I need help on chapter 10!! I can’t get across the wall were Rusell has to pull Carl with the rope… I can’t jump to the other part of the wall!! The bat always hit me!! Can someone tell me how to do it??

  • Arvael

    PLEASE IF YOU HAVE THE SOLUTION … NOT JUST E-MAIL IT..PLEASE SUBSCRIBE HERE BECAUSE WE WANT TO KNOW TOO THE ANWSER, HOW TO PASS LEVEL 9!!!

    PLEASE WRITE IT DOWN HERE!!! ANYBODY HOW KNOWS THE THE SOLUTION WRITE IT DOWN!!!!!!

    THNX…

  • Kari

    Arvael I’m not sure which part of Chapter 9 you need help with but if it’s the crate part here’s what you do:

    In the beginning of the level you turn into Kevin. Kevin then knocks that rock over so Russell and Carl can cross. Once they are across and at that pink mark, look to the left there is a circular rock sticking out a bit. Hop over the water, then hop over the second part.

    Russell will need his pick ax thingy, just get Russell up there, Carl jumps on Russell and swings on over. They then get to the rock where Russell has to lift up Carl, Russell gets on the teeter totter, Carl jumps on it and Russell goes up.

    Then pretty much the rest is easy :)

    If you need help with a different part of the chapter let me know.

  • Kari

    Iris there isn’t any trick or secret to passing the wall, you just have to make quick moves when the bat passes you. On the first part of the bat I make sure that when he first passes to the right, I go very fast left and then down.

  • Arvael

    Thanx for the help, Kari…
    But i’ve stucked at a different place..
    I passed that teeter totter thing. So, in the sequence you pass those bats, right? on the hill, up there…you find a box, which you must push down.. so
    my question is : HOW DO YOU PUSH THAT CRATE FROM THE TOP??
    because i tried with both caracters, but nothing…please help me push that crate from the top of the hill. I must see DUG..he is my favourite character!!! i’m waiting your answer…HELP ME!

  • Heather

    Hi-seems like a silly question after reading all the posts and seeing how far along you all are but….does anyone know how to beat the airplanes while on top of the house in the boss battle after level 5 in one player mode? My four year old and I are stuck! Thanks in advance for the help! Heather-Please email me at heather.oneill@comcast.net

  • Iris

    Hi Kari!! I feel so stupid!! I really can’t pass that part!!! I try to jumpto the oher sideof the wall but it seems imposible… eather or the bat hit me or I can’t reach the other wall… I just don’t know what to do!!

  • Aren

    I am also stuck in the middle of level 15 in the pc version. I can’t get the house past the gap. I can see a crate up on a cliff but I don’t know how to reach it. If I goto far I get sent back by the game to the same place.

  • Aren

    Nevermind we found Kari’s post. Thank you!

  • Aren

    Help I cant find K evin 2nd in level 15

  • Aren

    Help I cant find K evin in level 15 (Dug has pushed the second crate but I can’t move the first).

  • kesha

    Hi,my 9 year old daughter is so frustrated.can some someone please tell us. How to get across the log on chapter 10 plz. I see some ppl r far passad that. Plz help.

  • kesha

    Email me at krjames73@gmail.com asap plz.

  • Kari

    Arvael there is that first crate (up on top) that I told you about and then there is a darker crate (not on a hill) that you push to raise the rocks that Russell crosses. After Russell crosses those rocks he goes around and then he pushes the lever that opens the cage that has two porcupine looking things. Carl and Russell then go through there and that is the end of the Chapter where they meet Dug. I didn’t come across any other crates besides those two mentioned, so I’m not sure where you are stuck. Will you describe the color and look of the crate that you’re stuck on?

  • Kari

    Iris in the beginning of that wall you go up, right and jump over two parts of thorns. You DON’T jump to the circle looking rocks. Wait until the bird is going to the right and when he first passes you, go really fast down and left. If you keep trying you’ll get it eventually :) I’m not sure if you’re playing alone or with someone but on this part I like to complete it by myself that way I know when to stop Russell and move him.

  • Kari

    Aren do you mean the two brown crates that are up on top there? If so, right before you get there Kevin is at the lower part of the screen. Russell has to boost Carl up there to where Kevin is. Carl turns into Kevin then jumps across to the crates. Kevin moves a crate into the first spot, put Russell with the rock onto the first platform area. Kevin then moves the second crate into the second spot, put Russell onto the second platform. Kevin then takes the first crate out of the first spot and moves it into the third spot, now Russell can go across. That’s the only time Kevin is used.

  • akm

    how do I move the crate in level 9 on PSP. I’m upto the point of teeter totter but don’t know what to do after that

  • Arvael

    THX Kari…i made it :D:D

  • Tanya

    Hi, Does anyone know how to solve Kevin’s puzzle in Chapter 15. I know you have to put the blocks on the water fountains but there are only two blocks and three water fountains. Plzzzzzzzzz help thx

  • Dorothy

    Kari, you seem to be the resident expert on this game. Like Iris, I am stuck on the same chapter 10 part that you answered for her, but you didnt go far enough! After the part where you say that you go down really fast and to the left, what do you do after that?? Please help!! Thanks!

  • Arvael

    i finished the GAME :D thnx for all of your help :D

  • mary

    We are stuck on chapter 15 on playstation 2, we get to up to where the bird is and we are all 3 standing there? Now what? I think we need to be over to where the 2 boxes are but how do we all get over there to move the boxes? To move the house across? help??? Thank you!

  • sandra

    stauck on chapter 16 how do you find the thing to blow up the wall and how to get to russel e mail me plz

  • Tanys Smite

    Can someone give me a description that a 3 year old could understand?
    I cannot follow the hints that you neat guys & gals have written.
    I’m stuck with getting Carl on the see-saw while being attacked by bats.
    What should Russle do while Carl is trying to jump from see-saw to high rock where white stones are?
    I’m playing all characters and feel too dumb to finish this part.
    Help!!! I love this game and I’m stuck real good!
    Many many thanks .. if anyon can mke it clearer for me!
    Tanya : )

  • Tanys Smite

    Hi everyone!
    I thank u thank u for all your combined help!
    I’m now on Chapter 21 and don’t seem to be able to get the rock, or Russel or Carl on the see saw, if thats where they need end the dogs attacking.
    Is there someone out there that has done this part?
    Many Thanks
    Tanya : )

  • Tanys Smite

    Sorry guys, I found this site yesterday June 4 and don’t remember how I got through the areas that the rest of you are struggling with. But today I will make notes, so I can maybe be of some help to someone stuck.
    THANK YOU Keri for you help !!!!* I appreciate your help and the brain power to figure out the many places I could not understand.
    You have helped me move on through a lot of places were I was reall stuck! You made my day yesterday ..
    Tanya : )

  • Gustavo

    my friends, the beginning of chp 10….I’m stuck there….after the dog opened the door of the gate….what do I have to do?? there are 2 things, 2 intrutions: find a gapple for Russel and Carl needs a golf club. What those things mean?
    Thanks since now.

    If you have a walkthrough, please send to gugaferreira@yahoo.com.br

  • Tanys Smite

    I have a hint re: Chapter 21: How to attack/defeat “lead dog” atop tall rock far left of screen.
    At some point the attacking dogs throw a big rock which Russel can pick up and put onto sea-saw later when needed.

    1. I think you first have to fight the dogs on the ground. Carl & Russell can push them off the edge by Carls hearing aide noise or Russels zapping.
    2. Carl steps carefully onto see-saw then runs and jumps ontop of big rock lower right of screen, close to house above.
    3. Russell then picks up rock by pressing O when he gets close to it and puts rock on left end of see saw.
    4. Carl jumps dpwn onto end of see-saw and rock on other end of see-saw is launched at lead dog ontop of tall rock.
    5. Fight dogs on ground and repeat the Carl/Russel/rock being thrown from see-saw at lead dog.
    6. Keep repeating this pattern and you dereat lead dog.

  • jim

    does anyone know where to get the magnifying glass? Stuck on the wall in chapter 16. thx

  • Dorothy

    Tanys – can you please help me with Chapter 10? Take a look at my earlier posting. Thanks!

  • Michael

    Hi on chaPTeR 16 i cant find a way to get past the thorns on the wall

    • Jaimee

      jump over them!

  • Tanya Smite

    Hi there Averael, Liz or ANYONE ..
    I’m also stuck in Ch. 23 inside The Spirit of Adventure looking for Russell.
    How do I get Dug the darn dog, in the hole in the door???
    Can anyone help me?
    Many thanks
    Tanya : )

  • Kari

    I forgot about this! Sorry guys lol. It’s late here but tomorrow I’ll get on the game and look exactly at what spots you guys need help with :)

    There are a couple things I can recall off the top of my head though. Mary, not sure if you’re still stuck there but you don’t need to get Russell and Carl over there too. Russell boosts Carl up there, Carl turns into Kevin and then ONLY Kevin jumps across to the two boxes. Kevin alone solves the puzzle. My 6-28 post explains how to solve it :)

    Dorothy not sure if you’re still stuck there either as it’s been a few days since you’re post but if I recall correctly after you go really fast and then left, you’re going to go down, right and I think at some point you have to jump over a space. But after you get down to the spot I mentioned, the end is very near.

  • Tanya Smite

    Kari
    HELP PLEASE .. when u have the time.
    Could u help me with Chapter 23: rescuing Russell inside The Spirit of Adventure.
    I can’t get the dog through the door! I have been trying for a few days and just can’t see anyway to jump through that hole! I have loved playing this game but when I’m stuck I’M REALLY REALLY STUCK!!!**
    Thanks for listening to my complaining . : (
    Tanya : )

  • RC

    In chapter 23, it’s not supposed to get dog jumping through the hole in the door. Carl can not jump because he is holding a lantern. Use dog to move the box (pull and push) so that carl can step on it, then push to the other end, and carl will open the door.

  • Dorothy

    Thanks Kari! Got past chapter 10 finally. Now I am stuck on chapter 13 which I see no one has apparently had problems with :-(. I don’t know how to take the house with me up on that block. I can’t jump or anything when I have that rock which is attached to the house. Does anyone know how I can take the house with me?? I feel stupid!!!

  • Kari

    Dorothy I’m pretty sure it’s Chapter 15 that you’re having trouble with. That is the Chapter where Russell has to carry the rock everywhere. The previous posts state how to pass the hard parts. The only other tip I can give you is Carl does a lot of the work in this level since Russell has to be the one to carry the rock. If you need any other help let me know. :)

    Jim, I’m not sure where exactly I got the magnifying glass but I hovered over my Chapters in the menu and it looks like it may come in Chapter 24.

    Michael not sure which part of thorns you’re stuck on but I’ll just put down all the directions. Once you’re on the rope don’t go up (you can’t jump upward over vines), go right. There is that first bird that’s going back and forth, when he goes to the right and is out of the way, really quickly go up, jump to the left and go up before the bird comes back. Go right and jump over the vines. The second bird is going back and forth. In order for you to do the next part you have to be really quick. The second the bird starts going to the right, quickly jump over the two vine areas and go up really quickly. Go to the right until you’re at the edge, when the bird starts going to the left, go down. Go left and when the third bird passes the rope to the left, quickly go down, right, jump over the vines and you’re done.

    Tanya, RC put how to complete the part you’re stuck in Chapter 23 :)

    I’m sure I missed somebody, so respond if you need help. :)

  • Kari

    Dorothy I figured I would put how to get up there. The first area Carl jumps up there, pulls the lever, Russell gets on there and Carl pulls the lever so it goes up. The second area, Russell walks onto the moving rock with the house and sets the house down. Carl and Russell push the crate onto that little spout area, Carl jumps on the crate, pulls Russell up there and the both jump across to where the house is.
    My 6-28 post at 5:06 post explains the next part and the difficult part after that is explained in my 6-24 post at 2:53.

    Hope that helps :)

  • Tanya Smite

    I finally finshed this fun game, thanks to all who helped me!*
    Big thanks to .. RC, Suzy, Andrew, Averal, Chris, Carol, but especially SUPER GAMER KARI !!*
    Thank you all!!! Hope I did not leave anhyone out.
    I will look from time to time and if I can help anyone I will give it a shot. Please give me the Chapter you are stuck on and a description of where you are stuck ..
    Bye for now ..
    KEEP GAMING GANG,
    Tanya : ) : ) : )

  • Aren

    No Kari I mean the two crates near dug here is a tip;dug is at the 2nd crate I dont know how to move the first.

  • Aren

    If anyone can help with the chapter 15 problem I’ve described, please email me at haugeto@gmail.com

  • Aren

    I won the game thank you all.

  • Kathy

    Kari – Chapter 9 – when I have Russel seesawed up to the ledge…..I can’t go anywhere from there. Playing the PC version.

  • Kari

    Kathy I’m on the PS2 so I’m not sure if it’s different but once he’s up there on the ledge you just move him forward. Carl will walk underneath and jump across the water and Russell will walk up the ledge and jump over the flower, turn right and then lift Carl with the rope across the vines.

    If you’re stuck at a different part let me know :)

  • Pingback: Up The Videogame Wii Review()

  • Kathy

    Kari – Made it past that ..on chapter 11 twin waters? I need the grappling hook but don’t know where to find it.

  • Kathy

    Also – the golf club – where is it?

    • Jaimee

      unlocked by passing a level

  • Kathy

    Chapter 15 again…… after you get past Kevin pushing the crates – they meet Dug again and he has to open a gate and push a crate.how do you solve DUG’s puzzle in Chapter 15?

  • Kathy

    Nevermind…Dug can jump with Russels help with the Bats at the end of chapter 15. There’s more help at Cheatmasters.com

  • prtkxx

    please tell me the total no. of chapters in the gme
    mine game ended after chapter27

  • tami

    I’m having trouble in chapter 10. I’m trying to get to the rock with the lever on it that will do something to the 2 animal things in the cage.

    I have the 2nd crate pushed as far as it will go but I can’t push it any further.

  • tami

    never mind. actually that was chapter 9 and I finally made it through.

    • lucky

      how ?

  • tami

    OK, now I’m really stuck on chapter 10. I can’t get across the ledge with the barking dog. I can get Kevin to the top but he can’t push or pull the crate. How do you get Russel or Carl up there?
    Thanks.

  • Veronica

    Hi, my son is stuck on chapter 13. He is trying to jump up from a crate to a rock pebble pile. Does anyone know how he can do that? He is getting very frustrated.
    Thank you!

  • Cathy

    I cant get passed chapter 10 in the beginning i made it through the 1st time getting on the log and walking across and now i started from the same place today and cant get across. Also i cant climb the wall in 10 i know it said to jump but i get stuck in the middle

  • Daisy

    Oh my goodness! Me and my kids are stuck on chapter 15!I read and did everything we could do and we STILL can’t pass this chapter! Please help!!!!! we can’t seem to hook on to the ledge. One person says carl another says russell? Kids ae driving me crazy! Please HELP!!!!!
    Thank you!

  • Confused

    Chapter 9- where, on earth, did you see second crate? I see only one on the top. I’m realy confused! ;)

  • Daisy

    Ok!Finally passed chapter 15! Now my new issue is when i turned the game off last night I lost all my chapters? Had to start all over again. What’s up with that? I’m afraid to turn it off now because we might lose everything and my kids will freak out again! Help!!!!!

    • Jaimee

      Try checking if the Auto Save on the main menu is turned on. That might help…

  • Confused

    Chapter 9:
    Please, someone tell me, where is the second- darker crate? Kari? :)

  • ashley

    i all ready past that level.I am on level 8.

  • tami

    Does anyone know of a pc walkthrough or a more active discussion board? Thanks.

  • Confused

    Nevermind, I’ve just finished that game. I needn’t have pressed F2 before playing. ;)
    I loved this game. : )

  • Nicholas

    Can anyone help us we are having trouble with Chapter 27 – we can only take out 4 of the propellers and then it restarts itself and we are doing the same thing over and over is there a trick to get them all? We cant do this last chapter I’m starting to think somethings wrong with the game now. Thanks

  • Ennie

    can s.o pls help me with chapter 15 :((((((((( i’ve passed the part with bats and see-saw :P~ thanks for your discriptions :’) but now i stuck with the part Rusell has to carry the rock through but i don’t know how to move the big yellow box :((((((( anyone? Kari?Tanya Smite? :(((( seems like everyone had left this place :(

    • Jaimee

      you have to get BOTH Carl and Russell up there behind the yellow crate. Then you hold down ‘H’ and ‘D’ + ‘S’ at the same time to push the crate in the direction you want it to go.

  • Ennie

    why can’t i post comment? :(

  • Todd

    I caanot get past the part on Chapter 10 where The bird is on top by the crate. The bird cannot push the crate and I cannot get Russel or Carl up to the top. Can someone please let me know how to get by this part. You can e-mail me at toddhelmick@yahoo.com if you want. SO SO Frustrated:(

    • jaimee

      you have to somehow get Kevin behind the crate to your right next to the spikey plants. you’ll get it eventually. I had a really tough time getting pass that stage.

  • Alan

    To everyone having problems with Chapter 10 with Kevin:

    When you see Kevin (the bird), you should have Russell on the top screen and Carl on the bottom. If you do, skip the next paragraph…

    If you don’t, just backtrack through the geisers (on a side note, when you get to that first geiser, there is a hidden platform underneath, so when the rock is lowered, jump over to get a picture frame and butterfly). On top, there is a tall rock and tetter totter. Use Russell to boost Carl up on top, then position Russell on the tetter totter’s right side. (You should probably hit the ‘F2′ key so the characters don’t run away from you) Have Carl jump down onto the other side of the tetter totter so Russell gets boosted on top and Carl on the bottom of the screen. On top, Russell should be getting through the screen with his pickaxe swinging away and Carl on the bottom jumping through the geisers.

    Now the part with Kevin, use Carl to stand next to Kevin and hit ‘H’ so now you’ll have control of Kevin. Use Kevin to jump from that middle rock onto the top platform to be with Russell. With Kevin and Russell finally on top, hit the ‘Esc’ key and select ‘Drop Out’ so the game goes back to 1 player mode and the computer plays the other character. Now position the characters to the left of the metal crate and hold down ‘H’ and push to the right till the crate falls down. Once the crate falls down, you lose control of Kevin and have control of Carl again. With Russell and Carl, pull/push the metal crate towards you as far as possible, then push the crate to the right till it falls down and covers the spikes so you can now proceed onto the next screen.

    (Note: when I did this, I was playing 2 player mode with my girlfriend and the game glitched and we we not able to move the crate together to cover up the spikes, so we spent hours of trying everything possible, to find out that sometimes the game glitches in 2 player mode when it requires 2 people to move the metal crates at the same time. So when we see a metal crate, we drop out onto the menu page so it’s 1 player mode to push/pull those crates, and after it’s in place we hit F2 to go back to 2 player mode to continue our game.)

  • tami

    THANK YOU ALAN for the help on Chapter 10. It worked like a charm! And the hint about pushing crates in 1 player mode was really helpful.

  • Gabriel

    Hi
    Nobody is talking about ch.11…Is it that simple?? How do we get the grapple and the golf club to practice the swing that might set those stones in motion…I suppose…The grapple is for Russel to grab onto that rope…Please help!! Thanx.

  • Anthony Angrywolf

    Please help me, people! I’m trying to get past Chapter 25, “Adventure is Here,” but that chapter is so hard! I’m getting VERY frustrated! The players, who I am moving around, is Carl, Russell, Kevin, and Dug! PLEASE, PLEASE, HELP ME!!!

  • WonderdogDave

    A full PS2 PC AND PSP Guide for Disney Pixars UP is now posted at http://www.gameguidedog.com for those that need it! :)

  • Bill Seidlitz

    How do I get the grapple and golf club in chaper 11 ???

    Thanks a bunch

    • Jaimee

      have to pass a certain level

  • tami

    Help! Still trying to get out of chapter 15. I’m at this part below. I currently have Russell in the top left hand of the screen, and Carl in the top right hand. I’m thinking they need to be reversed but I don’t know how to do that.

    Now it’s another gap and this time we need to use Dug, Have Russell leave the rock on the ground at the gap. Now have CARL run the right and switch up as Dug. As Dug, run up the ramp on the right. Jump across the wide gap forward and then head left and get to the jump before the fence doggie door only he can walk through.

    If I switch Russell with Dug, we can jump Dug over from the little ledge to the bigger one. I’m using a keyboard so I use the AWSD keys. But then Russell isn’t available to kill the bats. If you
    switch Carl with the Dug like they say above, I can’t get Dug to jump over to the bigger ledge without falling. In this case I’m using the arrow keys to try to jump him.

  • Tammy

    I’m having trouble getting past level 8 with the alligator. Any advice?

  • jacob

    hey guys i have up for the psp and i keep failing chapter 10. its very hard and i dont know how to pass it at all pls help me

  • Mommystellhorn

    Help my son is stuck on chapter 5 he just started he is four and cant get past the rock that keeps killing him! How do you get past the rock?? Please help asap

  • estee

    can someone help me pass chapter 15 wherein dug has pushed the crate right above the cliff. but i cannot get russel bring the rock w/ the house up the cliff and got stuck in the 1st crate…

  • malvika someshwar

    Ch15 – How do you cross the canyon where Dawg is on the other side and there is a big box that is wedged in the corner. You have to obviously push the box with the house on top, but Carl and Russell cant move the box the way it is stuck. Pls help. THanks, Malvika

  • http://testfreak.com the man with up the game that needs help on part 15

    i need help on part 15 when you carry the rock that really hard for me and email me at japreee@gmail.com

  • leah

    how can i pass the part at chapter 15 with bats and seesaw…pls help me im stuck on it…thanks

  • http://yahoo mackenzie

    how do you get passed level 15?

  • http://google Vickey

    HOW DO I GET PASS CHAPTER 25 ?

  • jha

    how to pass chapter 8 the voice? thanks stuck on the rocks. huhu

  • kim

    how do I can pass chapter 15

  • LH

    I’m stuck on chapter 27 .. it is impossible to destroy all the propellers before time runs out … : (

  • Susan

    Hi:
    How can you get to the new master section after Kevin helps Russell with the metal crate? Does it do anything else? Dug says go this way master and then he is out of screen. How do you get over to him?
    Help!

  • Elina

    People struggling with ch 15, read earlier comments, they describe how to get through it.

    Cpould anyone give a hint on how to fly to another rock in ch 14, when the wind is pushing them back?????
    we are stuck there and my niece is dying to go further

    Thanks

    Elina

  • Susan Baker

    How do you get rid of the dogs using Russell’s magnifying glass on Kevin the second later time in the game? Is there some kind of trick to it? The light is so faint it is hard to tell where it’s going.

  • Jaimee

    how do I get to Dug with the bats and see saw in “the way of the wind”? please help!

Review of Jabra Move Bluetooth Wireless Headset

Review of Jabra Move Bluetooth Wireless Headset

Tomas Ratas
The first Bluetooth headset review I did was several years ago. It is amazing how things have change…
Read More
2 days agoReview of Jabra Move Bluetooth Wireless Headset
Wiley Announces Coding For Kids for Dummies Book

Wiley Announces Coding For Kids for Dummies Book

Kristofer Brozio
Hmm, I want this  book for me, I’ll read it then I’ll give it to my kids, I think I need it&nbs…
Read More
3 days agoWiley Announces Coding For Kids for Dummies Book
Call of Duty: Heroes Out Today on iOS, Android Coming Soon

Call of Duty: Heroes Out Today on iOS, Android Com…

Kristofer Brozio
Blah, so I totally misread this PR at first and I went to download this from Google Play and then tr…
Read More
3 days agoCall of Duty: Heroes Out Today on iOS, Android Com…
Black Friday: Deals from Acer

Black Friday: Deals from Acer

Kristofer Brozio
Acer has several things on special for Black Friday at Walmart, Best Buy, Target, Costco and even t…
Read More
2 days agoBlack Friday: Deals from Acer
OCZ Launches Sabre 1000 Series SSDs

OCZ Launches Sabre 1000 Series SSDs

Kristofer Brozio
OCZ announced this morning the launch of the Sabre 1000 series of SSDs which are enterprise class wh…
Read More
3 days agoOCZ Launches Sabre 1000 Series SSDs